Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Imagemaking

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Imagemaking da instituição Instituto de Artes da Califórnia

4.5
estrelas
2,457 classificações
540 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Melhores avaliações

LC
8 de Out de 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

RJ
18 de Ago de 2018

This is more challenging that it seems. It forces you to think creatively and critically with a seemingly simple subject. I recommend this course for anyone who wants to work with their hands a bit

Filtrar por:

151 — 175 de 536 Avaliações para o Introduction to Imagemaking

por Tóbiás L

9 de Fev de 2021

It is a great course, and if you follow all the steps it is challanging enough to improve your approach and skills.

por Soh W K

25 de Out de 2018

Insightful ways of getting your Image Right for your Artwork!

The teacher even teaches you how to make a Image Book!

por Ana P B

26 de Mai de 2016

Very inspiring! The ideas and process I've learned with this course will certainly help me in my future projects.

por Dung N

26 de Dez de 2019

Highly recommend for anyone who loves to get their hands into creating something out of nothing creatively :D!!!

por Tudor C G

25 de Mar de 2019

Great course! I learned a lot of new imagemaking techniques as well as composition rules. I highly recommend it!

por Rolando R

6 de Mai de 2021

Muy recomendable, lo mejor es poder comparar y aprender de las revisiones de composiciones de otros compañeros.

por CHIU K W

18 de Jul de 2020

Creating our own book with our own topic is really fun. This course has raised my interest on graphic design.

por Isidora I

23 de Jun de 2020

la profesora habla muy rapido y me costo un poco entenderlo, pero su enseñanza me sirvieron muchisimo gracias

por Adler A

28 de Jun de 2019

That was a useful and practical course, like the rest in CalArts in the specialization in the Graphic Design.

por hangying w

26 de Out de 2016

This video lectures are very clear and well made. I learned the concepts of designs and new ways of thinking.

por Kyriaki G

11 de Jan de 2021

I learned so many things. Of course I need to work more on the skills I learned here, but thank you so much.

por Salem F A

22 de Set de 2019

very good course for beginners to learn how to make-images and learn about image components and composition.

por Maged E S

3 de Out de 2018

Very Beautiful course that you so much for your efforts! I really appreciate everything! God bless you all.

por Sandeep M

11 de Jun de 2019

So thankful to learn from such renowned and talented teachers. Thanks for the course, thank you Coursera!.

por Juachi O

22 de Set de 2017

Great course to help learn about images in composition and critical looks at planning and creating images.

por Kevin J

26 de Ago de 2017

Loved the course, really enjoyed the Image making and learning about image interpretations and expressions

por Yudi Y S

2 de Jun de 2020

I gained a lot of experience in this course! I make my first book by this course, This course is great!

por Muhammad A Y

31 de Jan de 2018

i really thankful to coursera to give me this opportunity learn about specialization in graphics design

por Egle H

13 de Dez de 2019

Learned a lot and discovered some things about myself that O didn't know. Thank you for this course.

por Eugen M

20 de Ago de 2016

A very good course, not just for those who want to become experts, but also for those who know more.

por Amicia S

20 de Jul de 2021

I loved taking this course taught me a lot of valuable strategies when approaching a design project

por Victoria K

24 de Out de 2020

This was a fun, hands-on course where you're able to explore all aspects of creative image making.

por Mariana M

12 de Jun de 2018

Truly change my vision of design, the meaning of visual communication and composition.Thank you

por Jinn J

23 de Nov de 2020

I really learn alot of things at this course. I wan to send my thank for my teacher, Mrs. Gail

por Ebba J

23 de Nov de 2016

Wonderful course, interesting lessons, great assignments, fun to do, authentic artist teacher.