Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to English Common Law

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to English Common Law da instituição Universidade de Londres

4.8
estrelas
1,430 classificações
416 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The common law of England and Wales is one of the major global legal traditions. This MOOC will give you an introduction to this influential legal system including its history, constitutional background, sources and institutions. You’ll learn about the different ways in which laws are made and interpreted, the English court system and the increasing importance of European Union and human rights law. Now is an especially exciting time to be learning about English common law, given the potential changes that lie ahead in today’s political, economic and social environment – all these pose challenges to and opportunities for the law. Each week we’ll focus on one aspect of English common law, using video lectures, readings, discussion questions and activities to enable you to learn about and evaluate key issues. Whether undertaken as a standalone course, or as preparation for the University of London’s world-class LLB degree, you will find this course interesting and stimulating. Please note that participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes....

Melhores avaliações

FA

21 de mai de 2020

A comprehensive introduction to English Law. The lecturers outline things in a very clear manner and the readings cover the topic well. The quizzes are quite demanding. It is a very enjoyable course.

HJ

3 de jun de 2019

This course is a well designed one. It provides us a good comprehensive guide on the legal practice in England. I'm grateful to the designers of the course and 2 lecturers for presenting us this.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 427 Avaliações para o Introduction to English Common Law

por Chiara B

30 de nov de 2019

I've found this course very well-designed and stimulating. Teachers are amazing and their approach encouraged me to complete the MOOC on time. It gave me an introductory knowledge and understanding of English Common Law, which helped me explore a new career in Legal Translation. Thanks!

por Chun Y C

4 de mai de 2020

Highly recommended for anyone seeking a degree in Law in the foreseeable future! This course is a well designed one. It provides us a good comprehensive guide on the legal practice in England. I'm grateful to the designers of the course and 2 lecturers for presenting us this.

por Steven L

26 de jul de 2020

I found this course to be extremely helpful and also interesting. It covers a wide range of English Common Law at a basic introductory level. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who is new to UK Law and looking to start their career within the UK legal system.

por Salvatore C

9 de fev de 2022

I found this Course very interesting because of its organization and contents. I think I'll look for other online courses like this and I hope By University of London because of my interest in English common law and in comparation about law systems in general. Thank you!

por Nathan D

28 de mai de 2020

Fantastic introduction to English Common Law. Final module probably required stronger link and explanation to ECL rather than focusing on the supranational nature of EU itself. Was, however, more interesting as module linked to European law, Human Rights and the ECL.

por Olivia S

15 de ago de 2021

A​n excellent introduction to the English Common Law. Both the instructors are very thorough and yet, very accessible. This course has given me a solid understanding of the English law and will, no doubt, benefit me when I start law school this September. Thank you!

por Care E

14 de mai de 2019

I really like that there a variety of different mediums at play: videos, readings and discussions, that get the student to engage. By providing optional materials, you also encourage us to go down the rabbit holes and learn more about our legal interests. Well done.

por Artur S

2 de abr de 2022

The course if literally brilliant. For me a lawyer graduated from civil law country have been very interesting and useful to dive in the essentials of English law. The course gave me a basement for further developing my understanding and knowledge of English law.

por Ravji D P

28 de jul de 2020

Outstandingly engaging lectures that are very helpful in building knowledge and understanding about English common law including Magna Carta, the court hierarchy, the doctrine of the case law, European Union, Human Rights 1998 Act and the British Bill of Rights.

por Andy K H V

16 de jun de 2020

I took this MOOC as a taster before applying to the LLB from UOL. This is a great introduction to law but I believe supplementary textbooks give a better idea of what law in academia requires and I definitely recommend it to people aiming for a career in law.

por Sheshaddri M G

1 de jun de 2021

A great way to learn the basics of English Common Law. The videos were short yet informative, and the lecturers did a good job of explaining the content well. The reading material provided was excellent and the additional resources were great as well.

por Sandro S

21 de mai de 2021

Loved learning on Coursera to polish my skills and become better! Very thorough learning experience however some minor areas could use a revamp, as time has changed some facts. Especially about the Brexit issue. However, I am grateful for the course!

por Madhu B S

28 de jun de 2020

It was a comprehensive leaning experience to know and learn about the ins and outs of the English common law system. The course was well structured for a beginner or a even a non law student to understand the works of the English common law system.

por Peter T C W

16 de jul de 2020

The course layout is good and the quiz and assignment makes us appreciate more of the content and subject. Inspire a level of maturity and understanding into our thoughts and opinions helps to understand the standards and quality of the course.

por Eleanor S

22 de fev de 2021

A very well explained course that provided a great insight into studying law. You have sparked my interest in the profession and encouraged me to learn more! The assignments were manageable and helped to ensure you understood the content.

por Romeo T

9 de mai de 2020

I am satisfied with my decision to take this course. It was very professionally delivered, well thought out, and maintained the students' best interest.

Excellent delivery!

I am more informed and have gotten my money's worth.

Thank you!

por Anna B S D

17 de mai de 2020

é um curso extremamente rico e que vai muito além das informações sobre Common Law. Ele traz uma base histórica e desvenda aspectos políticos e legais de um sistema judicial reconhecido e apreciado pelo mundo todo. Vale super à pena!

por Malik I

12 de mai de 2019

The Couse syllabi are very knowledgeable for general students for learning English Legal system and about the super-national organization, European Union, the purposes for creation and control for the people of the European Union.

por Maria K

24 de set de 2019

Excellent! Dynamic and structured course. It definitely has given me a solid foundation in understanding the English legal system. Thank you to all the creators and to Coursera for making the course available for free!

por Thành N

4 de dez de 2021

The course gives me a lot, not only the introductory part of the English legal system, but the combination of the EU and English law likewise.

Thank you, two instructors - Ms. Charlotte Crillya and Ms. Eloise Ellis.

por Angel L (

31 de dez de 2020

Excellent course! Highly recommended! Congratulations and respect to the professors because they have succeeded in teaching so many wonderful things in so little time! Thank you very much! Love and respect!

por GRIGORIA G

31 de mai de 2020

I have enjoyed this course. The modules are very well organised keeping the balance between the principal concepts, required information and extra material for further knowledge. I wish there was aPart II!

por Matthew P

19 de mai de 2020

A really solid set of videos and resources covering some very interesting topics in clear and concise ways. A great introduction to both the common law system of the UK and the UK constitutional framework.

por Utyuzh E

3 de jul de 2019

Very strong course with excellent structure, organisation of material and system of check of knowledge. It gives very useful key information and stimulates self-training. It inspires to further challenges.

por Ester P

2 de mai de 2020

I´m grateful for learning in this course. Everything on this course is helping me with the completion on my doctoral thesis. And today, I have a better vision of Common Law and much to write about it.