Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
2,381 classificações
720 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Melhores avaliações

DA

27 de mai de 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR

24 de mar de 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de 720 Avaliações para o Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

por Mathieu R

11 de dez de 2016

This course was very interesting. I feel very lucky to get this opportunity to understand more some of the old Egypt mysteries. Thank you !

por Maria

11 de dez de 2016

Thank you for that course, I was really waiting for it to appear in Coursera. A lot of new information, looking forward to the next course!

por Ariane M

18 de jan de 2022

E​xcellent course. Great videos with transcripts. A lot of information with interesting pictures to back it up. Thank you for this course!

por Victor F S O C

27 de set de 2021

Hi! I just wanted to say I am really grateful for this course, I was totally amazed I totally loved it and I just wanted to say thank you!

por Anne E

9 de out de 2017

Excellent diversion from contemporary ordeals and a joy to consider how much our society shares in common with ancient Egypt.

Thanks much!

por Cristina M

30 de abr de 2017

I really enjoyed this course and I will miss Dr SIlverman's voice. This course made me eaer to kearn more about Ancient Egypt. Thank you.

por Mounisha M

1 de ago de 2019

It's a great course I have completed. I have the answers of many of my questions about the Egyptian civilization. Thanks a lot coursera.

por B S

9 de ago de 2021

I loved everything about this course. The lectures were fascinating and the exhibits breathtaking. I would highly recommend this class.

por Paulo d V L

11 de jul de 2021

Excelente curso com bom material de referência. As aulas são muito claras e explicadas de maneira bem simples e com boas ilustrações.

por Andrea G

13 de set de 2020

This was a great class to learn the basics of Ancient Egypt without feeling overwhelmed. I enjoyed the lectures from David Silverman.

por Carmen R

4 de abr de 2020

Excellent intro to the basic principals of Ancient Egypt. The reading assignments add to the enjoyment. The text is also excellent.

por Adam P

24 de ago de 2018

This course was incredibly informative and the thorough integration of real artifacts was a pleasure. Thank you, Professor Silverman!

por Quin R

18 de abr de 2021

Wonderful introductory course, and I really enjoyed the textbook. Booked my first trip to Egypt right after finishing this course!

por John C

28 de mar de 2021

GENIALLL!!! muchas cosas por recordar, mcuhas cosas nuevas y muchas cosas pendeitnes por concoer,,!! muy contento muchas gracias!!

por Sophia A

28 de mar de 2019

Wonderful course! It was very insightful and interesting, and I can't wait to take it's sister course, "Wonders of Ancient Egypt"!

por Omar C B

8 de set de 2021

Os cursos, em geral, são excelentes. Só acho que, por US$ 29.00, deveríamos receber nossos certificados impressos e pelo correio.

por Jamison G

30 de abr de 2020

Very enlightening class. I got a lot of good information out of the lectures. Hopefully I get to visit the Penn Museum someday :)

por Amber C M

18 de dez de 2016

I learned more than I ever knew, even as an avid museum goer and Egypt enthusiast, and loved the videos and museum pieces shown!

por Kaio L C A

7 de set de 2021

Excellent course, great for anyone interested in Egyptology. Dr. David P. Silverman excels in clearly conveying his knowledge.

por Vojtěch K

15 de mai de 2019

A great introduction into the Ancient Egypt! You get to know the basics about pyramids, mummies, gods, and life in then-Egypt.

por Denice E W

13 de jun de 2020

Really enjoyed this course. I have a lot of Egyptian history and this course helped me organize it and better understand it.

por Victor R

15 de out de 2020

An exceptionally-designed course for the ancient history enthusiast which delves correctly and thoroughly into Egyptology.

por Rodrigo A F R

20 de dez de 2018

Me gusto mucho, es fácil comprender todo lo que habla el profesor y es muy entretenido que haga las clases desde el museo.

por Aldrin B P

14 de dez de 2020

Comprehensive and informative. Lot's of learnings on the origins and other facts on culture and history of Ancient Egypt.

por Advise D

24 de mar de 2019

Couldn't have found a better course than this to get started on the Egyptian civilization. Very well taught by Mr. David.