Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL)

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL) da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.8
1,081 classificações
249 revisões

Sobre o curso

In this course, you'll walk through installation steps for installing a text editor, installing MAMP or XAMPP (or equivalent) and creating a MySql Database. You'll learn about single table queries and the basic syntax of the SQL language, as well as database design with multiple tables, foreign keys, and the JOIN operation. Lastly, you'll learn to model many-to-many relationships like those needed to represent users, roles, and courses....

Melhores avaliações

KH

Dec 03, 2018

Thank you for teaching assistants for helping me while I had questions and got stuck during the course. Thank you for Coursera and Dr Chuck and teaching assistants again for the opportunity to learn.

DD

Dec 04, 2017

Professor Severance is top notch. He keeps the pace fast and the lessons bite sized. I've tried other SQL courses and dropped out because none of the others were as easy to understand and engaging.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL)

By Alon D

Sep 16, 2018

While I truly appreciate Dr. Severence's enthusiasm and his lectures on the historical and theoretical background of SQL (e.g., data models), I found this course lacking in a few aspects. The major one being the fact that it contains very little practice and active learning. I would recommend taking Sadie St. Lawrence's course (SQL for Data Science), which is also aimed at beginners but has a number advantages that I will list below. In the case that her lectures come across as confusing at some point (they're a bit faster, and perhaps skip a few of basic introductory points), take both courses - they only take about a day to complete. The main positive points in SQL for Data Science are: (1) Very structured course with downloadable comprehensive slides. (2) No need to download and install a SQL server. (3) The online coding practice is very engaging, but not too hard. (4) The course covers more material than this one in 4 weeks. BTW, If you are not a data scientist you may ignore some of the professional jargon that pops up occasionally (not too often) - it is not central to the course.

By Jorge F P

Apr 14, 2018

The course covers SQL broadly and provides a few notions on how to design and create relational databases and what code to use. The lecturer is great, explains things well and clearly. However, the course's biggest flaw, in my opinion, is that it doesn't really teach how to use SQL. There a few examples on how to create tables and insert data into tables and examples of some, very limited, query commands. But that's it. It never explains the syntax, nor provides a list of commands in a structured way, detailing what they do and how they should be used. Furthermore, the assignments are way too easy. They basically require the learner to repeat what was covered in the lectures, whether the learner understands it or not. Since the lectures cover so little, it would be useful to have challenging assignments that would require a little independent research.

By Tao C

Apr 03, 2019

Good to start with SQL, but a bit too easy for practical use.

By Shilpa H

Dec 17, 2018

Course is really informative, content and assignments are good

By d k

Oct 17, 2018

The Instructor came down to the level of beginner and started with basics and baby steps (especially getting the MAMP ready) - I would have liked to do a couple of more exercises. I liked it and I will take courses offered by this instructor in future.

By 王桢

Jun 17, 2019

Learn a lot about sql including the basic operations and the reason why relative relation databases exist and how to build simple databases uisng different tools.

By hadar

Jun 16, 2019

no one answer questions , there is no big material , cant understand the teacher .

By Yichun X

Jun 14, 2019

This course is very helpful to get me start self learning SQL, but over all it was a bit too easy.

By Ishan B

Jun 13, 2019

If you are newbie like me I strongly recommend you to try this course. Thanks for the amazing content Dr. Chuck!

By Charlene Z

Jun 09, 2019

Both the Web design and Web application series are very good! Highly recommended.

By Gerhard L

Jun 09, 2019

A great and simple introduction to relational databases. Dr Chuck is a great online tutor and it is a pity that more MOOCs don't have such engaging lecturers. Highly recommended!

By Ian W

Jun 03, 2019

Great first look into SQL.

By Jingxuan W

Jun 03, 2019

I can't tell if the content is too chill before I use it elsewhere. But it is a good course in general. The instructor's teaching style is comprehensive, although too verbose as well.

By Le T H

Jun 02, 2019

I'm very like this course. It help me to improve the skill about database. Thanks professor

By Ivan M

Jun 01, 2019

Great course, I've managed to under the concepts of junction tables and JOIN clause, which is extemly important.

By Drew C

Jun 01, 2019

I enjoyed the course a lot. It has been a number of years since I studied SQL, and it helped me to get back up to speed.

By Bharath N

May 29, 2019

The Course was fun and knowledgeable. The way he explain things in simpler way is a

By Valter F

May 29, 2019

Great SQL entry point course. I'd recommend, that after you complete it you check some of the theory arround ACID properties, Transactions, DML, DDL, etc.

By Anoop S A

May 27, 2019

Excellent course and the course is well structured. Excellent for a beginner.

By Trần X Đ

May 24, 2019

This course really helped me a lot

By Abdullah E N

May 22, 2019

One of the best courses I have taken.

By Tamela D

May 20, 2019

Enjoyed the class and gained knowledge!

By kushagra A

May 17, 2019

Very well designed course.

By Dongyuan C

May 15, 2019

Pretty good! But still, more applicable contents are expected.

By

May 08, 2019

Very helpful for a beginner