Chevron Left
Voltar para Intellectual Humility: Theory

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Intellectual Humility: Theory da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.5
estrelas
329 classificações
88 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Faced with difficult questions people often tend to dismiss and marginalize dissent. Political and moral disagreements can be incredibly polarizing, and sometimes even dangerous. And whether it’s Christian fundamentalism, Islamic extremism, or militant atheism, religious dialogue remains tinted by arrogance, dogma, and ignorance. The world needs more people who are sensitive to reasons both for and against their beliefs, and are willing to consider the possibility that their political, religious and moral beliefs might be mistaken. The world needs more intellectual humility. But what is intellectual humility, anyway? And why do people seem so drawn toward intellectual arrogance? Psychologists, philosophers, theologians, and educationalists are now suggesting some answers. In this course we try to define intellectual humility and intellectual virtues in general, and ask how we know who is humble. All lectures are delivered by leading specialists, and the course is organised around a number of interesting readings and practical assignments which will help you address issues related to humility in your daily life. This course is a part of a series which explores the theory, the science and the applied issues surrounding intellectual humility (the latter two coming in June and November 2017). Completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Intellectual Humility: Science - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-science • Intellectual Humility: Practice - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-practice You can also follow us on twitter: @EdiPhilOnline and #IHMOOC...

Melhores avaliações

GL
3 de Jun de 2020

Intellectual Humility: Theory is an important course for any leader or person who wishes to increase their awareness in a changing world and to understand the importance of awareness and knowledge.

CT
30 de Jun de 2020

This really motivated me to consciously practice intellectual humility. I would definetely recommend this course to whoever may want to open their mind and get a bigger picture of the world.

Filtrar por:

76 — 88 de 88 Avaliações para o Intellectual Humility: Theory

por Henrique d M

25 de Jun de 2017

It is a great course. Looking forward to the next two modules.

por Amy J V A

6 de Ago de 2017

first on-line course - enjoyed myself

por D S

31 de Jan de 2018

Hmmm ... the concept was great, and it really is an important aspect of intellectual pursuits in an age of fake news and internet facts (both comments are sarcastic), there must be honest deliberation on such issues. But as a course, it seems lacking in the mature "punch" needed to convey the right concpets to the learner, gets lost sometimes in the mundane aspects. But overall, worth while, just not a spectacular course experience.

por David F

22 de Dez de 2016

Some interesting ideas but not entirely convinced by the concept of 'humility' in this context. Is it really any more than simple openness to new ideas and the possibility of being wrong. That is not really 'humble'/ Smacks at times of academic pretension. You need to follow carefully what is being said - not a course to do while doing something else!

por Jason A

30 de Jun de 2020

I enjoyed exploring the content behind the course, but the material was a little dense for someone without any type of philosophy background. I was familiar with some of the content due to my psychology education.

por Terry C

6 de Jun de 2017

Interesting topic. Reasonable lectures, but poor study aides. Interesting fora and discussion groups.

por Katherine J

12 de Mar de 2017

Great Course, but much too fast paced

por Joy S

19 de Fev de 2017

rather hard to understand

por Chris S

12 de Ago de 2021

Very dense material

por Steven G

15 de Dez de 2016

Not so inspiring

por Allyson S

12 de Jan de 2021

Unfortunately, I found this course to have long and wordy videos and the lectures unclear due to over-intellectualization of the concepts.

por Philip M

22 de Dez de 2016

I do not feel that this course is ready for publication and is overlong for the material presented.

por Shonal R

8 de Abr de 2020

Teachers are not good