Chevron Left
Voltar para História da Internet, Tecnologia e Segurança

Comentários e feedback de alunos de História da Internet, Tecnologia e Segurança da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.8
estrelas
2,246 classificações
597 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The impact of technology and networks on our lives, culture, and society continues to increase. The very fact that you can take this course from anywhere in the world requires a technological infrastructure that was designed, engineered, and built over the past sixty years. To function in an information-centric world, we need to understand the workings of network technology. This course will open up the Internet and show you how it was created, who created it and how it works. Along the way we will meet many of the innovators who developed the Internet and Web technologies that we use today. What You Will Learn: After this course you will not take the Internet and Web for granted. You will be better informed about important technological issues currently facing society. You will realize that the Internet and Web are spaces for innovation and you will get a better understanding of how you might fit into that innovation. If you get excited about the material in this course, it is a great lead-in to taking a course in Web design, Web development, programming, or even network administration. At a minimum, you will be a much wiser network citizen....

Melhores avaliações

TR
11 de Ago de 2020

This course was awesome. A combination of the history, sociology and practical architectural / implementation elements of modern digital and internet technology. I enjoyed it thoroughly. Thanks Chuck!

SB
6 de Jan de 2016

This is an extremely important course. I would love to see it taught in high schools or in the first year of university. We should all understand how the Internet was developed and how it functions.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 586 Avaliações para o História da Internet, Tecnologia e Segurança

por Adauton H

6 de Ago de 2019

Excellent course. Fun and greatly instructive.

por Roman E

24 de Set de 2019

It was very interesting!

por rowelyn t

22 de Set de 2019

thank you so much :)

por Cheng W

30 de Abr de 2019

Wonderful!

por Sara A G

9 de Abr de 2019

satart

por Kristina G

13 de Set de 2017

I really enjoyed this course. One of the things that I realized while taking it is that the internet is a huge, major, society-altering phenomenon that happened *in my lifetime* (I remember getting AOL at home for the first time when I was about 12) and it's an incredible privilege and an amazing opportunity to be able to study the history of the internet's development while many of the people who brought it into existence are still alive and able to be interviewed! This course is a great way to get an overview in the major milestones in how the internet came into being, as well as understand the foundations of how it works now. Dr. Chuck is a warm and encouraging personality who wants nothing more than to expose students to a subject he himself is very enthusiastic about -- the best kind of professor. I really recommend this course to everyone, no matter what their familiarity with computers, as a first step to understanding a technology that underpins everything in modern life.

por Denise M W

6 de Nov de 2015

I am an English language professor. I took this course for "fun"--my BA minor was in history and I am a curious person.

I love this course and Dr. Chuck! The way he explains things is "IN ENGLISH!!" I mean that the way he explains things makes sense to a non-literate IT person. In addition, the content is both interesting and informative. The structure of the course is easy to follow. I have taken a few courses where I was not sure what I was supposed to do next, but not in this course.

Frankly, I prefer a course where I take quizzes. Projects can be educational and interesting and sometimes necessary to the course content, but I am working 40 to 60 hours a week and don't always have time for courses with projects--and those are the courses I have not completed. I liked just taking quizzes about the content.

So far, this has been the best course I have taken in Coursera. And I have already signed up for a second course with Dr. Chuck and the University of Michigan.

por Ahmed M A

3 de Jun de 2020

If you are here with a limited budget (specially people coming from 3rd world countries), looking to earn a certificate that would help get some better job. Then, this is NOT the place for you. However, this is a course that contain a lot of very useful information and an instructor that will make LOVE anything computer related and will really help in several other courses and give anyone who is new to IT - and modern technology in general - a very good place to start.

My advice if you are on a budget, as mentioned in the beginning, is to look for this course on YouTube. Dr. Charles has all of his materials, books etc., and lectures from all of his courses there. Just name another instructor that does that :) .

por Naushad S

16 de Out de 2015

The course was absolutely what we need and understand the Cyber Security from a course. Special thank you to Professor Dr Chuck he made Easy to understand the subject and all useful information. Always to the point. The online presentation was excellent and dealt with all the relevant information needed to understand why IT Security is so important to the individual and also employers. The course explained the InfoSec mechanics, I would also like to say that the course was presented in such a way that most if not all people would understand every single section covered. So, a highly recommended course which anybody would enjoy and gain great knowledge.

por Vaughn P

29 de Abr de 2016

Dr. Charles Severance is by far the best Computer Science professor out there!!! I've done a significant amount of online Computer Science courses -as well as classroom courses back in college - and not one professor has been as fun and easy to understand as Chuck. He puts presents every topic in such a way that you're never scared off thinking "i'll never understand this stuff." He make computers and everything technical make sense. I've basically binge-watched almost every lecture/course he's headed up. He makes learning fun and seems like he's be a really fun guy to get to hang with. Thanks Dr. Chuck for your love of teaching, you're the best!

por mega c a

27 de Nov de 2015

it's really great to joined this course. it was an intro from all kind of internet history, technology and security, but it's open my eyes that what we consume almost everyday right now was comes from bunch of brilliant person ever lived in this world. And i'm very motivated to know more and more about this stuff. "sharing is caring". Thank you coursera and michigan university, for bringing up this course.

And.., Dr. Chuck..!. You are awesome and amaziiing lecturer. i hope someday you going to go to jakarta- Indonesia for another coursera business hours.. :). and let me know if that's happen..

Thanks COURSERA.... :* :*

por Judith E F G

27 de Ago de 2015

One of the strongest cases for enrolling in this course is that it will really help to round out the student's understanding and background of how and why computers work the way they do.

