Chevron Left
Voltar para Information Visualization: Foundations

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Information Visualization: Foundations da instituição New York University

4.5
estrelas
181 classificações
52 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The main goal of this specialization is to provide the knowledge and practical skills necessary to develop a strong foundation on information visualization and to design and develop advanced applications for visual data analysis. This course aims at introducing fundamental knowledge for information visualization. The main goal is to provide the students with the necessary “vocabulary” to describe visualizations in a way that helps them reason about what designs are appropriate for a given problem. This module also gives a broad overview of the field of visualization, introducing its goals, methods and applications. A learner with some or no previous knowledge in Information Visualization will get a sense of what visualization is, what it is for and in how many different situations it can be applied; will practice to describe data in a way that is useful for visualization design; will familiarize with fundamental charts to talk about the concept of visual encoding and decoding....

Melhores avaliações

EM
23 de Jun de 2019

Great intro to basics about information visualization. Would be a bit better if after doing the assessments the correct answers were provided as a guide to the peer review.

RH
28 de Out de 2018

Great course! Not too complicated and covers fundamental topics about visual encoding and decoding.\n\nThe explanation is clear and concise.\n\nThank you Professor Enrico!

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 53 Avaliações para o Information Visualization: Foundations

por Jonathan D

11 de Mai de 2020

The course materials are generally useful. the videos are reasonably well explained so that is positive.

The main concern I have about the course is the peer review in weeks 3 and 4. My concern is as follows: Students are relying on other students interpretation of the course materials to provide an assessment of other students work. For example, a student who has little understanding of the course materials can provide poor feedback to other students out of ignorance.

Furthermore, a student may submit a poor assignment and may receive a passing grade. Is there a lack of oversight on the side of the course administrators.

If successive peer-reviewed submissions are required it can take many days for a students work to be graded depending on the number of course attendees.

The course should be graded by an expert rather than peer-reviewed for those two reasons.

por Nithish R

10 de Jun de 2019

Well explained from a conceptual sense. Good to get a basic hands on experience with Tableau as part of the course.

por Eaphy M

23 de Jun de 2019

Great intro to basics about information visualization. Would be a bit better if after doing the assessments the correct answers were provided as a guide to the peer review.

por Thabo T

6 de Set de 2019

Great course, it really game the skills and confidence to know what to do given a dataset

por Saif R

4 de Dez de 2018

The course has great content, but it is not the easiest to follow. The videos present information in a sequential way, then the project are exciting and perhaps a tad too challenging. I would have loved more intermediate exercises that are shorter in weeks 1 and 2 before diving in the project in week 3. That said, the course is of great quality and I recommend it to anyone looking to learning about how to create effective and beautiful visualizations. You will also get introduced to Tablue which is an added bonus.

por Manol D

6 de Abr de 2021

Entertaining introduction to the foundations of Information Visualization. Course material is interesting and is presented in a good way in the video lectures. On the other hand, course assessment need further thought / work / maintenance. Quizzes have some technical errors that seem to have been reported repeatedly over time (but not fixed especially in recent times); also, it would be very useful to get an explanation why an answer is right or wrong like in other Coursera courses. Last but not least peer review assignment does not seem to be the proper means of grading the final exam of such course and diminishes the course value and credibility a bit (and that's a pity as the assignments are rather challenging and interesting!)

por Adauto B

17 de Fev de 2021

Even though I have a background on data science, this course was a great introduction to Information Visualization, specially regarding Visual Science and Information Design. It'll give you a conceptual understanding of some common practices already found in your practice and help you build a vocabulary to talk about visualization in a more precise way. Weeks 3 and 4 were the best ones, with a more practical focus. Really recommend it!

por Erik A S

11 de Abr de 2021

It was a great course to understand the foundations of visualization terminology and graph choosing techniques, the final module is specially more packed with terminology and information. The instructor is really clear and friendly. I can definitely recommend this course to beginners like me, helps to choose the "right" graph plot needed to show this or that information. Great course.

por Santiago S

21 de Nov de 2018

Great course, I've enjoyed Prof. Enrico clear video explanations about the covered topics. The course serves as a fresh start if you are looking to improve your data visualization skills and knowledge. Examples included during the classes helped a lot to understand what's behind the scenes. Easy to follow along, it was made with a balanced mix of both: practice and theory.

por Santiago T

17 de Out de 2019

It helped me put some theory behind data visualization concepts I work with every day. After this course, I know better why some graphs seem better than others and have some guidelines as to where I should start when creating a new visualization depending on the type of data I have.

por Robin R

4 de Mai de 2021

Quality educational experience. The dataset broke during the project but was resolved in a couple days. You get what you put into it. I spent time exploring multiple visualizations and have a nice data story for my portfolio demonstrating Tableau knowledge, that's important for me.

por Luis R

3 de Mar de 2021

Great job, this course is great to get started into Information Visualization, i learned a lot with it, now my knowledge about Information Visualization as well as the best practices will help build better representations for my projects, keep up the good work!

por Cristian C C R

5 de Nov de 2018

(Taken in Audit Mode) The course is great, Enrico is a great teacher and the introductory topics are great if you are searching for improving your data visualization skills. Simple explanations of a very broad and interesting topic.

por Jafed E G

6 de Jul de 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

por Marian E

28 de Dez de 2020

I thought this was a great foundational introduction to the world of information visualization. Being able to understand some of the foundations of what makes a great visualization and the process behind it will be a great asset.

por Yen-Ju T

4 de Ago de 2020

The course is with clear explanation. Professor will guide you to overview the concept of information visualization step by step. After the course, you will have the big picture of information visualization.

por Ian W

5 de Set de 2018

Good introduction to information visualization.

If you finish this class, I suggest you finish all courses in this specialization because it's great and not too hard. :)

por Raja D H

29 de Out de 2018

Great course! Not too complicated and covers fundamental topics about visual encoding and decoding.

The explanation is clear and concise.

Thank you Professor Enrico!

por Seydou D

16 de Mai de 2020

This course is very clear, helpful and rewarding even for someone who has no idea about Information Visualization. I do encourage you to take this course.

por Alexandra

23 de Abr de 2021

Prof. Enrico explains in a clear and entertaining way. The course made me see the different possibilities that exist in this matter. Thanks

por Alex S L

17 de Mai de 2020

The course was eye opening to a vital skill in today's data age: visualizing and comunicating with information proficiently.

por Kate G

23 de Mar de 2021

I really liked the scientific approach to data visualization and the methodology taught to critique and improve graphs.

por Raphael d F S

30 de Out de 2018

Very good! The videos and materials are great. Enrico's knowledge is impressive and inspiring.

por Terence C

30 de Nov de 2021

Great course for getting a solid practice with Fundamentals of Information Visualization.

por Cristian C

26 de Abr de 2021

Very good course that give you an excellent foundation for future courses in this topic.