Chevron Left
Voltar para Impact Measurement & Management for the SDGs

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Impact Measurement & Management for the SDGs da instituição Universidade Duke

4.9
estrelas
108 classificações
30 avaliações

Sobre o curso

How can businesses and investors help fill the multi-trillion dollar gap needed for sustainable development? Simply put, by getting better at measuring and managing impacts on people and planet. Through this course, anyone can learn to improve their organization's practice of impact management, and how to align their ESG or impact activities and reporting with emerging global standards. Impact Measurement and Management for the SDGs is sponsored by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), the global development network of the United Nations which created the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) that over 190 countries have signed on to achieve by 2030. But the public sector can't do this alone. Climate change, poverty, racial and gender equity, food, health, education, clean water -- the list of challenges faced by people and planet is too long. Business and investment have stepped in to help. But in a field of evolving acronyms, standards and systems, many are not exactly sure what is required to do this work well. Third party standards and certifications are also evolving quickly to verify and assure impact management practices. What do you need to know to align your work with impact on the SDGs in ways that meet evolving expectations? Produced by the award winning team at CASE at Duke University, and developed in collaboration with advisors from around the world, this course consolidates several decades of work around impact management into a cutting-edge guide based on short videos and lessons with concrete practical examples. The course emphasizes ways to improving decision-making for impact on SDGs through changes enterprises and investors can make in strategy, management approach, transparency, and governance, which we have translated into 4 universal practices of impact measurement and management - SET STRATEGY, INTEGRATE, OPTIMIZE and REINFORCE. These steps are aligned with the UNDP's SDG Impact Standards as well as others, such as the Operating Principles for Impact Management. People who know how to apply these standards are increasingly in demand by institutions globally as they work to improve their performance and reporting around ESG and impact management. If you work or wish to work within an enterprise, a corporation, a fund that manages assets or an asset owner or advisory that oversees investment assets, or if you just want to learn more about impact investing, ESG, social finance or corporate reporting, this course will help you master the core concepts and practices in impact management for the SDGs and other impacts from both an enterprise and investor perspective....

Melhores avaliações

DD
21 de Out de 2021

Very helpful subject matter and thoughtfully organized. Additional resources are really helpful in this field and I wonder if there is an opportunity to keep those as more "living documents"

PN
17 de Jan de 2022

Excellent course. The strucured steps described here would definitely help the activity of setting up a good IMM process for any organisation

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 30 Avaliações para o Impact Measurement & Management for the SDGs

por Yuan-Hsun C

23 de Out de 2021

Definitely the best course that I have taken in Sustainability field via both online and offline channels. The professor can articulate the complicated concept with an extremely structured framework so that you can gain understanding into impact measurement step by step. Furthermore, the course also concerns pretty practical applications in the real world. You will REGRET if you miss this course! 200% recommend this course! Thank Professor Clark, UNDP and Fuqua for presenting this informative and useful course for those who possess passion for relevant field.

por Günter S

5 de Nov de 2021

Every startup and every investor that claimes to be impact oriented should do this course and do it seriously not for whitewashing. I will ask all my future fundraising clients to do this course before we can sign a contract.

por dcandida

22 de Out de 2021

Very helpful subject matter and thoughtfully organized. Additional resources are really helpful in this field and I wonder if there is an opportunity to keep those as more "living documents"

por Chris C

23 de Out de 2021

This course is an excellent overview for SDG impact management - it provides an overall framework and set of steps/questions/standards to ensure a strong system is put in place, as well as provides tons of resources of best practice.

I have 2 pieces of feedback: (1) the assessment - the questions are not very challenging and really anyone could tell what the answers are for most of the questions. (2) I wish there were more case studies done in more detail in the course. The more they illustrate good and bad examples, the more tangible the learning becomes.

Overall though - I would still highly recommend the course, as it is the first of its kind to exist for SDG impact management.

por Luis P

21 de Set de 2021

If you are looking for practical knowledge on how to use the SDGs in your business, social enterprise, nonprofit or investment firm, I highly recommend this training. Every lesson is filled with valuable information with a wealth of additional resources for a deeper dive. If sustainable development and/or impact investing is your game, you should definitely take this course!

por David R

3 de Out de 2021

Very useful and well presented.

