Chevron Left
Voltar para Inferential Statistical Analysis with Python

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Inferential Statistical Analysis with Python da instituição Universidade de Michigan

4.5
estrelas
461 classificações
83 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course, we will explore basic principles behind using data for estimation and for assessing theories. We will analyze both categorical data and quantitative data, starting with one population techniques and expanding to handle comparisons of two populations. We will learn how to construct confidence intervals. We will also use sample data to assess whether or not a theory about the value of a parameter is consistent with the data. A major focus will be on interpreting inferential results appropriately. At the end of each week, learners will apply what they’ve learned using Python within the course environment. During these lab-based sessions, learners will work through tutorials focusing on specific case studies to help solidify the week’s statistical concepts, which will include further deep dives into Python libraries including Statsmodels, Pandas, and Seaborn. This course utilizes the Jupyter Notebook environment within Coursera....

Melhores avaliações

AA

May 28, 2020

The best part of this that it is designed in a way that it encourages people to dig deeper and explore more. The instructors have done a great job in making the curriculam this good.

SS

Mar 20, 2020

Great Course. There are so many example to understand the topic. I really enjoyed every lesson of this specialization. I am going forward for the next one.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 80 Avaliações para o Inferential Statistical Analysis with Python

por Emil K

Feb 27, 2019

Do you do usability tests of your courses? Like you can test a landing page - you pick a random person to perform a certain action on your landing page, and see where they struggle or what is unclear? If you did this with this course before going live, it would benefit everyone. Right now the quality of this course is too low, concepts are not explained enough, and the assignments (especially week 3) contain wrong instructions and errors.

por Yaron K

Jan 26, 2019

If you want to learn basic and inferential statistics - I would advise checking out the courses with these name from by University of Amsterdam(you can take them without taking the specialization). they are much clearer. And then if you want examples of Python code - take this course. Just check out the forums first. As of jan2019 the Python Notebook used for the week3 assessment had various problems.

por Jin S

Mar 31, 2019

This course attempts to cover very useful topics but falls short on several areas. 1. Multiple errors in the assignments. Practice exercises don't have any answers for students to check. 2. Course slides are not provided. 3. Lack of support to questions asked in forum. I learned a lot from the course but a significant amount of time could have been saved if the issues I mentioned were addressed.

por Tobias R

Feb 25, 2019

Alltogether the course was great. I learned so much and understood some principles I did not understand when having read of them before.

However in some notebooks, calculations were wrong or notbooks were missing alltogether (week 4, last jupyter notebook). Furthermore it can be annoying if you cannot trust a result of a statistical analysis in a notebook because there were other mistakes before. That's why I give you "only" 4/5 stars.

por David Z

Jan 30, 2019

Great lecture content. Poor quiz design.

por ILYA N

Aug 24, 2019

In this course, they cover making confidence intervals and calculating p-values given a specific test scenario (compare sample proportion to population proportion, sample mean to population mean, two sample means to each other, etc). While they go though each statistical procedure clearly, I feel like a lot of underlying context is missing. What is the different between a z- and t-distribution? Why do we use those distributions? How do the different tests relate to each other? Etc. It feels like this course needed an extra 50-60 minutes of lecture time to tie all these concepts together. A textbook to follow along would have been great too.

por Iver B

Feb 04, 2019

Very clear and interesting lectures, but quizzes and Jupyter notebooks could benefit from some additional proofreading and pre-release testing. Material in last week is out of order. Spent a few hours some week just figuring out the mistakes with the help of the course forum.

Also, I would have liked to have a bit more background and explanation, e.g. information on why we using a particular distribution or a particular test, not just how. While a complete derivation of all the material would clearly be out of scope, other courses did a better job of introducing the theory behind their methods.

por Daniel R

Mar 21, 2019

Good lectures but too little practice and quizzes that don't cover all the material. Very little Python.

No lecture slides or "handouts" to summarize procedures or formulae that tend to jumble together for the various scenarios you learn. Some of the lectures told us to find tables needed to do the quizzes online, no more specifications. That was very disappointing.

por Michael D

May 28, 2019

This course is a good statistics course, but a poor Python course. Python is practically an after thought in each week's lesson as the focus in the lecturing learning methods is entirely verbal rather than supported by in lecture use of Python. The Python review at the end of each week before the assessment is not connected enough with the lecture materials and makes for a very disjointed week of learning.