The history portion is presented in a really accessible and palatable way, and it looks like it is a thorough job. Charles Severance knows his computers! I started reading Where Wizards Stay Up Late by Katie Hafner because of his interview with her that he includes in the course materials, and it complements the course completely.

The quizzes also do a good job of making sure you've retained the important points and are following along.

por Damon R

29 de Ago de 2015

Internet History, Technology, and Security is a GREAT course! I learned a ton. The professor's presentation style was perfect for me. He is obviously very passionate about how awesomely innovative the Internet was in the early years of the Internet. This class has inspired in me a HUGE appreciation for all the geniuses who contributed to the Internet and WWW. I recommend this course to anyone, no matter their level of prior education. I will definitely try to take more courses from this professor, and I will probably take this course again in the future to refresh my understanding.

por Aura B

24 de Fev de 2016

This course is engaging, highly informative, fun, and just the right amount of challenge. Each section (History, Technology, and Security) is taught one at a time. There is a lot of ground covered without it becoming overwhelming.

The extra videos available to watch give you more of a background of the history of the internet.

Given the important role that the Internet and computers play in our everyday lives, having this background knowledge and basic understanding of how things work is vital.

Dr. Chuck is clearly enthusiastic about the subject matter, and it shows.

por Pancho D

31 de Ago de 2015

I would say one of the most rewarding experiences I have ever had in my online learning so far. Even though, I hold a MSc in Computer and Information Network I was very pleased to actually hear some really interesting and insightful stories from the Internet era! I would recommend this course to anybody who has a basic understanding of Internet technologies or even more advanced and experienced individual who simply seeks for a new challenge to refresh his knowledge! Jump in! You will be surprised how often we assume we know things that we have not really heard of!

por Jennifer C

13 de Dez de 2016

Dr. Chuck's lessons are well thought out, easy to understand and wonderfully created. The way he connects the history of the internet to our daily lives is eloquently articulated and fun to follow. I think it is astounding that he was able to get personal interviews with key players in the development of the modern day internet and integrate them with his lessons. Overall, I would highly recommend this course to anyone looking to learn a little more about this magical thing we all take for granted every day, the internet. Thanks Dr.Chuck! :)

por Doris S

8 de Out de 2015

I've been working on the Internet since before there was a WWW, so I didn't necessarily expect to learn much, but in fact this was highly informative. The history part was mostly familiar, but it was helpful to have everything laid out clearly on a timeline. The technology and security portions did a great deal to clarify my previously vague understandings of how things work.

And, I especially liked the "graduation ceremony" at the end. This is the first MOOC I've taken that included a graduation, and it was a nice touch.

por MD. S H S

2 de Out de 2020

In this course, we can check the historic preview of internet and related inventions.

We have get to know about so many interesting protocols. The main interesting point

is that there is no mathematics, no hardcore algorithms. It also soothes the learning

process. We can easily understand the underlying architectures of our so beloved

internet. Also there are some important part on security. And every single concept

was well explained without using heavy technical terms.I can not but love this course very much.

por Connor D

23 de Ago de 2016

I am only on Week 3 of this course and so far I am thoroughly enjoying it. The videos are informative and well put together. Very interesting to learn about the history of the internet and how it has evolved. I currently work for an smaller ISP in Northern Alberta and after stumbling into this job, I ended up loving networking and computers. This really helps with an introduction to some fundamental concepts of the internet. Thank you for providing this course.

por Archana P

3 de Ago de 2016

The IHTS course was so much fun with learning. It has given me insight into the huge amount of work that has gone in by so many innovators and other people to use the internet.

Dr. Chuck is really cool and makes tough topics so interesting and easy to understand. Hats off to the whole Coursera team for all the work that has been put in to make this course available. Many Thanks for this interesting learning experience.

por Felipe A d S

14 de Ago de 2015

This is a great opportunity to learn more about the history of the internet and how it was developed throughout the years. You will also be delighted to watch the videos about the Internet featuring so many bright people.

"Internet History, Technology, and Security" is not a course that will teach you only the theorical content, it will give you a whole new view about how things came to be and motivate you even more.

por Andrey T

26 de Nov de 2015

Recommended(!!!!) to everyone who wants to understand where the greatest invention ever came from...

I am more than 10 15 years in the Telecommunication and work with a Tier1 SP/ISP in the market found a LOT of new and interesting things. This is amazing follow up of the people and the events in the Internet history.

Thank you Dr. Charles Severance for hard work to make this course such interesting to watch.

por Chris C

27 de Nov de 2016

I lived through the later part of the internet history, starting Engineering school in 1990. I remember using Gopher, and thinking it was terrible. I remember usenet groups, and emailing, and then eventually learning about the www. This course put that in an historical context, and explained the details of many of the internet technical aspects that I'd assumed and/or taken for granted. Very enjoyable!

por Yolanda D B

23 de Mai de 2020

It's a very good course if you want a basic understanding of Internet fundamentals and how were stablished through the years, how it works and how data is protected (and what inventions made that people can't steal your credit card information, for example). I found the materials to be easy to follow and to understand even I had zero prior knowledge about any of this, and had a great time while doing it!

por Djana R

9 de Jan de 2018

Awesome! As usual Charles Severence and University of Michigan are the Best!

And this is not for the fact that he is my first teacher of Python (Programing for Everybody), but he is really a talented, smart man with many passion on explaining. I attended many courses and I feel that his lecture a better even as University of Toronto courses in Pyton.

Very strong Recomended all the Severence`s courses!