Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
2,440 classificações

Sobre o curso

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Melhores avaliações

DA

27 de mai de 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.

Do join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR

24 de mar de 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtrar por:

576 — 600 de 743 Avaliações para o Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

por John M

3 de mar de 2022

I found the visuals of the artifacts very fascinating. It added extra flavor to the course. However, some different prompts in the lectures may have allowed for more precise note taking. The quizzes provided some good specific questions to guage comprehension, but some of them felt like they weren't covered in the lectures or were very glossed over. Overall, I enjoyed this course.

por Harry F

6 de nov de 2016

The course was interesting and contained a lot of information. However, the quiz questions are not all answered in the lectures. Several times I had to go to outside sources to answer some questions. Please go through your quiz materials and make sure that the answers are presented clearly in the lectures. Or more easily, rewrite the quizzes to contain only lecture material.

por Julie H

10 de set de 2018

This was a very interesting course and I learnt a great deal from it. I did feel that it could have been presented in a more dynamic and engaging way, although I recognise that the presenter is obviously an expert in this field and has a wealth of knowledge. I'm sure that if I visited the sites of Ancient Egypt again I would see them differently and in a much more informed way.

por Christian C

24 de abr de 2018

Overall great intro slash brief overview of Ancient Egypt. Felt that week 2 was a little overwhelming in that it basically just lists dynasties and dates non-stop. Also felt that the videos themselves could have been longer rather than having 10 2-5 minute videos each with an intro and credits scene. Overall well done and will be taking the second course.

por Sharon P

10 de dez de 2016

The course was very enjoyable. I would like to see a video lesson the geography of Egypt as there is much mention of locations in the early lessons. There is nothing about temples or rituals or the Valley of the Kings. Perhaps this could be a 2-part course with more themes. Many of the url links I tried to look at do not work. That needs to be addressed.

por Gopinadh K

26 de abr de 2022

​I have the same opinion : "History is the study of change over time​,and it covers all aspects of human society. Political, social, economic, scientific, technological,and cultural developments are all part of history"Ancient Egypt is not different.Its myths are jewels studded to make it more charming!In fact Egyptians were truly a class apart.

por Brandie B

23 de jan de 2021

While most of the information is correct, it only provides the Herodotus version of the Mysteries of Osiris and sanitizes much of the things presented. It is a bit expected for an intro course, though I would have hoped for better. I would love to see an intermediate to advanced course for those of us who are hobbyists in Egyptology already.

por Carlos M

9 de mar de 2021

This is my first "serious" course about Egypt.

Not only Professor Silverman was capable of impressing me with his lessons but also the suggested reading was precious, interesting and very useful for further learning.

My Chistmas present for myself will be "Ancient Egypt by David Silverman" which I MUST have.

Thank you for having me

por Dimple K

22 de jun de 2017

Loved being able to take a course on a subject that I'm passionate about. I was fortunate to visit Egypt before taking this course so when I went through this course, it was a refresher to what I had learned during my trip. The professor was extremely informative but he seemed to jump around quite a bit and came off dry.

por Rebecca C

26 de dez de 2019

A very informative course with a lot of amazing detail included. Highly recommend to others with an interest in Ancient Egypt. Associated reading texts were great and the videos were filled with additional interesting information, however some of the links on the additional reading pages are no longer active.

por Heidi W

12 de mar de 2021

This course was great although the professor is a bit, well, not the most exciting of speakers. The quizzes seem to include some things that are not in the video lectures and don't seem to be in the suggested readings either. Perhaps they were more clearly covered in the textbook(s) which I did not purchase.

por Elizabeth S

25 de mai de 2020

Very good course! Easy to follow with the videos and the examples used were great! Recommend paying attention to the forum questions even if you are not paying for the certificate fully; it helps to recap the information at the end of each week. Could easily take this course while doing multiple others.

por Alisse S

16 de ago de 2017

Wonderful bounty of information, but organization of course in short, segmented videos, all titled the same name, were hard to follow. If there were bullet points or video topic names covered, it would have been much easier to organize note taking. Overall, though, incredible class with in-depth detail.

por Annewsa G

30 de jun de 2017

The knowledge I acquired was very insightful and all inclusive. It clears your fundamental concept of the politics, cults, myth, and ritual of ancient Egypt. The lectures cover diverse topics and attention to the lectures are enough to understand the course to the point of repeating them to others.

por Patrick Q

10 de mar de 2021

There are some updates to do with ramps to build the pyramids that simply did not exist. It would have been preferable that Egyptologists make use of true experts such as: architect and geophysicist to understand how the pyramids were really constructed. Otherwise the course is nice as a whole.

por Daniel S

17 de fev de 2019

I love the course, the content, and Dr. Silverman's book. I only have one minor "complaint." The good teacher is very hard to follow in his script reading. His lecture isn't fluid, and he seems to show little passion for the subject. This makes a huge difference in presentation, in my opinion.

por James S

19 de fev de 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. My only issue is that in certain videos the subtitles do not properly align with what is being said - this is particularly true for week 5. Apart from that this is a fantastic introduction to Ancient Egypt that anyone with an interest would enjoy.

por Angela G

25 de jun de 2020

I love the setting for the lectures, but I wish I could have seen more the Penn collection. I love that the information is clear, concise and for the most part chronologically organized. Thank you for an informative and entertaining way to learn about ancient Egyptian cultures.

por Paul G

22 de mar de 2021

If this course is enhanced at some point, it would be very instructive for the Professor to closely examine the characters and drawings in several hieroglyphs and stela and point out the specifics of how modern interpreters came to the understanding of how to "read" them.

por Judy B

26 de ago de 2019

Pretty interesting topics and content. Delivery was a little hard to get through - sometimes the volume was hard to hear (with all volume turned up). Speaker is very, very, very monotone and dry, which sometimes makes it hard to concentrate. Overall, a great overview.

por Nabeel M

18 de mai de 2021

fantastic content and very good spread of information. There were the odd sentences in the scripting that weren't completely clear in the information they were conveying but this only happened two or three times in the entire six weeks. A completely worthwhile course.

por Jeannine C

10 de jun de 2017

The videos were short and the content was informative, very to the point. The consistent tone of the instructor helped make listening to the information more easy to assimilate in my opinion. I would like to see a more advanced class on this topic with this professor.

por Griffin E

26 de jan de 2022

Not the most engaging or thrilling course of all time, but one that I still certainly enjoyed. Ancient Egypt is a fascinating civilization. I took the course to enjoy learning more about them and that's exactly what I got. Good length too -- not too short or long.

por Peter

19 de abr de 2020

Interesting material, it would have been 5 stars but the delivery is a bit dull and you can tell it is being read as you can hear the flipchart being turned. The collections you are introduced to are fascinating and there is much information and lots to see.

por Ingeborg B

6 de jan de 2017

It was not quite easy to listen to professor Silverman in the lectures and remember the details later. But I very much appretiated the suggestions for further reading. All in all the course helped me to get further in my studies on Ancient Egypt.