Chevron Left
Voltar para Online Games: Literature, New Media, and Narrative

Online Games: Literature, New Media, and Narrative, Vanderbilt University

4.6
71 classificações
28 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

Intended for both newcomers who are curious about video games and experienced gamers who want to reflect on their passion, this course will explore what happens to stories, paintings, and films when they become the basis of massively multiplayer online games. The Lord of the Rings trilogy—the novels, films, and video game—are our central example of how “remediation” transforms familiar stories as they move across media. The course is designed as a university-level English literature class—a multi-genre, multimedia tour of how literature, film, and games engage in the basic human activity of storytelling. Our journey will enable us to learn something about narrative theory, introduce us to some key topics in media studies and cover some of the history and theory of video games. It will also take us to some landmarks of romance literature, the neverending story that lies behind most fantasy games: J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Fellowship of the Ring, a bit of Edmund Spenser’s Faerie Queene, and poems by Keats, Tennyson, Browning, and others. Drawing on centuries of romance narrative conventions, the twenty-first century gaming industry has become a creative and economic powerhouse. It engages the talents of some of our brightest writers, artists, composers, computer engineers, game theorists, video producers, and marketing professionals, and in 2012, it generated an estimated $64 billion in revenue. Anyone interested in today’s culture needs to be conversant with the ways this new medium is altering our understanding of stories. Join me as we set out on an intellectual adventure, the quest to discover the cultural heritage of online games....

Melhores avaliações

por GD

Jun 17, 2016

An interesting course for anyone who likes lord of the rings online, fantasy (modern and presents), literature, video games, and/or movies! It's the ultimate combination for maximum nerddom!

por JR

Jan 11, 2017

I am really grateful for the course that gave me the idea and theorethical background to create a transmedia experience with my daughters around the Hobbit and Lotro

Filtrar por:

27 avaliações

por Tatum Derin

Dec 07, 2018

There is nothing inherently flawed in the course, it just wasn't what I expected and keeping on it only frustrated me. I wanted to explore about the narrative in online games, not focus on Tolkien's life and works. I also dislike the live discussion parts of the lessons. The idea's great, but some of them weren't very thorough and felt more like comments. I liked the breakdowns a lot better.

por Catalina

Jul 24, 2018

The content of the class is very interesting, however as non-native English speaker it was hard to follow at times. Particularly, the readings have complex vocabulary. Also, I wanted to complete the honors tasks, but was unable to since downloading LOTRO requires a lot of memory space.

por William Stiles Wilson

Mar 18, 2018

I loved the fusion of literature, movies, and games

por Alejandro Miguel Guevara Montiel

Feb 20, 2018

It was very interesting and fun. I liked the literature and examples of the workshop, it was very interesting and It did awaken a much slept passion for poetry and romance.

por Siebren Teule

Jan 05, 2018

As a long-time LotR fan and LotRO player, I enjoyed this course immensely. I had not read many of the great texts that are discussed in the course but I really enjoyed learning about the connections between the different media discussed, and also making my own connections in the various assignments!

por Liva Kokle

Oct 17, 2017

An excellent insight in Literature through the modern medium of gaming.

por james Garrett

Sep 28, 2017

This was challenging and rewarding. I loved it. Very well done! Thank you!

por MARIE MAISONNIER

Aug 19, 2017

Ce cours est très intéressant car il ne porte pas que sur l'oeuvre de Tolkien, on y découvre des textes, des poèmes etc qui permettent de comprendre la tram narrative, les choix d'écritures et ce qui a inspiré Le Seigneur des Anneaux, sans oublier le fait que ce cours explore aussi le travail effectué pour l'adaptation en jeu vidéo de l'histoire du Seigneur des Anneaux. Je ne suis vraiment pas déçue et j'espère retrouver un cours d'aussi bonne qualité sur le catalogue de Coursera!

por Caio Tulio Olimpio Pereira da Costa

Jul 14, 2017

A great experience!

por PEDRO H BOUEKE

May 21, 2017

Quite an interesting course for those interested in the literature of Tolkien, especially for understanding how it was and can be translated to other mediums.

Come expecting an introductory course on literature and not a course about game design and narrative.