Chevron Left
Voltar para Information Visualization: Programming with D3.js

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Information Visualization: Programming with D3.js da instituição New York University

4.5
estrelas
161 classificações
54 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course you will learn how to use D3.js to create powerful visualizations for web. Learning D3.js will enable you to create many different types of visualization and to visualize many different data types. It will give you the freedom to create something as simple as a bar chart as well your own new revolutionary technique. In this course we will cover the basics of creating visualizations with D3 as well as how to deal with tabular data, geography and networks. By the end of this course you will be able to: - Create bar and line charts - Create choropleth and symbol maps - Create node-link diagrams and tree maps - Implement zooming and brushing - Link two or more views through interaction The course mixes theoretical and practical lectures. We will show you step by step how to use the library to build actual visualizations and what theoretical concepts lie behind them. Throughout the course you will learn skills that will lead you to building a whole application by the end of the lectures (a fully working visualization system to visualize airlines routes). This course is the third one of the “Specialization in Information Visualization". The course expects you to have some basic knowledge of programming as well as some basic visualization skills....

Melhores avaliações

FZ
17 de Set de 2019

Nice introduction to d3. It would be nice to give audits access to the code used in the lectures although it is not hard to reproduce the code by yourself.

R
12 de Dez de 2020

It's a really good course for people who would like to learn Information Visualization or d3.js. It covers all the basics needed to go ahead.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 55 Avaliações para o Information Visualization: Programming with D3.js

por Mathieu L

12 de Mai de 2019

The best D3 course on the web right now. The course is about D3 V5. It's really necessary to have some programming skills. Also, the course uses Javascript ES6.

por Erin B

23 de Nov de 2018

Great course, even for those who want to audit! d3 can be a very overwhelming to get started with, however, Cristian does a great job breaking down many parts of the library. He then weaves them together again through practice and the assignments. I definitely feel more confident working with d3.

The only negative is there were no files to work on while following along with the practice lectures. I ended up having to reverse engineer the practice exercises and data. From what I read in the discussion boards, such files may be coming along, soon.

por Vishnu S

13 de Set de 2019

Well-paced and informative. Fun assignments too. It was really well thought out course.

por Chen, S

13 de Fev de 2020

The example practice are very helpful after each section of syntax/log explanation. As well as the notes in part of the codes for assignments/tasks helped to understand variables and whole logic a lot too. Only for people not familiar to Javascript would find difficulties in the very beginning to understand why some given codes write in that way (i.g. the OR logic operator in data.reduce function) it did explain afterwards in week3/4. Generally I'll still recommend this course for getting start with D3.js

por Adil L

29 de Out de 2018

While I had no trouble with the instructor's accent, his pronunciation for many english words is bordering on ridiculous! It was bad enough, that it distracted me from following the lecture. Furthermore, there were some glaring typo's in the home work assignments. It looks like someone (probably the instructor) typed these up in a rush and *nobody* else took a second look to ensure if things were correct.

I am glad that I did not pay for this class!

por Rob L

13 de Abr de 2020

The instructor has horrible diction and poor grammar. It I cannot listen to him for hours adding extra syllables to words or leaving consonants out of words.

Common examples..

Pronounces 'HTML' as 'HML'.

Uses phrases like: "This is how it should look like'.

Diction is muted / garbled in general. Like his mouth is full of marbles.

por Dmitry K

2 de Mar de 2021

Tests do not match the training course and video

por Joseph

27 de Mai de 2019

Excellent course. While I didn't do any of the exams, I learned a ton about data visualization and I am able to directly apply this knowledge at my job. Also helped me a lot for a university project I am doing right now. It's much easier to absorb the information from the video lectures in this course than to read a bunch of random blog posts on the internet about the topic (speaking from experience here :-).

por Schubert

29 de Dez de 2020

Great course for learning the basics of interactive visualisation in d3. It even covers the basics of HTML/CSS and JS to get started, so I'd recommend it to even those who aren't too familiar with coding.

Course content is excellent but the discussion forum activity is pretty low so be prepared to troubleshoot a bit elsewhere in case you get stuck with any of the coding assignments.

por Leonardo N

18 de Set de 2020

I cannot recommend this course enough. I came in knowing programming with python and R but zero experience with Javascript or web development in general. The course was incredibly well taught by the instructor, and the examples/coding exercises extremely varied and useful. I will definitely be doing the advanced course. Thank you!

por Ankeshkumar G

28 de Dez de 2020

Key thing is that learner does not need to have any prior knowledge. this course itself teaches us from javascript and deep knowledge is shared. Course is also strict regarding exams. If someone learns seriously he will definitely get good knowledge from this course. Will surely recommend to others as well.

por Tatiana S

27 de Jul de 2021

Great course to learn visualization with D3.js. Very good slides and lectures that are well formulated and easy to follow and understand. All code is also available to download and you can practice on your own. I learn a lot during these four weeks. Thank you very much for this course!

por Jafed E G

6 de Jul de 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

por J. N

23 de Nov de 2019

A very comprehensive intro to d3.js. I started with little knowledge but finished the course with so much learned about D3 visualization. The lectures are well planned and delivered. Thanks for the great course. Highly recommended!

por vignaux

28 de Ago de 2018

Very good course on the D3.js library. Examples and a project deployed throughout the course. Master your visualization of data thanks to this library. Thank you for this course

por Federico Z

18 de Set de 2019

Nice introduction to d3. It would be nice to give audits access to the code used in the lectures although it is not hard to reproduce the code by yourself.

por Richa A

13 de Dez de 2020

It's a really good course for people who would like to learn Information Visualization or d3.js. It covers all the basics needed to go ahead.

por MARCO M

20 de Abr de 2020

Very well done course. Well structured and complete! Surely a good starting point for anyone interested in data visualization programming.

por Dave K

5 de Abr de 2021

Very thoroughly broken down, well instructed. Can't believe how much I learned that fast. Had struggled with d3 a couple times before.

por Daniel C

22 de Jul de 2020

Great intro to the D3.js library, but some prior knowledge on data pre-processing may be needed to leverage the topics covered.

por Hugo L

1 de Mar de 2019

Excellent course. Excellent content. Some corrections on the example codes are necessary. The instructor is very good.

por Ian W

1 de Set de 2018

Wanted to learn d3.js and found this course, it's very nice !! Much more fun and clear than reading the documents :)

por Tullia P

26 de Jan de 2020

Fantastic introduction by an excellent tutor! Tough, challenging, exhilarating all at the same time.

por Luis A Q G

16 de Fev de 2020

Excellent course, it gives you all the basics and best practices for handling this library.

por Saulet Y

6 de Fev de 2019

Wonderful course! It gives you basic knowledge about D3.js. Highly recommend!