Chevron Left
Voltar para Information Security: Context and Introduction

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Information Security: Context and Introduction da instituição Universidade de Londres

4.6
estrelas
1,444 classificações
369 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course you will explore information security through some introductory material and gain an appreciation of the scope and context around the subject. This includes a brief introduction to cryptography, security management and network and computer security that allows you to begin the journey into the study of information security and develop your appreciation of some key information security concepts. The course concludes with a discussion around a simple model of the information security industry and explores skills, knowledge and roles so that you can determine and analyse potential career opportunities in this developing profession and consider how you may need to develop personally to attain your career goals. After completing the course you will have gained an awareness of key information security principles regarding information, confidentiality, integrity and availability. You will be able to explain some of the key aspects of information risk and security management, in addition, summarise some of the key aspects in computer and network security, including some appreciation of threats, attacks, exploits and vulnerabilities. You will also gain an awareness of some of the skills, knowledge and roles/careers opportunities within the information security industry....

Melhores avaliações

PA
8 de Jul de 2020

Through Coursera, I can now become a cyber physical security expert. With their online course, I have had basic knowledge in information security. I encourage others to join their online program.

JN
27 de Mai de 2018

This has been very informative. I am in the IT industry and this has served as a good reminder and has helped me understand some rationales behind some of the things I do on a daily basis.

Filtrar por:

351 — 365 de 365 Avaliações para o Information Security: Context and Introduction

por Abdulsalam A A

7 de Abr de 2020

it is too deep not for the non IT profissionals. also the language of the spanish teatcher is so diffecalt for me.

por Miguel A P

10 de Jan de 2019

Útil para tener un visión general introductoria al mundo de la Seguridad de la Información

por Rianne K

3 de Dez de 2018

Good course. The questions of the quizzes didn't always reflect the lectures.

por Jose L B

8 de Mar de 2018

is a very light course, can be done in 2 weeks instead of 5

por Chen U

11 de Abr de 2018

Theoretical, UK-based, lack practicality.

por Yuma T K

28 de Abr de 2020

i found instructor boring.Overall nice.

por Prathap U

14 de Fev de 2018

Content can be made more technical

por Smita K

25 de Abr de 2020

it took too much time

por Deleted A

17 de Ago de 2018

This is/was a disappointing course. I sat for and passed the CompTIA CASP certification during the time I was enrolled, so I think I have at least a modicum of credibility regarding information security and assurance. Before I abandoned the course, I was left slack jawed by more than one of the quizzes, to the point that I had to wonder if both the instructors and I were equally competent to carry on a conversation about the subject.

Perhaps my differences with the instructors are cultural. The instructors are Brits, while I'm merely an American anglophile (albeit one descended from Scousers). As anyone who has attempted to complete a crossword puzzle from the Times of London and the New York Times can attest, we are two peoples separated by much more than simply a common language.

However, my own suspicion is that our separate views are mostly a product of our different vocations. I work as a cybersecurity engineer in the private sector, while the instructors are academics. As the old adage goes, he who can does....

This is purely an academic treatment of IT security. If that's what one is looking for, then it will do nicely. Otherwise, one would do well to look elsewhere.

por Gianluca G

24 de Dez de 2017

Information Security abridged beyond the point of usefulness: I came from a physical sciences background, so I thought I could benefit from a course conveying the basics ideas behind information security. However, the course hovers so quickly on its topics that it ends up delivering a mixture of common knowledge, common sense and technical classifications whose usefulness remains dubious by the end of the course. I understand that topics like standardised security requirements or the various classifications of the information security industry might be the nuts and bolts of some professional paths, but settling for an abstract description of each ISO27000 document doesn't provide any real insight on the topic. My negative impression might stem from an interest towards the more technical aspect of the subject (I thought the cryptography section and the the Network and Computer security section were definitely more useful than the remainder of the course), but I failed to realise how the approach chosen in this course could teach more than nomenclature. That said, the quality of the video material is very high and I thought the open writing assignment were well designed.

por Zhu L

6 de Nov de 2017

I've learned and finshed a lot of courses on Coursera, and this is the first one I choose to actively give up. Not because it's hard, but for the quizzes I can't stand.

While the lecture video is indeed informative, well-explained and interesting, the quizzes can be described as mere "reading comprehension". You can simply ignore all the videos and search for keywords in the transcript. If there's no need for any understanding in technological terms and the web of knowledge, then this is not a course on information security, because you learn nothing about it after finishing all those quizzes.

vague questions + multiple choices + word play + 1 or 2 attempts / 8 hours = intolerable.

The good thing about math and code is that they're perfectly objective and well-defined. Such is why I leave all the wisecracks out of work, all those insufferable vagueness and ambiguity. It's like this course is designed for law school students, who are experts in logic and rhetoric, or the Riddler.

por Owen L

29 de Mai de 2020

It delivers what it promises - context and introduction.

Still, this course was a disappointment. Very high level, not at all technical. One of the instructors delivering the week 3 & 4 content (so the bulk of it) was very difficult to understand.

If you're a non-technical person looking to learn some terminology, it's a quick course you can take. But I really feel like there have to be better options out there.

por David N

25 de Jan de 2018

The quizes in this course do not test the learned knowledge. They are needlessly vague and poorly worded.

por Eldar B

13 de Ago de 2017

The quiz:

Authentication and Authorisation

is unbelievably and indescribably foolish.

It's easy to prove: when you start the video "Authentication and Authorization" you have been informed that most of the users looks this video more than 1 time, and it's not because it's important, it's because video is not answering to one of the questions, and converting the quiz to closed loop which couldn't be resolved. Check how many people succeeded in this quiz. It's not because it is hard, it because is failure of someone who prepared it.

just - WASTE OF TIME!

por Hlanganani

8 de Mai de 2020

One of the main lecturers with a lisp was difficult to understand. Also there is too much assumption that everyone understands many of the basic terms.