Chevron Left
Voltar para Industrial Biotechnology

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Industrial Biotechnology da instituição Universidade de Manchester

4.7
estrelas
2,450 classificações
577 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Fossil fuels have been the primary energy source for society since the Industrial Revolution. They provide the raw material for the manufacture of many everyday products that we take for granted, including pharmaceuticals, food and drink, materials, plastics and personal care. As the 21st century progresses we need solutions for the manufacture of chemicals that are smarter, more predictable and more sustainable. Industrial biotechnology is changing how we manufacture chemicals and materials, as well as providing us with a source of renewable energy. It is at the core of sustainable manufacturing processes and an attractive alternative to traditional manufacturing technologies to commercially advance and transform priority industrial sectors yielding more and more viable solutions for our environment in the form of new chemicals, new materials and bioenergy. This course will cover the key enabling technologies that underpin biotechnology research including enzyme discovery and engineering, systems and synthetic biology and biochemical and process engineering. Much of this material will be delivered through lectures to ensure that you have a solid foundation in these key areas. We will also consider the wider issues involved in sustainable manufacturing including responsible research innovation and bioethics. In the second part of the course we will look at how these technologies translate into real world applications which benefit society and impact our everyday lives. This will include input from our industry stakeholders and collaborators working in the pharmaceutical, chemicals and biofuels industries. By the end of this course you will be able to: 1. Understand enzymatic function and catalysis. 2. Explain the technologies and methodologies underpinning systems and synthetic biology. 3. Explain the diversity of synthetic biology application and discuss the different ethical and regulatory/governance challenges involved in this research. 4. Understand the principles and role of bioprocessing and biochemical engineering in industrial biotechnology. 5. Have an informed discussion of the key enabling technologies underpinning research in industrial biotechnology 6. Give examples of industrial biotechnology products and processes and their application in healthcare, agriculture, fine chemicals, energy and the environment....

Melhores avaliações

MK

5 de mar de 2021

Great course. Im a chemical engineering, applying for master's in Chemical Biotechnology. This course really helped in understanding the basics of this amazing field. Thanks guys. Humans are awesome.

JC

28 de abr de 2020

Very informative and very well organised course and it really helped me provide a good insight into the world of Biotechnology, the applications in the health sector and its potential in the future.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de 583 Avaliações para o Industrial Biotechnology

por Patel A R

18 de mai de 2020

Best course that provides the structure and applications with various day to day life examples, techiques of the Industrial biotechnology.

por Amaliyah R I U

26 de jul de 2020

I got more knowledge to upgrade my expertise in conducting my research and teaching of my class. Thank you for this awesome online class.

por Prajakta A G

30 de ago de 2020

Thank you so much for a wonderful course . It helped me a lot to clear my biotechnology basics and improved my process designing skills.

por Syeda L T

18 de nov de 2020

It was a very informative and innovative course. It helped me understand the technicalities of industry-level production of materials.

por Javiera A P G

22 de set de 2020

A great overview about Industrial Biotechnology (if you are a biotechnology studendt, you'll probably consider this course too basic).

por Ankita P

7 de jul de 2020

I am very thankful to the organizers for arranging this course. The presentations and resource materials were informative and useful.

por Ahmad A Q B

30 de mai de 2021

Very detailed overview of the entire field of industrial biotechnology and the scope/importance of it in the coming days. Top class!

por MILLENA, E S (

11 de out de 2020

I have learned a lot about industrial biotechnology. Professors are very knowledgeable, and they explained concepts very clear.

por Mohd. N H

1 de dez de 2020

Very Informative course for the current researches in industrial Biotechnology and what future aspects it holds as an industry

por Dr. K T

28 de abr de 2020

Extremely interesting course. Also very attractive due to examples of biotechnology examples of real industrial applications.

por Mallappa M

7 de dez de 2020

Thank you so much for making me understand that I need so much more to do for preparing my job hunting Thank you coursera ..

por Mario A E C

1 de abr de 2021

It is a good introductory course to Industrial Biotechnology; hopefully, in the future, you could make a series of courses.

por Atanas S

9 de ago de 2020

This is the best course in biotechnology.

Every single lesson inspires you.

And the teachers are undoubtedly one of the best.

por Dhruva M

15 de jul de 2020

This course is an excellent example for the beginners. I only wish there is a specialization course for the bio-fuel cells.

por Idaka E E I

14 de jul de 2021

It is a very educative and beneficial course to anyone across all fields most especially the field of Biological Sciences.

por ramya . k

9 de ago de 2020

This course is very informative and knowledgeable. Learnt many new aspects and techniques of Industrial Biotechnology.

por Emilio Z L

2 de out de 2020

I think it is an excellent course, very extensive and that talks about an overview of biotechnology and bioprocesses.

por DORCOUS A M

6 de nov de 2020

it has been a tremendous experience via this online course. it has boosted up my basic knowledge. thankyou so much

por Md A R

16 de jan de 2022

An amazing course for the students of genetic engineering, biotechnology, microbiology, etc. I liked it vey much.

por Marcela H G

9 de abr de 2021

It is an excellent course, I think it has aroused my curiosity about the role that enzymes have in our society.

por Lily D

7 de mai de 2020

Me pareció bastante bueno en general, considero que falta tocar temas de edición genética y diseño de proteínas

por Dilshan K

22 de jun de 2021

Highly recommend this course. I have acquired valuable knowledge relating to my field of education. Thank you!

por Geetai

14 de jun de 2020

its very informative. i learn a lots of new things here. the professor explain all the topic in very easy way.

por Uriel G

26 de ago de 2020

Excelente curso para reforzar todo lo relacionado a la Ingeniería Bioquímica, Biotecnológica o sus similares.

por Larissa C G A

26 de jun de 2020

Very good, it gave me a perspective on the area of biotechnology, it was very worthwhile to take this course.