Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
2,401 classificações
727 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Melhores avaliações

DA

27 de mai de 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR

24 de mar de 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtrar por:

551 — 575 de 729 Avaliações para o Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

por Ben H

19 de jul de 2021

Overall the course was really great, flexible and an easy way to learn about Egyptian History. We are living in a time where a lot of the current idea's are being challenged in regards to Ancient Egypt, in the most part I thought David did a great job of just sticking to the facts, but also pointing out where things are current beliefs or assumptions based on the evidence at hand. Example he states the Pyramids were 'most likely built the the Egyptians' in the first Dynasty under its 2nd King - Khufu. I like this approach, I think we need to be open minded and flexible so we can go where the evidence takes us, not try and manipulate which evidence is put forward and mock other ideas that might seem somewhat far fetched. So the ancient astronaut theory is extreme and somewhat far fetched, but not impossible. I don't believe that the Pyramids were built by Ancient Astronauts but the current evidence to support them being built by Khufu is in no way air tight and convincing. Therefore the AA theory has space to breed and grow, so I guess my point is perhaps David should just say he doesn't believe that theory and there is no solid evidence to support it.

por Mischa R

23 de mai de 2021

This course was a lot of fun. Professor Silverman visibly enjoys talking about this subject and he is very knowledgable. The course is a good overview of Ancient Egyptian culture, detailing the most important aspects. It is clearly an introduction to Ancient Egypt, not an all-encompassing course.

The book Ancient Egypt by professor Silverman et al was extremely useful throughout the course, and I highly recommend finding a copy or consulting an online resource. Each week corresponds to 1 or 2 chapters from this book, so it's the ideal companion guide.

My only points of criticism are the tests. Each test contains at least 1 question that I did not find the answer to in the videos or accompanying book, and it's a bit unclear to me where we would've found the answer to these questions. Nevertheless, this is fairly limited and the tests are perfectly doable if you've followed along.

por Susan E B

22 de out de 2017

As I was going through the course, it struck me that I was hearing almost the same thing I studied in my courses in the early 1970's in which the material for the sphinx and Giza pyramids was based on determinations by "scholars" from the 1880's and early 1900's. I was also surprised that no consideration was given for more recent re-interpretations of the timeframe for the sphinx, in view of studies done on the possible water erosion, possible reshaping of the head and so on. To me, these theories are worth mentioning as possibilities; thus, I felt some disappointment.

Nevertheless, I enjoyed the course overall and enjoyed seeing so many different artifacts that helped define different eras in the history of Egypt. I also enjoyed learning about the dig in which the university is involved. Thanks!

por Val R

31 de mai de 2020

Very good material, very well presented and paced. The opportunity to see the artifacts in the Penn museum is well worth your time. The instructor is engaging and knowledgable without being tiresome, and many of the same concepts or reinforced from lesson to lesson so you get a better idea of how all this information fits together.

I took off one star for the quizzes (note that they cover both the videos and supplemental readings, which of course if fair, but it doesn't tell you that). You cannot see what answer you gave when you check your score, so you're left guessing. A layout showing your answer vs. the correct one woud be a helpful learning reinforcement.

Also question #9 on the Week 6 quiz has two possible correct answers, according to the video.

por Richard F

29 de dez de 2021

A​ very clear introduction with a highly knowledgeable guide. He is not the most enthusiastic guy and could seem quite boring, but he is highly informative. The quiz questions don't work all that well. The spacing is odd at times. The balance of questions is very hard to predict. Also I wasn't able to check up on my mistakes, so as to find the correct answers, but this might be my incompetence. Somehow I wasn't able to access the discussion until I had posted my own contribution, which meant that what I had to say did not take account of what others had already said. However, these problems apart it was a good introduction to the subject.

por Diana V

13 de out de 2020

Enjoyable introduction to Ancient Egyptian History. Interesting subject matter although the topics that were of primary interest to me were not covered in the Introduction, I did however, gain a lot of broad stroke knowledge across a variety of topics. The supporting images added to the overall enjoyment of the course. It is a wonderful privilege indeed, to have access to Penn University - Dr Silverman and have his vast knowledge made so freely available to anyone wishing to participate. The quiz at the end of each course were not difficult and provided a focus to the learning. Thank you Penn University and in particular Dr Silverman.

por Kate G

6 de jan de 2017

The course is a good general knowledge introduction to Egypt, there is lots of information stuffed into each week. The lecturer's style is super dry, but the lectures are ultimately very useful. This course style is sometimes a bit disconnected, in that the information you are given is often handled purely as information, and not quite as often contextualized. This tends to make the quizzes, and discussion prompts feel disjointed, and challenging in the way that it's difficult to use your newfound knowledge in application. That being said, I really enjoyed the class as a very direct knowledge-gathering experience.

por Toni M

15 de out de 2017

Good information, organized in an interesting and unique way. The graphics and labeling are beautiful.

The course is flawed, however, by the way the professor is obviously reading a script from a teleprompter. His delivery is uncomfortably slow. and. Awkward. withunatural. pauses. In. hisspeech. I wish he would just talk! He seems knowledgeable but his passion for the the subject is ruined by the stilted speech. My favorite video was the last one, where he and a lab technician are in a restoration lab, and the two of them are just talking. If the entire course had been that way, it would be a 5-star winner.

por Valentin P

15 de nov de 2016

I did learn a few new things, but I would have to say the course is very easy to pass. The hardest part is the essay questions, but these are optional. Anyone having basic knowledge of Egyptian history could pass all the quizzes without doing anything else. You only have to get 50% correct.

The recorded lectures were good, but not great. The speaker is reading the transcript and it seems like for the first time. He is not speaking naturally and it's a bit stiff.

