Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Imagemaking

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Imagemaking da instituição Instituto de Artes da Califórnia

4.5
estrelas
2,205 classificações
474 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Melhores avaliações

LC
8 de Out de 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

ID
21 de Mai de 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 469 Avaliações para o Introduction to Imagemaking

por Juachi O

22 de Set de 2017

Great course to help learn about images in composition and critical looks at planning and creating images.

por Kevin J

26 de Ago de 2017

Loved the course, really enjoyed the Image making and learning about image interpretations and expressions

por Yudi Y S

2 de Jun de 2020

I gained a lot of experience in this course! I make my first book by this course, This course is great!

por Muhammad A Y

31 de Jan de 2018

i really thankful to coursera to give me this opportunity learn about specialization in graphics design

por Egle H

13 de Dez de 2019

Learned a lot and discovered some things about myself that O didn't know. Thank you for this course.

por Eugen M

20 de Ago de 2016

A very good course, not just for those who want to become experts, but also for those who know more.

por Victoria K

24 de Out de 2020

This was a fun, hands-on course where you're able to explore all aspects of creative image making.

por Mariana M

12 de Jun de 2018

Truly change my vision of design, the meaning of visual communication and composition.Thank you

por Jinn J

23 de Nov de 2020

I really learn alot of things at this course. I wan to send my thank for my teacher, Mrs. Gail

por Ebba J

23 de Nov de 2016

Wonderful course, interesting lessons, great assignments, fun to do, authentic artist teacher.

por Syed F R

30 de Jul de 2020

So much things I have learn in this course. Its a fantastic plat forum for knowledge seekers.

por Huda N

1 de Abr de 2019

I really Enjoyed this course, made me get out of my comfort zone and think outside the box.

por Diana-Mihaela S

11 de Set de 2016

I really loved the teaching method, fluid and in tune with any artist`s budding creativity!

por Zuzana P

9 de Out de 2016

It was really challenging, and interesting course. I wish I had more time to work with it.

por Subhan a

12 de Nov de 2020

Video lectures are less. Overall course is good but would be perfect if videos were more.

por Konstantinos A

20 de Jun de 2019

Very useful course another step towards specialization

CalArts is doing a wonderful job!!

por Fabian M

31 de Dez de 2016

This course challenged me to expand my visual creative skills and for that I am thankful.

por Brianna P

10 de Out de 2016

This was a great course that got me to stop judging my creations and start making images!

por Soumya P

14 de Jun de 2020

I loved this course. It was very informative. Had a lot of fun making the compositions.

por Norman K

29 de Set de 2020

Very informative tutors and interesting assignments that make the learning interesting

por celina o

10 de Mai de 2016

Very practical, short videos, lots of exercices to get going, very interesting course.

por Galo V

27 de Jun de 2019

Un curso realmente de mucho aporte, me ayudó para comprender y afinar mi creatividad.

por Mohammed A

9 de Set de 2019

Really good course I enjoyed the process. was very helpful to improve my creativity.

por Elizabeth O

18 de Dez de 2017

Very informative and engaging course. One of my favorites among this specialization.

por Mohamed G W

9 de Out de 2017

great course that will teach you the meaning of the pictures and spaces in the image