por José A G P

Apr 16, 2019

The course contents are good to an introduction or refreshing in statistics but the assigments are not really well prepared, and contains many unrepaired errors. This drops down the level an educational potential of this course (and the entire specialization) and converts it in a poor educational resource and a waste of time, in my opinion

por Aayush G

Apr 26, 2019

I must say that this is a must take course for ones who are aspiring a career in Data Science. All the concepts were laid out so beautifully and it was explained very clearly with visualisations of each real-life-examples. I enrolled in this specialisation before starting my Machine Learning so that I have all the necessary fundamentals of Statistics. Brady Sir & Brendra Ma'am are simply phenomenal, the way they explain the concepts are incredible. The concepts gets etched in one's memory.

por Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

por samet

Mar 20, 2020

Great Course. There are so many example to understand the topic. I really enjoyed every lesson of this specialization. I am going forward for the next one.

por Gabriel G B

Dec 05, 2019

It is absolutely great. Instructors are veeeery pasionated with what they do, and the course material is very good.

I really like this course.

por Anshuman

May 28, 2020

Some concepts not covered in much details - ttest, ztest, one tailed test, two tailed - how to use them,when to use them... one needs to go outside of the course to first understand them. These concepts are not explained but are asked directly in assignments which leads to a lot of confusion.

por Sagar T

Jan 06, 2020

From the introduction, the course is supposed to build the knowledge ground up for a beginner in Statistics. However, it falls short in clearing many concepts and the principals end up being vague in a lot of sense, hence, there is a lack of cohesiveness in the concepts spread across weeks. Fortunately, I took an open course offered by Stanford University of the Inference Concepts explained in this course; before taking up this course.

Overall, this is a good course for someone who is familiar with the Inference concepts. For a beginner, a significant amount effort would be required to catch up to these concepts.

por Bryan M

May 24, 2020

They could increase the rigor mathematically on this OR spend more time on creative code. Code was great. Math was very very easy so you don't have to listen to the videos if you don't want and just grab the lecture slides. I find on many of these courses they are either way too rigorous or not rigorous at all where the lectures are a bit of waste and you can just read the books/slides (Sounds like Undergrad math/stats lectures all over again? aha)

HIGHLY Recommend course if anything for the CODE in the notebooks. If you're just getting back up to speed on Pandas I found that these helped with sorting the data and reminding you of the difference of built in methods for stats with pandas and numpy.

Laslty, I did not like that only 3 people grading the assignment if we are going to do this crowd sourced grading. I found one grader in particular didn't understand what a p-value was and marked me down and another from the previous course didn't have a handle on english enough to understand what I was writing on my memo.

That said thank you for the course.

por Minas-Marios V

May 01, 2020

I really enjoyed learning through this course. The instructors manage to explain in great clarity the concepts that it covers, and they are also very engaging and fun to watch. Professor West is also making a great effort paying attention to details that every sound statistical analysis should follow but is often overlooked. The Python notebooks are very informative too, offering the right amount of challenge to learners. Highly recommended course overall.

por Michele B

Apr 08, 2020

All instructors were very knowledgeable. Special mention goes to Prof. West. I found the last section (week 4) very insightful, detailed and rigorous. I would have loved seeing a deep discussion on the theoretical and practical choices behind the Null and the Alternative Hypothesis. I am still slightly confused on the purpose of the Alternative hypothesis. Overall a great course!

por William C

May 28, 2020

Excellent course! I really enjoy the combination of Statistics-based Python assignments. The Jupyter Notebooks are well written, easily documented, and there is plenty of lecture material to confidently complete the assignments. I find this makes it much easier to learn both Statistics and Python simultaneously, without any frustrating"This wasn't covered in lecture!" moments.

por Vinícius G d O

Jul 13, 2019

A complete course focused on teaching the details and intuition of experiment design, inferential analysis for decision making through confidence interval ans hypothesis testing and how to state effective questions.

I would recommend this course to everyone who are seeeking for more explainability and improvements in its ability to solve complex problems through data analysis.

por MURALI M A

May 07, 2020

Great course...It is well organized, tutors made complex concepts very simple, I learnt how to find CI and do hypothesis testing in python. Overall very good experience. Hope the course material is accessible to me later as well, I need go through it again to reconfirm my understanding of complex concepts

por Ralph J Z

Apr 02, 2020

This is a very great course. Statistics by itself is a very powerful tool for solving real world problems. Combine it with the knowledge of Python, there no limit to what you can achieve.

por Aradhya

May 28, 2020

The best part of this that it is designed in a way that it encourages people to dig deeper and explore more. The instructors have done a great job in making the curriculam this good.

por Bonnie

Aug 08, 2019

I really appreciate the course and let me accumulate a lot of knowledge about statistics. And I have developed a good impression of the University of Michigan teaching level.