Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.6
estrelas
2,405 classificações
727 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

Melhores avaliações

DA

27 de mai de 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR

24 de mar de 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

Filtrar por:

226 — 250 de 729 Avaliações para o Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

por Rodrigo A F R

20 de dez de 2018

Me gusto mucho, es fácil comprender todo lo que habla el profesor y es muy entretenido que haga las clases desde el museo.

por Aldrin B P

14 de dez de 2020

Comprehensive and informative. Lot's of learnings on the origins and other facts on culture and history of Ancient Egypt.

por Advise D

24 de mar de 2019

Couldn't have found a better course than this to get started on the Egyptian civilization. Very well taught by Mr. David.

por Ong L W

1 de mai de 2020

Insightful and well developed. I throughly enjoyed this course and look forward to taking Wonders of Ancient Egypt next!

por Gonca D

15 de out de 2017

This course presents an excellent introduction for ancient Egypt. For the beginners like me, it can't be better. Thanks!

por Alyssa J L L

5 de ago de 2017

I would like to thank this course for giving me opportunity to learn and discover more about the Egyptian Civilization .

por Audrey T

14 de dez de 2016

Fantastic introduction to Ancient Egypt. Thought provoking and well researched. Has increased my interest in Egyptology.

por Афанасьев И А

23 de out de 2021

Very insightful for the beginner, and very helpful for the revision, in case one has already studied the Ancient Egypt.

por Tania T

7 de mar de 2021

Really enjoyed taking this course! Well explained, and full of interesting details in a general preview of the subject.

por Shalini N

3 de jun de 2020

If you're obsessed with the Ancient Egyptian history, do take this course. It is brilliant! Enjoyed every second of it!

por George P

6 de mai de 2020

Wondefrul course, the teacher is brilliant I love the teacher and his lessons. Mani thanks professor David P. Silverman

por Saffron U

9 de fev de 2019

Varied and detailed course covering most of the bases you could want from Ancient Egypt. Enjoyed this course very much!

por Jordan M

24 de jun de 2020

Very put together course. I would have enjoyed it to go a little more in detail, but for an introduction it was great.

por Deborah R

28 de mai de 2021

​Buy Davids book, it is beautifully illustrated and very helpful during this course. An excellent, enjoyable course.

por Horacio A

11 de nov de 2020

Buenos días, me gusto el curso ya que da una mirada rápida a todo lo que significa el Egipto antiguo.

Muchas gracias.

por Dennis S

25 de out de 2020

I like the course, informative and well done. I wish there was a way to submit questions other than the discussions.

por Megan J P

9 de jul de 2017

I feel that I have learned a lot from this course. I am a historian and plan on using this knowledge in the future.

por Robert L

5 de mar de 2017

It was very interesting and the Professor was very knowledgable. I enjoyed the course work and readings.

Thank you.

por Cyrus W P Y

19 de nov de 2016

This is an extremly intrested couse it talkes about pharohs, gods, and the best of all mumification and after life!

por Shriya M

18 de mai de 2019

Amazing course i learnt a lot about egyptian history. Dr Silverman lectures were very interesting and informative,

por raashid a a

27 de fev de 2019

I really liked this course and how it gave me a week by week teaching of ancient egypt. It was really interesting!

por Devi D

11 de jun de 2020

Thank you so much for the wonderful lessons, sir.

Definitely a great course whoever craves to learn about Egypt

por Alice W

21 de mai de 2020

A brilliant, concise and fascinating mix of history, archeology and ideas beautifully presented by Dr Silverman

por Svetlana I

3 de abr de 2020

Great basic course for those who want a brief introduction to the world of Ancient Egypt. enjoyed it very much!