Chevron Left
Voltar para Intellectual Humility: Theory

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Intellectual Humility: Theory da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.5
226 classificações
54 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Faced with difficult questions people often tend to dismiss and marginalize dissent. Political and moral disagreements can be incredibly polarizing, and sometimes even dangerous. And whether it’s Christian fundamentalism, Islamic extremism, or militant atheism, religious dialogue remains tinted by arrogance, dogma, and ignorance. The world needs more people who are sensitive to reasons both for and against their beliefs, and are willing to consider the possibility that their political, religious and moral beliefs might be mistaken. The world needs more intellectual humility. But what is intellectual humility, anyway? And why do people seem so drawn toward intellectual arrogance? Psychologists, philosophers, theologians, and educationalists are now suggesting some answers. In this course we try to define intellectual humility and intellectual virtues in general, and ask how we know who is humble. All lectures are delivered by leading specialists, and the course is organised around a number of interesting readings and practical assignments which will help you address issues related to humility in your daily life. This course is a part of a series which explores the theory, the science and the applied issues surrounding intellectual humility (the latter two coming in June and November 2017). Completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Intellectual Humility: Science - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-science • Intellectual Humility: Practice - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-practice You can also follow us on twitter: @EdiPhilOnline and #IHMOOC...

Melhores avaliações

SM

Dec 13, 2017

After this class I can say that I dwell on aspects I learned every day. Among the best MOOCs available. This should be required at colleges and universities. Highly recommend.

JM

May 03, 2017

I am a computer scientist who hates waffle. This course presents a topic that I have no knowledge about in a way that is interesting , succinct and thought provoking

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Intellectual Humility: Theory

por maria n c s l

Dec 31, 2018

I loved this course, and others. now I'm sad because the coursera has changed platform and I can no longer copy lessons to study later. as I know almost nothing English I copied and then translated to study.

por Alice J

Feb 16, 2019

Very interesting course, even better if you pair it with the others on Intellectual Humility

por Ionut M C

Apr 10, 2019

Great content, enjoyed the talks.

por Abdulrahman M

Jan 07, 2019

This is an eye-opening course

por Wes D S

Aug 16, 2018

I think I learned a bit that I'll keep with me for a long time. Really enjoyed the course. :)

por Sabrina B

Oct 17, 2018

Brilliant course, a plethora of information on offer. Really thought and discussion provoking concepts.

por Paulo R V P

Dec 23, 2016

Excelente base teórica sobre a humildade intelectual, com aulas, textos e atividades.

por Diego B

Jan 20, 2017

Excelente curso, debemos lograr que cada día sean más los humildes intelectuales, de esa manera cambiaremos nuestro mundo.

por Asif S B

Mar 14, 2017

One of the most important courses in Coursera!

por Scott M

Dec 13, 2017

After this class I can say that I dwell on aspects I learned every day. Among the best MOOCs available. This should be required at colleges and universities. Highly recommend.

por Peter C

Oct 24, 2017

I think this is a course for our time. Given the lack of civil engagement and thoughtful expressions of opinion.

por Brian J

Dec 19, 2017

This is an excellent course. I took it because I know that I am not very intellectually humble, and I would benefit personally from taking it. I found the course very useful in providing definitions for intellectual humility, and descriptions of why it is useful in developing more accurate views of the world by understanding the limitations in my own knowledge, accepting that other people have valuable things to say and understanding the dangers of intellectual arrogance.

por Lojain A

Dec 29, 2016

worth every minute of my time!

por Mehrdad M

Jun 20, 2017

I learned a lot!

por Oky T S

Dec 11, 2016

Superb !

por Tomek C

Feb 02, 2017

This course is really well put together. The lectures are easy to follow and explain all points very clearly. I appreciate the supplementary quizzes to help me cement the knowledge from the lectures. The course provides tons of extra resources, so that you can entrench yourself in the learning as much as you like--or you can just follow the lectures to learn the essential. My only recommendation would be to add more in-video questions.

por Verónica L R R

Feb 20, 2017

Well explained by all instructors, easy to understand and even entertaining.

por Courtney W

Jan 19, 2017

It was my first Coursera class and I liked it very much.

por Luke P

Dec 15, 2016

I found this course to be insightful and fair in it's teachings and understanding of what is a new developmental field of Philosophy. I also believe that much more research should be done into this and that many people could benefit from it and especially this course! Thanks!

por Tatiana M

Mar 13, 2018

Very interesting and well explained course with nice material and plenty of additional readings.

por Derrick J R

Mar 18, 2018

I

love the concept of this branch of philosophy!

por Tolulope V K

Aug 14, 2017

its top noch

por Howard C

Jun 10, 2017

Excellent course to go through and learn from.

por Muhammad Y

Dec 11, 2016

I have learnt a lot from this course. it has opened my eyes about my own self. it will serve as reformer of my self. I am thankful to the learned faculty.

por Stefanie H

Dec 30, 2017

thank you so much, this was a wonderful overview over concepts and measures of intellectual humility, useful to me to keep myself on track in the face of peer-pressure. I wish you much success with on-going research, and teaching.