Chevron Left
Voltar para Programming for the Internet of Things Project

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Programming for the Internet of Things Project da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, Irvine

4.7
estrelas
840 classificações
146 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this Capstone course, you will design a microcontroller-based embedded system. As an option, you can also build and test a system. The focus of your project will be to design the system so that it can be built on a low-cost budget for a real-world application. To complete this project you'll need to use all the skills you've learned in the course (programming microcontrollers, system design, interfacing, etc.). The project will include some core requirements, but leave room for your creativity in how you approach the project. In the end, you will produce a unique final project, suitable for showcasing to future potential employers. Note that for the three required assignments you do NOT need to purchase software and hardware to complete this course. There is an optional fourth assignment for students who wish to build and demonstrate their system using an Arduino or Raspberry Pi. Please also note that this course does not include discussion forums. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Write a requirements specification document 2. Create a system-level design 3. Explore design options 4. Create a test plan...

Melhores avaliações

JT
6 de Jun de 2020

Great course. It forced me to sit down and design something. Unfortunately, the week 4 optional submission is not editable. I left something out of the short pdf document. I hope it's ok :)

BS
10 de Set de 2019

A very interesting course. Students get the freedom to choose their own ideas and are allowed to implement it. Learnt how to approach a project logically and systematically.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 143 Avaliações para o Programming for the Internet of Things Project

por Gregg H

12 de Mai de 2016

Gives a very good overview on the steps needed to create documentation for an Internet of Things project.

por Rajesh K

8 de Jun de 2017

This class is very helpful to streamline the approach in building IoT project. Also teaches the importance of having a requirement specification followed by system design and testing which are key for the success of any project.

A simple project with few components is easy to implement but a project with more interdependent components especially if it involved motion that requires fabrication, mechanical and electrical or complex to implement. I wish I had time and support to really see my SmartCar project implemented. Hoping at some point I'll revisit my project and try to make it to work from where it was left, though fabrication/look and feel is not the priority for now.

Bottom line is, this course will takes you to the path where your imagination is the limit.

por José A B

14 de Ago de 2017

Pragmatic and pratical, using very simple examples. Ideal for a person, like me, that will build real systems, but is not interested to get excessive details. A person that needs to learn what are the main subjects and how to deal with them.

por abhishek s

3 de Jan de 2017

One of the easiest and informative course which makes you believe on your potential and still teaches you sufficient to lean and gain confidence in subject matter

por Dj S

14 de Mar de 2016

Review of system requirements and specification, project optional. Would have been better with examples/templates and a discussion on writing well formed and lessons learned. As the discussion forums are disabled - that interaction became a lost opportunity..

por Eric C M

27 de Jul de 2019

In overall both the course and the specialization are good for people who has no idea about this topic, but the introduction is no more than that, and it is in my opinion a VERY light introduction overall. People who already know about Arduino, Raspberry Pi, networking in some level... and with some programming background will find this specialization unworthy IMO.

On the other hand, the teacher explains everything in a very easy to understand fashion giving the sufficient information for students to know how to manage the assignments, and with three hours a day the whole specialization could be completed within two weeks EASILY.

Maybe it is only me who expected this introduction to be focused on engineering students and graduates, but knowing this you should be the one to make the decision of subscribing or not to this course.

por Marcelo R

30 de Jun de 2017

I did a fantastic project with Arduino and a Raspberry Pi. A Mars Rover "emulator". I also published the project on instructables.com and Hackster.io:

https://www.instructables.com/id/Mobile-Station-Prototype-for-Environmental-Data-Ca/

The MagPi Magazine wrote an article about the project:

https://www.raspberrypi.org/magpi/mars-rover/

Thanks a lot!

