Chevron Left
Voltar para Design and Make Infographics (Project-Centered Course)

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Design and Make Infographics (Project-Centered Course) da instituição Universidade Estadual de Michigan

4.7
estrelas
713 classificações
226 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this project-centered course*, you will create a content-rich infographic on a topic of your choice using Adobe Illustrator (which you can download for a free, 30-day trial). You might choose to create a visual representation of data from the world of sports, entertainment, politics, or science, to explain a business trend or environmental issue, or even to present a theme or development from your personal life. Your finished infographic will engage your target audience and convey information clearly through effective use of design elements such as typography, color, and structure. Whether you’re a graphic designer, a writer or the intern in the department, you’ll learn: • what an infographic is and what makes a good one • how to work within your limits • how to work with a team (if you have one) • why infographics are effective • techniques for spotting data in stories • six valuable steps for planning an effective infographic • how to use and make some of the building blocks of infographics: maps, charts and flow charts • ways data can be visualized to clarify it and give it meaning • how to effectively design a good infographic by effectively using elements like type, color and an underlying grid structure • some free or cheap, online tools for making various kinds of infographics As you work on your project, you’ll learn more about why infographics are effective, what makes a good infographic, and how to plan and design an infographic for maximum impact. You’ll explore various approaches to data visualization, and you’ll practice creating visualizations like maps, charts, flow charts, and simple drawings in your free version of Adobe Illustrator. Please note that if you are new to learning graphics software, making these graphics could take much longer than estimated as you learn and grow. What you’ll need to get started: This project-based course is aimed at anyone interested in understanding, designing, and using infographics - from students and hobbyists to professional graphic designers. We’ll use Adobe Illustrator for some components of the project. If you don’t have access to the full version of Illustrator,you can download a free version at www.Adobe.com/Illustrator. If the free 30-day trial runs out, you can "purchase" it for a month for about $20. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project centered courses are designed specifically to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of like-minded learners providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. When you enroll in certain courses, you’ll be asked to pay a small fee to share your work with others for peer review....

Melhores avaliações

RV

Oct 25, 2017

Really good! Karl Gude is great and knows how to explain in a clear way. Very useful course if you want to practice your Adobe Illustrator skills, and end up with projects to add on your portfolio.

CS

Jun 08, 2017

Wonderful and intuitive course, great performer. I recommend this course to everybody who wishes to immerse in the world infographics and to receive feedback on his or her progress in design.

Filtrar por:

201 — 224 de 224 Avaliações para o Design and Make Infographics (Project-Centered Course)

por Mariana V

Dec 26, 2016

very practical and vocational course. I reccomend it!

por Katarzyna

May 28, 2016

Good course, explaining basics on infographic.

por Dara G

Jan 21, 2019

Great course! Learned lots of new things.

por Nour H

Feb 16, 2018

This course was tremendously useful!

por Ahmed I

Sep 11, 2016

This is a nice practical course.

por Babafemi A

Jul 16, 2017

Concise and well presented.

por Gordon C

Oct 03, 2016

Great info and advice.

por 陈大暑

Aug 09, 2016

Clear and pragmatic.

por antonio

Feb 22, 2019

Fun and informative

por Akshata M D

Jun 15, 2020

nice course

por Juliana T R

Jul 11, 2019

The contents are very good although it feels like it's been there for a while without any kind of maintenance. Some links are broken, some information is not updated (specifically talking about Illustrator's free trial period being now shorter, which put some students in a difficult position).

Overall, I felt there were not enough students for a peer-reviewed system as for some assignments it took long to get a grade because there wasn't enough peers to grade it (and reading the forum this seems like a fairly common issue). Moreover, when I had only one project left to review before I could complete the course, there was some sort of error in which it kept saying "Review one more..." but the page was blank with no projects loading. I kept refreshing, logging out and back in, but the problem persisted. I refuse to think there were simply no projects waiting for a grade because there's always so many people asking for a review in the forums. This led me to missing the deadline and having to reset the deadline and wait longer to complete it.

