Chevron Left
Voltar para Intro to AR/VR/MR/XR: Technologies, Applications & Issues

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Intro to AR/VR/MR/XR: Technologies, Applications & Issues da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.7
estrelas
187 classificações
46 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This first course in the XR for Everybody specialization creates a foundational understanding of the differences between AR, VR, MR, and XR. The course provides learners with a broad overview of the rapidly evolving XR space and the tools to characterize future XR developments and assess their potential and limitations. It establishes key concepts and dives into the XR device landscape, helping learners to differentiate current and future platforms and devices as well as critique the use of VR or AR in applications. The course pivots in the second half to look more at how to shape the future of XR, by analyzing trends and raising issues such as COVID-19, social and ethical concerns, accessibility and equity, as well as privacy and security. The course comes with an honors track in which learners will try out and classify existing XR applications, pick technologies when designing solutions for various XR application scenarios, and dive into the issues contributing to the larger discussion around trends and the future of XR....

Melhores avaliações

MV

11 de mar de 2022

This course is an exceptionally thorough overview course for beginners with no XR experience at all. Highly recommend if you are interested in learning more about the technologies and issues in XR.

AL

1 de jun de 2022

Highly encourage anyone who wants to get into the XR space to attend this course to understand the concepts, privacy and ethical issues before diving into design. Throughly enjoyed this course.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 49 Avaliações para o Intro to AR/VR/MR/XR: Technologies, Applications & Issues

por Morgan B

26 de jan de 2021

Professor Nebeling is a fantastic instructor who clearly cares a lot about the topic as well as the students.

por chris h

26 de abr de 2021

A really fun and digestible introduction to XR, very interested to start the next in the series

por Waclaw K

20 de fev de 2022

The course is a very basic introduction to the field. As a complete novice to AR/VR, I did get some insight which will be useful. The lecturer is very enthusiastic, which is really awesome and encouraging.

However, overall the course is rather shallow, there are unnecessary repetitions, there is a lot of talking with little substantial content. I had the stamina to complete the honors track, but in hindsight I find the time spent on the course mostly wasted. Some of the discussion provided at the course is unnecessarily long and of little practical value, which could be characterised as overly academic. For example, there is a lengthy explanation of what X in XR means, with a suggested reading of a multipage 'research' paper (by the lecturer); thre are other courses at Coursera with similar scope, which spend on this 1-2 minutes and then quickly proceed to much more practical issues.

Throughout this and the other courses in this specialization, the lecturer seems to preferentially cite/reference publications of their own or from their students, which is surprising and disappointing. It gives the (possiby wrong) impression that they have little familiarity with the field beyond their own work and opinions, do not follow up on others' work. Too much weight is placed on self-marketing instead of a balanced, fair overview of the field.

Some parts of the presentation (in particular, examples of VR/AR interactions) seem not very well thought-through, the sight keeps moving around the scene in haphazard ways instead of focusing on the important areas (and explaining why), which at times is quite uncomfortable to watch.

por Andrew J

10 de jan de 2021

This course is a great introduction to Virtual Reality and Augmented Reality. Professor Nebeling thoroughly covers the key trends and issues in the extended reality space and provides robust frameworks for analyzing design and strategic decision making. There are many examples using the actual technology to get a better understanding of the current applications of XR tech.

por Yuliya F

11 de fev de 2021

Excellent intro into XR World. If you are interested in AR or VR but you are not sure what is the difference between the both definitions and XR comes... This is the perfect course for the people who are not in the technologies but would like to start using it. Very well structured, very well prepared, high quality content and up to date. I am fully satisfied and HIGHTLY RECOMMENT IT. Thank you so much for the concept and development of the course!!!

por David S

19 de mar de 2022

This course was extraordinarily interesting. I feel I learned a lot and I will be more actively interested in the world of XR from now on. One of the strengths of the course is the ability to combine video content, exercises, assignemnts and much more food for thought in a perfectly balanced way. My feedback about the course is extremely positive and I will continue with the other two parts of the specialization.

por Federico C

28 de dez de 2020

I took some other courses on this platform before so far this one is my favorite!

Is a good mix of theory and hands-on with a lot of examples and exercises to get a good grasp of the lectures and videos.

The professor and the community of learners are very engaging.

Thank you everyone for bringing this specialization to the average consumer like me.

por Mario S G

18 de abr de 2021

A very useful course for those who want to be introduced into the XR world. Professor Nebeling explains very well all the concepts, examples provided are very illustrative, and you can also know about the field from other professors, professionals and students interested in the XR world. I recommend this course with no doubt.

por David M

18 de jan de 2021

This course gives an in-depth primer to the XR space, providing all the information one would need to have an up-to-date, thoughtful and informed discussion about the associated technologies and the considerations that need to be addressed as this technology begins to make its way into our everyday lives.

por Deleted A

22 de fev de 2021

I was originally looking for a more specific technical course to help me enter the XR world (i.e. Developing in Unity), but I'm happy I took this course to get a broad overview of the XR industry. I feel more equipped to continue my learning and look forward to the other courses in this series.

por Sabrina B

9 de mar de 2021

I really loved this course, Professor Nebeling explains in a simple and clear way even the most difficult concepts (for those who do not have a base from which to start). I recommend this course to anyone who is approaching these topics for the first time!

por Julie T

25 de mar de 2022

T​his course is a perfect course for everyone looking for an XR intro. Prof. Nebeling does an awesome job explaining the basics in an interesting and engaging way and his enthusiasm and passion for this field is really contagious. Recommend 100%

por Antony P S

9 de jun de 2022

El curso es muy interesante, y para el los estudiantes amantes de la tecnología, la programación y la sobretodo para los amantes de la tecnología. El curso es entendible y buen bueno. Personalmente me gusto mucho.

por Sitikantha K

14 de fev de 2022

I liked the course content, the pace of content delivery in videos, useful reference and mutiple times revision of key concepts. The practioner and student discussion sessions were highly informative.

Thank You

por Maria V

12 de mar de 2022

This course is an exceptionally thorough overview course for beginners with no XR experience at all. Highly recommend if you are interested in learning more about the technologies and issues in XR.

por Ang P L

2 de jun de 2022

Highly encourage anyone who wants to get into the XR space to attend this course to understand the concepts, privacy and ethical issues before diving into design. Throughly enjoyed this course.

por Marcos Z

6 de fev de 2022

I love this course! Michael has a fresh way to explain the terminologies and I liked so much the wide variety of techniques he used to teach!

por Alan H

26 de jan de 2021

This course was engaging, well-designed, and it focused on some of the most important issues and trends in XR. I would highly recommend it!

por Gilroy C

6 de fev de 2021

Really good course to learn the basics of this vast subject. Michael is a great teacher and has put in a lot of effort. Thank you!

por Gunjan B

18 de mai de 2022

For a bignner like me, this course is really good and easy to- grasp good technical temrs. Thank you!!

por leopoldo m

30 de mar de 2021

Excelent course. The professor is very clear, examples are useful. I'm very happy about the course. 👌

por Sagar S H

16 de mai de 2022

Everything is explained clear and precise. Good Struture for beginners. Nice videos to walk through.

por chris k

2 de abr de 2022

wondeful introduction and some brillian food for thought to consider to keep you wanting more.

por Amey S

26 de jun de 2022

T​he best fundamental knowledge you can get out of an Intro course for XR. The Best !!

por Vipul U

25 de jun de 2022

It was trully a great experience to gain knowlegde about these techs and innovations.