por Varunjith V

27 de Mar de 2016

Really good. I helped me to make my own project Healthcare Based IoT device. Till doing this I was unaware that how to do a project and how important is the prework before implementing in hardware. Thank you proffessor Ian Harris

por Joaquin T

7 de Jun de 2020

Great course. It forced me to sit down and design something. Unfortunately, the week 4 optional submission is not editable. I left something out of the short pdf document. I hope it's ok :)

por Bhargav S

10 de Set de 2019

A very interesting course. Students get the freedom to choose their own ideas and are allowed to implement it. Learnt how to approach a project logically and systematically.

por Bruno C

11 de Ago de 2017

This is a great IOT introduction. The teacher Ian Harris have a concise method for instruct. All lessons have a practical exercise and you learn much more.

por Krishna K Y

27 de Mai de 2018

Good tips are given. I think these final words are very important in executing our final project.

por german a n a

21 de Ago de 2017

I learned a lot.

It is very funny.

I liked a lot.

I recommend this course.

por MADDI J S

10 de Dez de 2018

good !well experienced through this course

por Mjesus S

27 de Dez de 2018

Interesting 5 courses and capstone!

por voodikala p

11 de Fev de 2019

nice experience

por luis r

15 de Jan de 2019

PRETTY GOOD

por Sanskar V

28 de Abr de 2021

An appropriate end to a great Specialization. From this specialization one can get to know basics of arduino and raspberry pi and IoT overall. One improvement that i would like to suggest is to inlcude more topics of IoT core such as NodeMCU, WiFi module, Bluetooth module etc which are used in most of the IoT projects. Arduino and Raspberry pi come under basic electronics. This secialization could include more about interfacing with IoT platforms such as Thingspeak, Azure iot, iotify etc. which can be used for real time monitoring.

por pavan v

8 de Jul de 2016

I think we should provide more time for the folks to make their project and put up the video. Else it is a great one.

por Arun J

20 de Mai de 2021

I would rate this course at 5 stars for complete beginners, and I think that is what this course is tailored for. But if you like a fun session to refresh your skills and start making something small, and engaging, this is also a course worth taking. I got to finish the entire specialization by spending 3 days of time, But it made me to sit down, solder some components on a prototype board to make new robot, and then have fun with it, like when you were a kid. The instructor talks with details and clarity without overwhelming the beginners, sometimes too much of information won't help but could be detrimental . This is a course which brought me back to the basics, and got me through the raspberry pi and the Arduino ecosystem. (I am an old school, who used to write everything by hand. Gone are the days of starting to learn a controller by using assembly language. :))

por Luis F

27 de Abr de 2021

Awesome course with lots of valuable insights when it comes to integrating all the previously acquired knowledge. Prof. Harris does a great job explaining in full detail the differences and headwords of user and designer perspective, avoiding over-specifying the system too early, and how they translate into system specifications after some strategical analysis. Finally, in week 3, you will review the proper process to test the whole system, strategically, in order to facilitate the debugging of both individual components and the system as a whole, with all parts integrated.

por Binod

12 de Set de 2017

this course is not just nice or learn enrich but awesome. After completing this specialization course, I feel now I am able to say that I am IOT engineer and yes of course learnt a lot of things. It is very much recommended course if you really want to start your first step in world of IOT. It will teach how to start your study for IOT and which area is most important. Thanks to Mr. Ian G. Harris and all Coursera Management.

por Krishna P P

20 de Ago de 2020

I've Successfully completed my specialization along with the capstone project.

This is my first ever MOOC and I can proudly say that I've learned something worthy and useful

I also thank Prof. Ian Harris for his amazing illustrations and explanations and this course has been quite a journey along with him has been great and he's amazing.

I'm very glad that I've started this course and ended on a high.

por Prajwal D

20 de Jun de 2020

The course was really interesting and informative. I feel it has given me enough to explore the Internet of Things; their Networking & new design has also made me a lot more curious about experimenting with microcontrollers such as Raspberry Pi, Arduino.

por Mohammad A R

17 de Dez de 2016

This course really just pushes you to put everything you learn into work, It was a exactly the way I wanted a capstone project to be! Would recommend it after you complete the rest of the series of courses.