Chevron Left
Voltar para Information Visualization: Programming with D3.js

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Information Visualization: Programming with D3.js da instituição Instituto Politécnico da Universidade de Nova Iorque

4.6
72 classificações
23 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course you will learn how to use D3.js to create powerful visualizations for web. Learning D3.js will enable you to create many different types of visualization and to visualize many different data types. It will give you the freedom to create something as simple as a bar chart as well your own new revolutionary technique. In this course we will cover the basics of creating visualizations with D3 as well as how to deal with tabular data, geography and networks. By the end of this course you will be able to: - Create bar and line charts - Create choropleth and symbol maps - Create node-link diagrams and tree maps - Implement zooming and brushing - Link two or more views through interaction The course mixes theoretical and practical lectures. We will show you step by step how to use the library to build actual visualizations and what theoretical concepts lie behind them. Throughout the course you will learn skills that will lead you to building a whole application by the end of the lectures (a fully working visualization system to visualize airlines routes). This course is the third one of the “Specialization in Information Visualization". The course expects you to have some basic knowledge of programming as well as some basic visualization skills....

Melhores avaliações

FZ

Sep 18, 2019

Nice introduction to d3. It would be nice to give audits access to the code used in the lectures although it is not hard to reproduce the code by yourself.

HL

Mar 01, 2019

Excellent course. Excellent content. Some corrections on the example codes are necessary. The instructor is very good.

Filtrar por:

1 — 23 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Information Visualization: Programming with D3.js

por Erin B

Nov 24, 2018

Great course, even for those who want to audit! d3 can be a very overwhelming to get started with, however, Cristian does a great job breaking down many parts of the library. He then weaves them together again through practice and the assignments. I definitely feel more confident working with d3.

The only negative is there were no files to work on while following along with the practice lectures. I ended up having to reverse engineer the practice exercises and data. From what I read in the discussion boards, such files may be coming along, soon.

por Saulet Y

Feb 06, 2019

Wonderful course! It gives you basic knowledge about D3.js. Highly recommend!

por Averin I I

Feb 20, 2019

Great practice and ensuring explanation of details.

por Hugo B L

Mar 01, 2019

Excellent course. Excellent content. Some corrections on the example codes are necessary. The instructor is very good.

por Ebenezer K

Sep 23, 2018

Very Informative

por vignaux

Aug 28, 2018

Very good course on the D3.js library. Examples and a project deployed throughout the course. Master your visualization of data thanks to this library. Thank you for this course

por Ian W

Sep 01, 2018

Wanted to learn d3.js and found this course, it's very nice !! Much more fun and clear than reading the documents :)

por Dmitry B

Oct 30, 2018

very useful

por David

Nov 12, 2018

Very good intro for people with some mild programming experience.

por Mathieu L

May 12, 2019

The best D3 course on the web right now. The course is about D3 V5. It's really necessary to have some programming skills. Also, the course uses Javascript ES6.

por Joseph

May 27, 2019

Excellent course. While I didn't do any of the exams, I learned a ton about data visualization and I am able to directly apply this knowledge at my job. Also helped me a lot for a university project I am doing right now. It's much easier to absorb the information from the video lectures in this course than to read a bunch of random blog posts on the internet about the topic (speaking from experience here :-).

por Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

por Vishnu P P S

Sep 13, 2019

Well-paced and informative. Fun assignments too. It was really well thought out course.

por federico z

Sep 18, 2019

Nice introduction to d3. It would be nice to give audits access to the code used in the lectures although it is not hard to reproduce the code by yourself.

por Haejin H

Dec 02, 2018

One of the best hands-on course on D3.js :)

por Matt G

Feb 01, 2019

A good introduction to D3.js and many of the associated ideas. Lecturing is clear and at a good pace and the examples were useful as well.

Unfortunately, the example code for the last week was not made available when I completed the course. I might have given a higher rating if it were note for this!

por Muhammed J

Mar 14, 2019

Great course. Include more advanced examples of d3

por Israel E H

Nov 21, 2018

Good course, I'm in love with the Airlines Routes Project. Maybe teorical content should be more related with the practice. D3.js is a very huge library, so I think could be a good idea to take the concepts necesary to develop the specific projects. For the rest, very nice course!!

por Witchapong D

May 13, 2019

Good course. Recommend to promote more understanding in the conceptual level/big picture of the D3.js API along with understanding the syntax.

por Saransh G

Sep 09, 2019

Could have been tougher

por Craig A B

Feb 26, 2019

This course should have more hands on practice interspersed with the lectures. Watching one lecture after another after another isn't a great way to learn.

por Santiago S

Jun 11, 2019

This course is the third one of the Information Visualization Specialization, where I've seen a brief explanation of d3.js and its core functionality. It's a lot to cover and I think a great effort is made by the instructor to make those concepts easy to understand to anyone with no prior experience in programming.

I find it a little boring for someone who has some experience working with d3.js. The final assignment is about developing an interactive visualization, that's what I liked the most from this course.

I would reccomend to anyone looking to understand d3 and its basic building blocks.

por Adil L

Oct 29, 2018

While I had no trouble with the instructor's accent, his pronunciation for many english words is bordering on ridiculous! It was bad enough, that it distracted me from following the lecture. Furthermore, there were some glaring typo's in the home work assignments. It looks like someone (probably the instructor) typed these up in a rush and *nobody* else took a second look to ensure if things were correct.

I am glad that I did not pay for this class!