Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
2,560 classificações

Sobre o curso

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Melhores avaliações

SE

6 de out de 2022

This was an excellent course in the history of ancient Egypt. I have always been fascinated by their culture & this course taught me many things that i was not aware of. I really enjoyed this course.

JM

17 de out de 2022

This course offers a comprehensive introduction to Ancient Egypt and its civilization. By taking this course, you gain a understanding of basic concepts of the Anicent Egyptian life and afterlife.

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de 776 Avaliações para o Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

por Andrea G

13 de set de 2020

This was a great class to learn the basics of Ancient Egypt without feeling overwhelmed. I enjoyed the lectures from David Silverman.

por Carmen R

4 de abr de 2020

Excellent intro to the basic principals of Ancient Egypt. The reading assignments add to the enjoyment. The text is also excellent.

por Adam P

24 de ago de 2018

This course was incredibly informative and the thorough integration of real artifacts was a pleasure. Thank you, Professor Silverman!

por Quin R

18 de abr de 2021

Wonderful introductory course, and I really enjoyed the textbook. Booked my first trip to Egypt right after finishing this course!

por John C

28 de mar de 2021

GENIALLL!!! muchas cosas por recordar, mcuhas cosas nuevas y muchas cosas pendeitnes por concoer,,!! muy contento muchas gracias!!

por Sophia A

28 de mar de 2019

Wonderful course! It was very insightful and interesting, and I can't wait to take it's sister course, "Wonders of Ancient Egypt"!

por Omar C B

8 de set de 2021

Os cursos, em geral, são excelentes. Só acho que, por US$ 29.00, deveríamos receber nossos certificados impressos e pelo correio.

por Jamison G

30 de abr de 2020

Very enlightening class. I got a lot of good information out of the lectures. Hopefully I get to visit the Penn Museum someday :)

por Larissa d A M

16 de jan de 2023

It was an incredible experience! I love History and Ancient Egypt its my favorite part so it was amazing to study more about it!

por Amber C M

18 de dez de 2016

I learned more than I ever knew, even as an avid museum goer and Egypt enthusiast, and loved the videos and museum pieces shown!

por Kaio L C A

7 de set de 2021

Excellent course, great for anyone interested in Egyptology. Dr. David P. Silverman excels in clearly conveying his knowledge.

por Vojtěch K

15 de mai de 2019

A great introduction into the Ancient Egypt! You get to know the basics about pyramids, mummies, gods, and life in then-Egypt.

por Denice E W

13 de jun de 2020

Really enjoyed this course. I have a lot of Egyptian history and this course helped me organize it and better understand it.

por Victor R

15 de out de 2020

An exceptionally-designed course for the ancient history enthusiast which delves correctly and thoroughly into Egyptology.

por Rodrigo A F R

20 de dez de 2018

Me gusto mucho, es fácil comprender todo lo que habla el profesor y es muy entretenido que haga las clases desde el museo.

por Aldrin P

14 de dez de 2020

Comprehensive and informative. Lot's of learnings on the origins and other facts on culture and history of Ancient Egypt.

por Advise D

24 de mar de 2019

Couldn't have found a better course than this to get started on the Egyptian civilization. Very well taught by Mr. David.

por Ong L W

1 de mai de 2020

Insightful and well developed. I throughly enjoyed this course and look forward to taking Wonders of Ancient Egypt next!

por Gonca D

15 de out de 2017

This course presents an excellent introduction for ancient Egypt. For the beginners like me, it can't be better. Thanks!

por Alyssa J L L

5 de ago de 2017

I would like to thank this course for giving me opportunity to learn and discover more about the Egyptian Civilization .

por Audrey T

14 de dez de 2016

Fantastic introduction to Ancient Egypt. Thought provoking and well researched. Has increased my interest in Egyptology.

por Афанасьев И А

23 de out de 2021

Very insightful for the beginner, and very helpful for the revision, in case one has already studied the Ancient Egypt.

por Tania T

7 de mar de 2021

Really enjoyed taking this course! Well explained, and full of interesting details in a general preview of the subject.

por Shalini N

3 de jun de 2020

If you're obsessed with the Ancient Egyptian history, do take this course. It is brilliant! Enjoyed every second of it!

por George P

6 de mai de 2020

Wondefrul course, the teacher is brilliant I love the teacher and his lessons. Mani thanks professor David P. Silverman