Chevron Left
Voltar para Industrial Biotechnology

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Industrial Biotechnology da instituição Universidade de Manchester

4.7
estrelas
2,513 classificações
590 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Fossil fuels have been the primary energy source for society since the Industrial Revolution. They provide the raw material for the manufacture of many everyday products that we take for granted, including pharmaceuticals, food and drink, materials, plastics and personal care. As the 21st century progresses we need solutions for the manufacture of chemicals that are smarter, more predictable and more sustainable. Industrial biotechnology is changing how we manufacture chemicals and materials, as well as providing us with a source of renewable energy. It is at the core of sustainable manufacturing processes and an attractive alternative to traditional manufacturing technologies to commercially advance and transform priority industrial sectors yielding more and more viable solutions for our environment in the form of new chemicals, new materials and bioenergy. This course will cover the key enabling technologies that underpin biotechnology research including enzyme discovery and engineering, systems and synthetic biology and biochemical and process engineering. Much of this material will be delivered through lectures to ensure that you have a solid foundation in these key areas. We will also consider the wider issues involved in sustainable manufacturing including responsible research innovation and bioethics. In the second part of the course we will look at how these technologies translate into real world applications which benefit society and impact our everyday lives. This will include input from our industry stakeholders and collaborators working in the pharmaceutical, chemicals and biofuels industries. By the end of this course you will be able to: 1. Understand enzymatic function and catalysis. 2. Explain the technologies and methodologies underpinning systems and synthetic biology. 3. Explain the diversity of synthetic biology application and discuss the different ethical and regulatory/governance challenges involved in this research. 4. Understand the principles and role of bioprocessing and biochemical engineering in industrial biotechnology. 5. Have an informed discussion of the key enabling technologies underpinning research in industrial biotechnology 6. Give examples of industrial biotechnology products and processes and their application in healthcare, agriculture, fine chemicals, energy and the environment....

Melhores avaliações

MK

5 de mar de 2021

Great course. Im a chemical engineering, applying for master's in Chemical Biotechnology. This course really helped in understanding the basics of this amazing field. Thanks guys. Humans are awesome.

JC

28 de abr de 2020

Very informative and very well organised course and it really helped me provide a good insight into the world of Biotechnology, the applications in the health sector and its potential in the future.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 598 Avaliações para o Industrial Biotechnology

por A G

26 de jul de 2020

Great insight offered by University of Manchester into the field of Industrial Biotechnology. Being a Chemical Engineering student, I learnt a lot, especially the industrial aspects, and realized the tremendous potential in this subject.

por Arune V

31 de dez de 2019

Really enjoyed the insightful pieces of experience the professors give us about what they do within the field of Industrial Biotechnology along with their description of whatever concept they explain. Keep up the good work!

por Bensaadi H T E

11 de abr de 2020

It was really a nice course, I enjoyed every bit of it, the lectures had covered all the essential subjects of the Industrial Biotechnology, thanks for everyone who participated in the creation of this high quality course!

por Rodrigo T B

27 de ago de 2020

Great Course to keep the knowledge fresh and also to learn a lot about different ways in which you can innovate in Biotechnology. I struggled a little with week four, but anyways it was a great course I enjoyed it, Thanks

por Venkataraghavan R

30 de jul de 2020

The course from Manchester University, England, has provided the essential insights and scintillated on the cutting-edge technology in Industrial Biotechnology, Chemical Engineering, and Biopharmaceutical Technology.

por Laura W

2 de fev de 2021

Very informative course which was very accessible to a Materials Scientist background. Thanks. Covered a range of case studies which gave a good flavour of the wide-reaching applications of industrial biotechnology.

por Waqar A

15 de mai de 2020

It was the most helpful course i found bundle of knowledge and information about working of enzymes action and activities in pharmaceutical making and different enzymes degradations in the future for Biotechnology.

por Vivek B

5 de out de 2020

The course on Industrial Biotechnology was well structured. All the lectures were excellent and given deep insight in application and synthesis of enzymes, biomaterial, bioenergy and pharmaceuticals. Thank You.

por Maria B

18 de set de 2018

Very good overview. One will find new and deepening knowledge no matter what background one comes from. I’m from an engineering school and this was both a good repetition in some areas and an eyeopener in other.

por GAUTAM P

23 de jul de 2021

This course was very helpful as it would definitely help me to further my career in Industrial Biotechnology.Thanks to all the lecturers who take their valuable time offering insights and ideas about the topic.

por BODGAMWALA H K

20 de set de 2020

Well designed Course. It gives a brief knowledge on all the important topics of Industrial Biotechnology and explaination of each of the professor is amazing. I learned a lot from this short course. Thank you!!

por Olivia L

7 de ago de 2017

Great course delivered by experts in the field! I would thoroughly recommend this course to anyone interested in biotechnology. I have a degree in chemistry and I found this course to be very enjoyable!

por Josia P

28 de jun de 2020

Was fun to get more insight into what is possible in biotechnology, and the thought processes behind it. Most lectures were well excecuted. I will definetely be continuing my study of industrial biotech.

por Fatima S

16 de abr de 2021

The coursea has offered a great opportunity with the collaboration of University of Manchester. The course I learned enhanced my knowledge and skills. Sure, it will benefit me more in the future.

Thanks

por Ana d l P P

29 de jan de 2021

Quite complete for a six week course.

It enriched my knowledge and helped to understand personal/profesional aims.

More stability in teachers would have been appreciated, congratulations on the last two.

por George N E

19 de nov de 2017

An eye-opener indeed. Particularly on the trends and prospects in the application of bio-molecular techniques in the industries and the in silico design and modification of enzymes ; fascinating indeed.

por Estefania M

7 de jun de 2020

It is a great course, full of information and additional materials to complement the lectures. I strongly recommend it for someone who wants to be updated on new techniques in the biotech industry.

por Samer S

4 de jul de 2021

Very informative course. I am grateful to all scientists who have invested the valuable time for sharing their knowledge and research experiences for our career benefits. Thank you very much....

por Bobbi E

3 de abr de 2022

Great information, definitly somthing I would love to try in the future and am looking forward to it as soon I complete other MOOC courses if it is available. Thank you for the opportunity.

por Mayra

12 de set de 2020

Me encanto el curso, tiene mucha información interesante. Durante la clase me interesó mucho más aprender, habían temas que no tenia conocimiento y gracias a coursera puede conocerlas.

por Deemi O

9 de jul de 2020

It was very easy to understand the concepts, super interesting and engaging. You learn a lot of the applications biotechnology already has and the many more it I’ll have in the future.

por Ruth M B

2 de abr de 2021

Es curso que se enfoca en los puntos cruciales sobre la Biotecnología, en los Bioprocesos involucrados, las líneas de investigación o aplicaciones de la Biotecnología. ¡Muy completo!

por Neelam S

20 de mar de 2022

The course was very easy to understand and do, weekly videos and assignments are also very convienient to complete.Topics are also compressed so the study time is also very optimal.

por Megan B

12 de mai de 2020

Really educational course. Good case studies. Good Introduction to the industrial biology world. Nice mix of instructors with different specialties. I feel like I've learned a lot!

por PRANJALI B

11 de mai de 2022

its really a great course to study from basic level to advance level knowledge related to industrial biotechnology. thank you so much for create such nice platform for learners.