Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
2,399 classificações
726 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Melhores avaliações

DA

27 de mai de 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR

24 de mar de 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtrar por:

626 — 650 de 728 Avaliações para o Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

por Laurent G

1 de dez de 2020

Many thanks to Professor Silverman and University of Pennsylvania for all the lectures. I have enjoyed this course.

por Tammi D

5 de jan de 2018

Very informative course. The instructor uses a lot of beautiful images of ancient Egyptian art and architecture.

por Deborah L

19 de dez de 2020

A ton of information and photos. Love learning about Ancient Egypt, and would like more courses like this.

por Menna t M

12 de mar de 2019

slightly boring way of explaining the history behind every statue by the tutor with a monotonous voice tone

por Jessica I S G

11 de jun de 2017

Muy básico para mi gusto pero es una buena introducción para aquellos que desconocen la cultura egipcia.

por kouassi n c

5 de ago de 2017

très bon cours dommage qu'il n'y ait pas de sous-titres en français j'ai appris beaucoup sur ce pays

por Amy F

15 de mai de 2019

Was wonderful. Instructor is very knowledgeable and this was great beginner's learning. Recommend.

por Kate M

5 de fev de 2017

Very interesting material covered by the course. The Professor teaching it sounds a little dry.

por Tamar W

20 de fev de 2018

Frequently even with my sound turned full up I have difficulties hearing the Coursera classes.

por Mike B

11 de jan de 2022

Very interesting. Professor very knowledgable but not incredibly charismatic as a presenter.

por Ajlan A

13 de nov de 2016

needs more data visiualizations.. images that used repeated many times which is confusinng.

por joyce b

23 de nov de 2020

generally fascinating, but far too many names and details given too quickly to absorb.

por Johan N P E

8 de mar de 2019

I liked this course..thanksfull with you coursera and the university from penssilvanya

por Alicechrr

3 de jul de 2020

Really great course but there could have been less videos by making them longer.

por Marly Y

16 de jan de 2017

It needs more written notes so that it would be easier for a person follow up.

por Sachin R

26 de abr de 2017

I wanted to give it 4.5 Stars. The course was wonderful and was well thought.

por Christian W

20 de nov de 2016

Nice and rather short course, giving a good introduction about Ancient Egypt.

por Tanya

4 de abr de 2020

A lovely introduction on different aspects of ancient Egyptian civilization!

por Vir K

1 de mai de 2020

info is great but it might be a little overwhelming, layout can be improved

por Colleen M

8 de abr de 2017

Interesting course stimulated my desire to learn more about ancient Egypt

por Nancy D

11 de out de 2019

it was slightly hard to follow but a great class. i enjoyed it immensly.

por Mirela F C

10 de abr de 2020

Probably too much of a general approach and not enough information.

por Alan M D

30 de abr de 2021

Excellent information and presentation. It could have been longer.

por Domen H

8 de abr de 2018

This was a very good introduction to the history of Ancient Egypt.

por V.B. V

22 de set de 2020

I loved it. I only wish there was even more details and quizzes.