Chevron Left
Voltar para Introdução ao Direito Penal Internacional

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introdução ao Direito Penal Internacional da instituição Universidade Case Western ReserveUniversidade Case Western University

4.8
estrelas
3,326 classificações
857 avaliações

Sobre o curso

-- About the Course -- From the Nuremberg trial to the case against Saddam Hussein, from the prosecution of Al-Qaeda terrorists to the trial of Somali pirates – no area of law is as important to world peace and security as international criminal law. Taught by one of the world’s leading experts in the field, this course will educate students about the fundamentals of international criminal law and policy. We will explore the contours of international crimes such as genocide, war crimes, terrorism, and piracy. We will examine unique modes of international criminal liability and specialized defenses. And we will delve into the challenges of obtaining custody of the accused and maintaining control of the courtroom. -- Course Syllabus -- This course comprises eight units (or "modules"). Each will include an assigned reading, typically an article or book chapter, as well as a simulation designed to bring the readings to life. I will also offer video lectures on each of the topics, accompanied by slides. In addition, there will be online role-play exercises and debates, enabling the students to share their own insights. The order of class sessions will be: (1) History: From Nuremberg to The Hague (2) International Crimes Part 1: War Crimes, Genocide, Crimes against Humanity, and Torture (3) International Crimes Part 2: Terrorism and Piracy (4) Special modes of liability: command responsibility, co-perpetration, and incitement (5) Special defenses: insanity, obedience to orders, duress, and head of state immunity (6) Gaining custody of the accused: extradition, luring, abduction, and targeted killing (7) Pre-Trial Issues: plea bargaining, self-representation, and exclusion of torture evidence (8) Maintaining control of the courtroom -- Recommended Background -- You don’t have to be a lawyer and there are no prerequisites for this course. However, the course will be conducted at the level expected of advanced undergraduate students. Therefore, for all participants, reading and writing comfortably in English at the undergraduate college level is desirable. -- Suggested Readings -- Students should read the assigned online materials for each unit in advance of the class session. In addition, students are invited to subscribe to “War Crimes Prosecution Watch,” a free bi-weekly e-newsletter that summarizes the latest developments in the field of international criminal law. -- Course Format -- This course is made up of eight content units. Each unit is based on an online reading assignment, a video lecture of about one hour in length, and one or more role play exercises to stimulate on-line discussion. The course also offers in-video enrichment quizzes (ungraded) for each unit, a ten question multiple choice midterm diagnostics exam (ungraded), and a ten question True/False Final Exam. -- FAQ-- How will this course be graded? This course is graded on completion. In order to complete the course each student must: (1) finish each module (or “lesson”); (2) write at least one essay response of 200 words or more for at least one simulation throughout the course; and (3) get a score of 6 out of 10 or better on the Final Exam. What resources will I need for this course? For this course, all you need is an Internet connection, and the time to read and discuss the exciting materials available online. What is the coolest thing about this course? The topics we will be discussing are ripped from the headlines. The topics are often controversial and thought-provoking, and always exciting....

Melhores avaliações

LS

24 de out de 2020

Extremely well-organized. Really glad to see how all previous examples and history records were referenced to every topic. Neatly explained topics. Every aspect was discussed and explained in detail.

AM

21 de set de 2020

learned so much from this course, absolutely loved it, and the way the professor taught the lessons showed his experience and his knowledge even for fist timers it would be a great course to opt for.

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de 855 Avaliações para o Introdução ao Direito Penal Internacional

por Faisal R

25 de fev de 2020

Course provides real knowledge about the evolution, development, and implementation of International Criminal Law practices which have occurred in the last century

por Ved P

13 de mar de 2022

Amazing, learnt a lot in terms of pre-reading knowledge for the courses i want to do for university, opened my eyes to a lot of behind the scenes stuff as well.

por Fernanda d S

29 de dez de 2019

Um curso incrível. Super didático e de fácil compreensão.

A Instituição Case Western Reserve University esta de parabéns, por disponibilizar esse tipo de curso.

por Andi R A A

27 de nov de 2020

I really like it, this course is very good for increasing knowledge, especially in analyzing the problem of international crime, court proceedings and others<3

por Luis S

19 de nov de 2020

Un curso excelente. Muy buena información y las explicaciones son muy buenas. Es un curso muy didáctico, no te aburres en ningún momento. Súper recomendable.

por Aakriti S

28 de jul de 2020

I am very grateful to the instructor. This was a very well planned course which helped me understand all the basic principles of International Criminal Law.

por Omprakash J

19 de mai de 2020

This MOOC course is excellent. I loved the way Professor taught the International Criminal Law. I am grateful to him and heart full thanks to the Professor.

por ABOG. Y M A G

23 de fev de 2020

Excellent course, promotes knowledge of international criminal law in addition to initial notions of international law, I am very satisfied with the course.

por Margarito Z

31 de mar de 2019

Muchísimas gracias a todos los maestros y personal que participa en el curso, por compartir sus conocimientos en un curso de Excelencia. Muchísimas gracias.

por Mohamed H M M

20 de mai de 2021

This was an exceptional course. It changed my perspective towards international justice and what states can accomplish in that regard when they join hands.

por Saraswathy N

30 de out de 2020

I got knowledge about international criminal law with this short time. Introduction help to achieve a vadt knowledge. Thsnks all my teachers and colleagues

por shivani J

23 de ago de 2020

It was a very informative and interesting course.I learned so much by joining this course and very thankful for this,it has enhanced my knowledge so much.

por Oktavia T N

6 de dez de 2021

k​asus yang dibahass sangat membantu dalam pembelajaran lanjutan dan meningkatkan informasi baru tentang beberapa hukum yang belum diajarkan dikelas saya

por EMREHAN �

26 de fev de 2021

It was a great journey to see the ways of international justifications! And also, Prof. Michael Scharf were amazing in this course! I enjoyed it so much!

por Ananya M

26 de set de 2020

It was a fun learning experience. Especially the part where control of the court room was discussed. Great work by the Professor and University. Thanks!!

por manish a

27 de mai de 2022

Highly interactive and worthy session for anyone who has interest in Criminal law. I am amazed to see that International law can be made so interesting.

por 19UCMA247

2 de ago de 2020

wonderful course , was very interesting and was explained clearly ,its all thanks to the professor,he made it incredibly easy to understand and analyse.

por Dhairya J

28 de set de 2020

Its a great way to learn new laws regarding the crimes. Their history, what power the law possesses. Its a great course to select. Greatly recommended.

por Hadisur R

6 de jun de 2020

It was amazing. Before learning these course many topic of criminal law was unknown to me now i understand these topic, specially the nuremberg trial.

por Raquel I L

30 de mai de 2020

Muy interesante. El profesor que lo imparte lo hace didáctico y entretenido. Las prácticas son muy interesantes y útiles. Pragmático. Muy recomendable

por michael h

2 de jan de 2018

Extremely interesting even when I didn`t agree with it. Mr Sharf or Sharp as he was once referred to did an excellent job. May the force be with you.

por Efrain Z

23 de ago de 2020

Un curso donde aprendí aspectos que desconocía respecto a los procesos que se llevan a cabo en cortes internacionales.

Aconsejable para todo público.

por Alex A

16 de abr de 2017

Thoroughly enjoyable, even as a student with no background in law. I very much look forward to beginning my law degree after completing this course.

por Arshaan J L

11 de set de 2021

Fantastic, Michael Scharf is one of the best professors out there who truly helps you understand the topic and teaches you how to think critically.

por Stefan R

15 de set de 2020

A great course that is well prepared for not being too complicated nor difficult to follow as well as being interesting. Its quite good i must say.