Quality information and resources for future reference.

Based on a good quality integrate planning and reporting approach, it increases the capacity to integrate SDGs in a meaningful, practical and sustainable way that also takes into account the varying contexts and dynamic environment we are required to operate within.

por Anjum M

29 de Set de 2021

It is a must attend type of course for Social Development Professionals, and all those who are aspiring to do something for Social Enterprises ; be it investor, fund manager, impact assessor, impact validator. This is a good starting point.

por Jennifer S

10 de Nov de 2021

An excellent and well presented course providing valuable insights. Many thanks to the course presenter, Cathy Clark.

por Ken W

15 de Out de 2021

A​n excellent course in IMM from both enterprise and investor perspectives. Highly recommended

por Seth J

14 de Out de 2021

fantastic course and important information for measuring and managing impact for the SDGs

por Ainsley M

30 de Out de 2021

Great for learning impact management and measurement framework

por Dydirector S

3 de Dez de 2021

I found this course extremely useful in terms of understanding various dimensions of sustainability. The process oriented methods adopted in the course was particularly noteworthy as I was able to clearly strategise my approach to developing my own sustainability assessments. Even though, I am a Sustainability professional and an academician and have been involved in various sustainability processes, I believe this course has great value for anyone who wishes to learn impact measurement techniques. The pedagogy, teaching resources and case examples cited were extremely relevant and helped to understand SDG perspectives from different stakeholders. Highly recommended !

por Silvia D F

4 de Nov de 2021

The best Coursera Course that I have attended so far. It provides a solid theoretical foundation of the principles for Impact measurement and management and it contains a remarkable source of documentation for entrepreneurs and investors. The additional resources at the end of each chapter can be used in practice and are up-to-date, unlike other courses that I attended in the past, a requirement that I believe is essential for anyone entering the rapidly evolving world of sustainable investing.

por Dawn H

19 de Nov de 2021

My organization has been investing with impact since 2013 but has not had a framework for tracking and measuring our successes and identifying areas of improvement. This course not only provided the framework, but provided all the tools needed to make it happen. I am confident that this course will take us to the next level in our impact investing journey.

por Raj C

18 de Nov de 2021

systematic walk-through of steps and considerations in impact management, bolstered by examples. Useful for an impact investor to understand the perspective of the enterprise leader, and vice-versa. Thanks so much, Cathy!

por Juan J V

16 de Nov de 2021

Just Brilliant!!! It comprises an extense work of knowledge and experience.

por Ingrid E N

22 de Out de 2021

A lot of material to read from UN but very useful to keep as a reference.

por Weixin X

16 de Nov de 2021

As a new learner of IMM, this course is super helpful! Thanks!

por Deniz K

3 de Nov de 2021

This course was vert insightful and beneficial

por Zak K

22 de Nov de 2021

Very well thought-through and presented

por Patrick N

24 de Set de 2021

Fantastic Course. Enjoyed it

por Tito R D V A

20 de Jan de 2022

​Clear and current. Excellent course.

It would be great to have a follow up course for impact evaluators researchers and consultants, more focused on technical challenges of SDG related, benchmarking frameworks pertinent for survey design, data collection and analysis, reporting and impact communication, etc.

T​hank you, cheers from Lisbon

por Paul B

9 de Jan de 2022

A solid and well paced course which linked enterprises working in social impact, with those investing in social impact through clear, easy to understand frameworks and processes. I totally recommend this course if you work in social change and are interested in seeing how to deliberate use models and analysis to track impact performance.

por laura l

14 de Jan de 2022

I found this course very informative. Well-organized, well presented. Tons of great resources and easy-to-use frameworks. Current, relevant, accessible. I am now applying the learnings to my own company and hope to help other small companies do the same. Many thanks to CASE.

por Eugene L L

6 de Dez de 2021

I was looking for information about ESG. This SDG course provided me with a good base of understanding originating from the UN in 2015. It also provided me with a measurement tool to understand what and how the SDG / ESG can be rated within a company.