I'd recommend it for the contents particularly for someone with a very basic knowledge of Illustrator although for someone who's been in the graphic design field for a while it might seem too basic.

por Tania W

May 10, 2020

The instructional video and course material by Karl Gude are amazing however the course is completely self taught with zero interaction with the instructor and only peer graded work. Since I have no previous experience in this topic - and the course is aimed at students like me who have no previous knowledge of infogfraphics - having my work peer graded by someone with equally little knowledge or experience is useless. I would at least expect instructor comments and grading on assignment projects, if not being able to communicate with the instructor. Particularly if you pay for the course. I would give the instructor 5 stars but reduce this to 3 stars because you can actually access all that content on youtube and I have received no professional feedback on my work.

por Stephen T

Feb 07, 2018

It is nice. There is a feeling that it is completely automated. The everything is peer reviewed, and you don't seem to get any input from the professor or the mentors. I have also read on the message board, a year go someone with the exact same complaint I had. The first project should say you need a chart and a map for your infographic. I had a really good idea for my first project, and then I realized my idea did not fit the parameters of the second assignment. But it was still a fun topic, and not passing a few times did make me improve my work. So i am glad I too it.

por Audrey K

Apr 11, 2016

You have to use adobe illustrator to make the infographic and I didn't think the course did a good enough job giving the basics for that. I had to do a lot of googling to figure out how to do stuff on my own. All of the assessments are done by the people in the course and I thought people were a little too harsh. If someone is completely new to AI then it is a bit much to expect the infographic to be magazine quality.

por Ali S K

Mar 02, 2016

that's very good, but it could be better if there is a way to pay and get certificate. we are in educational and science word not politic word. I live in I.R.Iran and there is no way to pay.

I suggest you to provide some prepaid card for Coursera, that we can use of them, same as ITune gift cards.

por Marianna

Feb 12, 2018

Too concentrated on Adobe Illustrator. This should be highlighted in the course description!

por Kavya P P

Jun 11, 2020

It was awesome however more focus could have been on teaching illustrator

por Zhao y

Apr 27, 2017

Handy and Informative

por Alice H

Aug 07, 2017

The videos in this course need to be cleaned up a lot. In the assignment for Week 2, there is a crucial requirement in the assignment that wasn't even COVERED in the videos. And despite emphasizing the need to proofread the infographics we make, there are typos riddled throughout all of the videos.

Also, NONE of the additional Illustrator tutorials that link to his YouTube page work. Please upload them to the actual course, or don't include them at all. I think it's unacceptable that this hasn't been addressed.

This course seems to be sloppy and thrown together--as though the instructor phoned it in knowing he'll get royalties off of it anyway. Please do better.

por Rachel S

Sep 15, 2016

Minus 3 stars for 3 complaints

1. Infographics for Journalism might be a better title. The grading guidelines for the project see all specific to one type of publishing.

2. Grades assigned by fellow classmates are very subjective and sometimes miss the points made it the material.

3. Some of the class material is posted on YouTube and has advertising. I didn't buy into the class so I could watch ads!

por Mark S

Nov 01, 2019

Decent course. Gave brief overview of elements to consider when designing an infographic. Was more a course on how to use Illustrator. Peer-graded assessments were annoying since there were not enough for me to review by the deadline.

por Minerva R C

Jun 03, 2016

Sweet and short course. However, if you dont have Adobe Ilustrator nor plan to buy the Certification, it is a little bit too short and basic.

por Bruno B

May 12, 2018

Course very basic.

por Philippe S

Mar 08, 2016

Well, while I felt really frustrated after having played ALL of this course videos, I have first put very negative comments here for its reviewing. I have then been kindly asked to reconsider my comments under the light of the usefulness of this course to some audience. For sure, it might be that I was not of the attended audience. And I still think that this course was of no interest to me - this is the reason why I'm still pleased not to have paid for its useless certificate. Nevertheless, this course might be of interest for some students. This is definitively true. So, let me suggest a new title for it: "Design and Make Infographics for the Dummies". Because that's it! This course is definitively perfect for the ones who know nothing about Infographics and they might enjoy it. Finally, I shall neither modify nor remove my previous comments on the examples used by the author.

Please notice that Coursera still gets all my confidence about the usefulness and the quality of their proposed courses. For instance, just have a look to the course "Machine Learning" of one of its co-founders, Andrew Ng.

------------------------------------

My previous comments here below:

For sure I was not the correct audience for this course. But nothing useful to be learned in here. Karl Gude is too much speaking of what he has formerly done, which is of only interest to him. I dislike the examples he uses : violence, sex, illness, accidents, weapons, war, drugs - and fruits, ok. Are these the only topics of interest to him? Finally, it appears that the $45 certificate does not worth it. I'm pleased not to have paid for it. And I definitively not recommend this course. Waste of time if not even waste of money.