Chevron Left
Voltar para Industrial Biotechnology

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Industrial Biotechnology da instituição Universidade de Manchester

4.7
estrelas
2,272 classificações
534 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Fossil fuels have been the primary energy source for society since the Industrial Revolution. They provide the raw material for the manufacture of many everyday products that we take for granted, including pharmaceuticals, food and drink, materials, plastics and personal care. As the 21st century progresses we need solutions for the manufacture of chemicals that are smarter, more predictable and more sustainable. Industrial biotechnology is changing how we manufacture chemicals and materials, as well as providing us with a source of renewable energy. It is at the core of sustainable manufacturing processes and an attractive alternative to traditional manufacturing technologies to commercially advance and transform priority industrial sectors yielding more and more viable solutions for our environment in the form of new chemicals, new materials and bioenergy. This course will cover the key enabling technologies that underpin biotechnology research including enzyme discovery and engineering, systems and synthetic biology and biochemical and process engineering. Much of this material will be delivered through lectures to ensure that you have a solid foundation in these key areas. We will also consider the wider issues involved in sustainable manufacturing including responsible research innovation and bioethics. In the second part of the course we will look at how these technologies translate into real world applications which benefit society and impact our everyday lives. This will include input from our industry stakeholders and collaborators working in the pharmaceutical, chemicals and biofuels industries. By the end of this course you will be able to: 1. Understand enzymatic function and catalysis. 2. Explain the technologies and methodologies underpinning systems and synthetic biology. 3. Explain the diversity of synthetic biology application and discuss the different ethical and regulatory/governance challenges involved in this research. 4. Understand the principles and role of bioprocessing and biochemical engineering in industrial biotechnology. 5. Have an informed discussion of the key enabling technologies underpinning research in industrial biotechnology 6. Give examples of industrial biotechnology products and processes and their application in healthcare, agriculture, fine chemicals, energy and the environment....

Melhores avaliações

MK
5 de Mar de 2021

Great course. Im a chemical engineering, applying for master's in Chemical Biotechnology. This course really helped in understanding the basics of this amazing field. Thanks guys. Humans are awesome.

JC
28 de Abr de 2020

Very informative and very well organised course and it really helped me provide a good insight into the world of Biotechnology, the applications in the health sector and its potential in the future.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 536 Avaliações para o Industrial Biotechnology

por Dr. K T

28 de Abr de 2020

Extremely interesting course. Also very attractive due to examples of biotechnology examples of real industrial applications.

por Mallappa M

7 de Dez de 2020

Thank you so much for making me understand that I need so much more to do for preparing my job hunting Thank you coursera ..

por Mario A E C

1 de Abr de 2021

It is a good introductory course to Industrial Biotechnology; hopefully, in the future, you could make a series of courses.

por Atanas S

9 de Ago de 2020

This is the best course in biotechnology.

Every single lesson inspires you.

And the teachers are undoubtedly one of the best.

por Dhruva M

15 de Jul de 2020

This course is an excellent example for the beginners. I only wish there is a specialization course for the bio-fuel cells.

por Idaka E E I

14 de Jul de 2021

It is a very educative and beneficial course to anyone across all fields most especially the field of Biological Sciences.

por ramya . k

9 de Ago de 2020

This course is very informative and knowledgeable. Learnt many new aspects and techniques of Industrial Biotechnology.

por Emilio Z L

2 de Out de 2020

I think it is an excellent course, very extensive and that talks about an overview of biotechnology and bioprocesses.

por DORCY'S L H

6 de Nov de 2020

it has been a tremendous experience via this online course. it has boosted up my basic knowledge. thankyou so much

por Md A R

16 de Jan de 2022

An amazing course for the students of genetic engineering, biotechnology, microbiology, etc. I liked it vey much.

por Marcela H G

9 de Abr de 2021

It is an excellent course, I think it has aroused my curiosity about the role that enzymes have in our society.

por Lily D

7 de Mai de 2020

Me pareció bastante bueno en general, considero que falta tocar temas de edición genética y diseño de proteínas

por Dilshan K

22 de Jun de 2021

Highly recommend this course. I have acquired valuable knowledge relating to my field of education. Thank you!

por Geetai

14 de Jun de 2020

its very informative. i learn a lots of new things here. the professor explain all the topic in very easy way.

por Uriel G

26 de Ago de 2020

Excelente curso para reforzar todo lo relacionado a la Ingeniería Bioquímica, Biotecnológica o sus similares.

por Larissa C G A

26 de Jun de 2020

Very good, it gave me a perspective on the area of biotechnology, it was very worthwhile to take this course.

por Kristell B

7 de Nov de 2020

It is a great and fully course that gives a wide perspective about enzymes and its applications in industry.

por Mayukh M

12 de Jul de 2020

Highlighting important section/chapters in a concise way informative and compact course. Highly recommended.

por Tushant S

25 de Jun de 2021

I learned a lot in this course and is somewhere related to my program. Thank you for the wonderful program.

por Muhammad U K

5 de Ago de 2020

It is a very good course I learned a lot of things from this course. It is very interesting course.

Thanks.

por SERGIO A F G

18 de Fev de 2021

es muy bueno el curso da una fundamentacion y entendimiento del area de la biotecnologia y los bioprocesos

por Areej Z

13 de Jul de 2020

Very informative and helpful course..It is best idea to use your energy and time in something productive

por Enrique P

16 de Jun de 2020

Me ayudo a repasar y conocer material de la biotecnología industrial, sumamente gratificante este curso

por DEEPTHI B

19 de Abr de 2020

The course was very useful as it gave insights to complex areas like synthetic biology in a simple way

por Irene A G

21 de Jan de 2018

I am very satisfied with this course. It's been very interesting and helpful for my career development.