Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Imagemaking

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Imagemaking da instituição Instituto de Artes da Califórnia

4.5
estrelas
2,147 classificações
456 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Melhores avaliações

ID
21 de Mai de 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

LC
8 de Out de 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

Filtrar por:

351 — 375 de 452 Avaliações para o Introduction to Imagemaking

por J-Man

25 de Mar de 2019

Quite a free and open guide which kind of minimises it as a tutorial. However it shows how iteration and alternative methods can help with creation.

por Sarah N

3 de Nov de 2016

This course is very good for beginners of using images and need to know how to set images together and anyone did not studied graphic design before

por krystal G

5 de Mai de 2020

It's a good course that introduce me to art and design. Anyway, it take a lot of time and might not suit for who didn't have basic in art.

por Lana

24 de Mar de 2019

I felt like standalone course its probably good, but as a part of specialization it is a bit repetitive of the design introduction course

por Chimdiebere A

21 de Set de 2020

The course was a very enlightening one. I liked every bit it. I would like it if the course could cover digital image making in details.

por Seung H L

9 de Set de 2020

I did not like how less people contribute to the course.. some people neglect the comment and don't read some comment about the artwork.

por Mihaela-Lucia M

25 de Ago de 2020

great course for learning and practicing your skills. I gave 4 stars because some of the assignments were unclear and a bit confusing.

por Nannie A

14 de Mai de 2016

This course teach you to think out of the box and if you have the courage and try, you will take it for the rest of your life.

por Hibah D

9 de Jun de 2020

The course is incredible, it gives a wide range of options to execute the assignments beautifully! I learned a lot

por Jelome C

14 de Jan de 2017

I liked how there's such an open approach to the course and it gave me a lot of chances to practice design.

por Kelly L

7 de Abr de 2018

I wish there was more lessons on specific creative techniques. Otherwise good class. Well worth the time!

por Beverley H

25 de Out de 2016

Really enjoyed the challenges it made me face with designing my own booklet.Has inspired me to do more.

por Justyna B

12 de Jul de 2019

Great course and quite heavy on the assignment part. Nevertheless, this is where true learning starts.

por Susan M

24 de Mar de 2017

Good introduction to important workflow concepts for creating and designing publications from scratch

por Kasturi K

30 de Mai de 2020

very very interesting , highly recommend if u looking for a good course to do during this quarantine

por Eumorphia K

20 de Jul de 2016

Very interesting through creative assignments you can learn and refine things about image telling.

por Stacey J J

11 de Jun de 2020

fun course - lots of hands-on assignments and the videos did a good job explaining the concepts.

por Winnie W

14 de Jul de 2017

More theory and example will give students more detail about image making. Not only a notion.

por Mohamed K E S

26 de Jun de 2017

again for this kind of course, peer review isn't really effective.

but the content is nice.

por MUSTAFA A

8 de Abr de 2017

Thanks for this creative course that learned us different ways andaspects of image making.

por Chris

10 de Mai de 2020

Great video content. Assignment targets can be difficult to understand at times.

por Kolya K

16 de Fev de 2018

Nice course of superb specialization. Wish it could be a little more detailed.

por Lisa H

21 de Mai de 2017

Nice, hands on course where you really get to the practical parts of design.

por Benjamin g

8 de Mar de 2019

Good start for anyone trying to learn image making techniques and zines.

por Osama M G A

27 de Jul de 2020

It is an open ended course totally different from any ordinary course