Nevertheless, for someone just starting, the course has all the essential information needed and you will learn a lot.

por Mitchel W

23 de jun de 2017

Course was intresting, material was explained in a way that most people would have understood it. Even without a degree in history or anything like that. However David P Silverman is not a person to be put in front of a camera. He doesn't look at the camera and I think this is caused because most of the time he is reading of what he wants to say. Apart from that he speaks in one tone all the time wich in due time gets quit boring. Try to sound more entheusiastic. I know he probarbly is, it just doesn't show on camera.

por Paraskevi G

9 de nov de 2017

Very interesting course that doesn't require the learner to have any knowledge on ancient Egypt. Regardless, it is also interesting for people involved in Archaeology (especially beginners who may not have had much contact with the area yet) since it provides interesting and accessible information. The lector is easy to comprehend, very knowledgeable and shows many examples but it is obvious that he reads his speech from a screen in front of him and that makes his lectures rather stiff and less enthusiastic.

por Jill R

2 de set de 2019

It was an interesting course, the lectures were kind of dry but the information delivered was worth sitting through them for not to mention the artifacts themselves, always moving to see them. The quizzes could have been better as some of the questions could be ambiguous or referenced material that wasn't discussed, some may have had more than one correct answer depending on which archaeologist one decided to stand with. Overall, I enjoyed it and plan on taking the next installment, Wonders of Ancient Egypt.

por Elizabeth U

18 de abr de 2022

The subject is something that I find fascinating. The information delivered provided a good overview. I liked the written transcripts which helped me spell unique names of places, Pharaohs and gods.... The reason I gave this course 4 stars (vs. 5) is that the lecturer is rather monotone. While highly knowlegeable, his delivery of the material makes a fascinating subject less interesting, almost causing me to "drop" the class.

por Catherine

3 de fev de 2020

Although I enjoyed the course, I am dismayed at the number of spelling errors in the transcript for all weeks. I believe a voice recognition program was used but it seems no one reviewed the final transcript before posting. Faïence was a common mis-spelling. If I could download the entire transcript for each week (I could only find the transcript available by segment) I would be glad to note errors so they can be corrected.

por Jay G

13 de nov de 2017

Great course. I wish it demonstrated more of the Nubian culture of Egypt as well. One of the last videos, was disappointing to see a clearly black Mummy whose name was Pontious (sp) which means Black or Nubian, and the narrator made a disclaimer on it. Also, the narrator appeared as if he was frightened and reading from a script the entire time. Sort of took away from the lecture. Other than that it was a good class.

por Tom L

14 de nov de 2017

Informative for the beginner but Dr Silverman really does have to work on his deadpan delivery as the excitement of the teacher spreads to the student. The only time he cracked a smile was when he was talking in the lab. There was little personal insight into the life of the ancient Egyptians and many points were raised with an "I will come back to that" which never seemed to materialize.

por Cynthia M K

3 de fev de 2020

Adorei fazer esse curso e aprendi muito. No entanto, tenho algumas críticas a fazer. O curso é um pouco cansativo porque o narrador fala, masas imagens não são muito explicativas. As provas pedem detalhes que muitas vezes são totalmente desimportantes. O texto em português precisa urgentemente de uma revisão, tanto da grafia como do conteúdo. Tem horas que o texto em português atrapalha.

por John M

3 de mar de 2022

I found the visuals of the artifacts very fascinating. It added extra flavor to the course. However, some different prompts in the lectures may have allowed for more precise note taking. The quizzes provided some good specific questions to guage comprehension, but some of them felt like they weren't covered in the lectures or were very glossed over. Overall, I enjoyed this course.

por Harry F

6 de nov de 2016

The course was interesting and contained a lot of information. However, the quiz questions are not all answered in the lectures. Several times I had to go to outside sources to answer some questions. Please go through your quiz materials and make sure that the answers are presented clearly in the lectures. Or more easily, rewrite the quizzes to contain only lecture material.

por Julie H

10 de set de 2018

This was a very interesting course and I learnt a great deal from it. I did feel that it could have been presented in a more dynamic and engaging way, although I recognise that the presenter is obviously an expert in this field and has a wealth of knowledge. I'm sure that if I visited the sites of Ancient Egypt again I would see them differently and in a much more informed way.

por Christian C

24 de abr de 2018

Overall great intro slash brief overview of Ancient Egypt. Felt that week 2 was a little overwhelming in that it basically just lists dynasties and dates non-stop. Also felt that the videos themselves could have been longer rather than having 10 2-5 minute videos each with an intro and credits scene. Overall well done and will be taking the second course.

por Sharon P

10 de dez de 2016

The course was very enjoyable. I would like to see a video lesson the geography of Egypt as there is much mention of locations in the early lessons. There is nothing about temples or rituals or the Valley of the Kings. Perhaps this could be a 2-part course with more themes. Many of the url links I tried to look at do not work. That needs to be addressed.

por Gopinadh K

26 de abr de 2022

​I have the same opinion : "History is the study of change over time​,and it covers all aspects of human society. Political, social, economic, scientific, technological,and cultural developments are all part of history"Ancient Egypt is not different.Its myths are jewels studded to make it more charming!In fact Egyptians were truly a class apart.

por Brandie B

23 de jan de 2021

While most of the information is correct, it only provides the Herodotus version of the Mysteries of Osiris and sanitizes much of the things presented. It is a bit expected for an intro course, though I would have hoped for better. I would love to see an intermediate to advanced course for those of us who are hobbyists in Egyptology already.

por Carlos M

9 de mar de 2021

This is my first "serious" course about Egypt.

Not only Professor Silverman was capable of impressing me with his lessons but also the suggested reading was precious, interesting and very useful for further learning.

My Chistmas present for myself will be "Ancient Egypt by David Silverman" which I MUST have.

Thank you for having me