Chevron Left
Voltar para Indigenous Canada

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Indigenous Canada da instituição Universidade de AlbertaUniversidade de Alberta

4.8
estrelas
14,252 classificações
5,395 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Melhores avaliações

JH
13 de Fev de 2021

Highly recommended - I have recommended it some of my staff who are interested in both taking the course and reading the materials. I should note they are First Nations and are as interested as I was.

LM
31 de Out de 2020

so grateful for the experience and the opportunity. I am richer for having participated. I am not interested in learning more about the indigenous people that lived/live in my area of the PNW (Oregon)

Filtrar por:

5326 — 5350 de 5,589 Avaliações para o Indigenous Canada

por Wendy H

18 de Jun de 2021

Excellent opportunity to grow my awareness and understanding of the many challenges facing First Nations individuals and communities.

por Ken B

14 de Jan de 2018

Thank you for the opportunity to learn more about Indigenous history and contemporary issues. Every Canadian should take this course.

por Jorge A M

28 de Mar de 2021

I was able to learn so much, very well put together and above all it was presented in a fair non judgmental but more educational way

por Lynda B

7 de Mai de 2020

Thank you for this course, while I knew some of the history, mostly from the other side, it was very enlightening to see both sides.

por Ivy K

3 de Nov de 2020

Very informative. A lot of this information is now taught in the Saskatchewan education system but was not when I was a student.

por Steve L

27 de Out de 2020

Very informative and well presented, an important piece of our history that I wish was taught in all school curiculums. Thank you

por Loretta R

17 de Nov de 2020

I found Indigenous Canada to be a very accessible introduction to indigenous peoples and history. I'm so glad it was available.

por Parminder T

29 de Set de 2021

I found the course educational and I love the art work and descriptions. I wish I had learned this in school when I was young.

por Walburga W

24 de Jul de 2021

This is a great course. Everyone should take it.Easy to follow.

The knowledge shared was very informative.

Thank you for sharing

por Yogendra V

3 de Jan de 2021

Great course to learn about Indigenous worldview, history of colonization and current issues related to indigenous population.

por Gregory Y

23 de Nov de 2020

This course bent the way of my usual learning. It made my mind heavy. But happy to learn it. Thought provoking. Thank you.

por Atta N

19 de Jun de 2021

Extensive, intensive, packed with knowledge and research work. Good to know Aboriginals are fighting back through education.

por cloe l c

17 de Dez de 2020

j'ai beaucoup aimée . Comme je ne suis pas anglophone c'était un peu difficile , mais j'ai beaucoup aimée. Très interessant

por Heather W

6 de Fev de 2021

great content. at times i found the language in the readings and videos inconsistent with that in the quizes. Thank you!!!

por Andrew S

12 de Out de 2020

This is a really great course and should be included in high school or Junior high mandatory curiculum for all Canadians.

por Karen F

31 de Jul de 2021

I think the course needs to be updated to jnclude bill s-3. Also metis included in your course should be verified metis.

por Wasan Z

29 de Abr de 2019

a lot of great material, learned tons... the layout how this was presented is easy to follow on the computer, phone an

por Mads R

15 de Abr de 2020

Interesting content! Thankful for the written coursework packages that were included to add diverse learning methods.

por Jim F

16 de Out de 2021

Very good history of the history of colonization of indigenous peoples of Canada and of their place in Canada today.

por Damon D

27 de Set de 2021

There was a lot of very interesting information. I am ashamed of how my ancestors treated the indigenous peoples.

por Ian J

21 de Set de 2021

Well presented - Addition updates would be my only recommendation to this very well designed adn structred course.

por Angela C

12 de Nov de 2020

It was very informative. Some of the quiz questions had more than one right answer which was frustrating at times.

por Hannah A

17 de Mar de 2018

Would like to have learned about the impact of course material on indigenous Canadians today (and current life of)

por Joyce G

16 de Dez de 2020

Detailed quizz questions (specific people) should be replaced by questions which show understanding of concepts.

por Kristen B

6 de Dez de 2020

Great Course! The text document could benefit from some editing. The video and interview portions were fantastic.