Chevron Left
Voltar para Industrial Biotechnology

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Industrial Biotechnology da instituição Universidade de Manchester

4.7
estrelas
2,272 classificações
534 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Fossil fuels have been the primary energy source for society since the Industrial Revolution. They provide the raw material for the manufacture of many everyday products that we take for granted, including pharmaceuticals, food and drink, materials, plastics and personal care. As the 21st century progresses we need solutions for the manufacture of chemicals that are smarter, more predictable and more sustainable. Industrial biotechnology is changing how we manufacture chemicals and materials, as well as providing us with a source of renewable energy. It is at the core of sustainable manufacturing processes and an attractive alternative to traditional manufacturing technologies to commercially advance and transform priority industrial sectors yielding more and more viable solutions for our environment in the form of new chemicals, new materials and bioenergy. This course will cover the key enabling technologies that underpin biotechnology research including enzyme discovery and engineering, systems and synthetic biology and biochemical and process engineering. Much of this material will be delivered through lectures to ensure that you have a solid foundation in these key areas. We will also consider the wider issues involved in sustainable manufacturing including responsible research innovation and bioethics. In the second part of the course we will look at how these technologies translate into real world applications which benefit society and impact our everyday lives. This will include input from our industry stakeholders and collaborators working in the pharmaceutical, chemicals and biofuels industries. By the end of this course you will be able to: 1. Understand enzymatic function and catalysis. 2. Explain the technologies and methodologies underpinning systems and synthetic biology. 3. Explain the diversity of synthetic biology application and discuss the different ethical and regulatory/governance challenges involved in this research. 4. Understand the principles and role of bioprocessing and biochemical engineering in industrial biotechnology. 5. Have an informed discussion of the key enabling technologies underpinning research in industrial biotechnology 6. Give examples of industrial biotechnology products and processes and their application in healthcare, agriculture, fine chemicals, energy and the environment....

Melhores avaliações

MK
5 de Mar de 2021

Great course. Im a chemical engineering, applying for master's in Chemical Biotechnology. This course really helped in understanding the basics of this amazing field. Thanks guys. Humans are awesome.

JC
28 de Abr de 2020

Very informative and very well organised course and it really helped me provide a good insight into the world of Biotechnology, the applications in the health sector and its potential in the future.

Filtrar por:

501 — 525 de 535 Avaliações para o Industrial Biotechnology

por diksha k

16 de Mai de 2020

Very informative course!!

por Dr m k

11 de Abr de 2020

it was nice to read

por Andrés C

26 de Ago de 2021

Very illustrative

por Deleted A

16 de Mai de 2020

Very good course

por Mohammed N

4 de Mai de 2020

very good course

por PRIYANSHU S

9 de Jul de 2020

nice experience

por Diego I C L

16 de Jul de 2020

Good course!!

por shitanshu d

27 de Mai de 2020

Good Course

por NARAYANAMANIKANDAN B

12 de Jul de 2021

Good

por Karthika R N

13 de Jun de 2021

por Zuhayr M

9 de Jun de 2020

This is my 2nd online course so I will be comparing with that.

This felt more like lecturers were given to talk straight out of notes, didn't feel like natural.

1 week has only 1 tests with massive amount of info for only 12 questions. 2-3 normal test after a few modules in the middle of week would be better (this tests don't count in graded section but only to flesh out more question opportunity) (this was the structure in my earlier MOOC)

por Bedros B

8 de Nov de 2020

I wouldn't say this is a beginner course. It is quite challenging for beginners. I do like the educational material itself. It is very insightful. The lectures are a little dull (instructors are mostly reading off of slides which isn't too engaging). Overall, I struggled and learned a lot.

por Erik W

22 de Mar de 2021

Lot of different info was presented, making it informative but less suited to my interests than expected.

Main drawback, however, was that the course material was sometimes quite advanced (i.m.h.o.) while the assessment was really, really easy.

por Tomas T

16 de Mai de 2021

Nice introduction to industrial biotech. The last part focused a bit too much on the therapeutically part "what do the things produced do", when I personally am interested in the production part "how products are produced at scale"

por Paul R N

20 de Abr de 2020

The course gives an good overview - the first weeks were not as good as the last part of the course. The presenting style (especially in the first weeks) is quite old fashion. Nevertheless I am happy that I attended this course.

por ZAKIE A

16 de Set de 2020

Se hicieron un poco densos los módulos del medio, como que mucha fórmula química, ejemplos y no mucho más. Está bueno en sí el curso pero podría ser bastante más dinámico

por Anik B

19 de Set de 2020

I think the lecture slides had too much information at the same time. If only the respective line or figure can be shown one at a time, it might be better.

Thank you

por Adrita S T

17 de Mai de 2020

very informative & technical course...course material can be limited..& i did not get certificate after completing the course

por Sherif A K E G

15 de Dez de 2021

it is hard to grasp the material, the instructors are very fast and not emphasizing the important key points.

por arev

29 de Mai de 2020

Great opportunity to learn biotechnology ,it shifted my perspective on biology and chemical science.

por Manisha G

14 de Ago de 2020

Some parts are really boring and exhaustive. The narration in some videos is too fast.

por Bhaskar Y

27 de Nov de 2020

Interesting content but delivery of content was not engaging and lacked lustre

por adeshina A

23 de Set de 2021

Great!

por Ganeshraj B

22 de Ago de 2020

Pursue the course only if it is absolutely critical to your career. The professors have a high level of knowledge doubtlessly, but so many of them just ramble about, stutter continuously, have external disturbances in their audio, use lots of industrial lingo without explaining, or just plainly reading from the presentations.

There is a lot of knowledge to be obtained from this course, but the teaching experience of all but a few professors (Week 3, Week 5) is not up to par with rest of the courses on this platform.