Chevron Left
Voltar para Business Applications of Hypothesis Testing and Confidence Interval Estimation

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Business Applications of Hypothesis Testing and Confidence Interval Estimation da instituição Universidade Rice

4.8
stars
583 classificações
85 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Confidence intervals and Hypothesis tests are very important tools in the Business Statistics toolbox. A mastery over these topics will help enhance your business decision making and allow you to understand and measure the extent of ‘risk’ or ‘uncertainty’ in various business processes. This is the third course in the specialization "Business Statistics and Analysis" and the course advances your knowledge about Business Statistics by introducing you to Confidence Intervals and Hypothesis Testing. We first conceptually understand these tools and their business application. We then introduce various calculations to constructing confidence intervals and to conduct different kinds of Hypothesis Tests. These are done by easy to understand applications. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to a Windows version of Microsoft Excel 2010 or later. Please note that earlier versions of Microsoft Excel (2007 and earlier) will not be compatible to some Excel functions covered in this course. WEEK 1 Module 1: Confidence Interval - Introduction In this module you will get to conceptually understand what a confidence interval is and how is its constructed. We will introduce the various building blocks for the confidence interval such as the t-distribution, the t-statistic, the z-statistic and their various excel formulas. We will then use these building blocks to construct confidence intervals. Topics covered include: • Introducing the t-distribution, the T.DIST and T.INV excel functions • Conceptual understanding of a Confidence Interval • The z-statistic and the t-statistic • Constructing a Confidence Interval using z-statistic and t-statistic WEEK 2 Module 2: Confidence Interval - Applications This module presents various business applications of the confidence interval including an application where we use the confidence interval to calculate an appropriate sample size. We also introduce with an application, the confidence interval for a population proportion. Towards the close of module we start introducing the concept of Hypothesis Testing. Topics covered include: • Applications of Confidence Interval • Confidence Interval for a Population Proportion • Sample Size Calculation • Hypothesis Testing, An Introduction WEEK 3 Module 3: Hypothesis Testing This module introduces Hypothesis Testing. You get to understand the logic behind hypothesis tests. The four steps for conducting a hypothesis test are introduced and you get to apply them for hypothesis tests for a population mean as well as population proportion. You will understand the difference between single tail hypothesis tests and two tail hypothesis tests and also the Type I and Type II errors associated with hypothesis tests and ways to reduce such errors. Topics covered include: • The Logic of Hypothesis Testing • The Four Steps for conducting a Hypothesis Test • Single Tail and Two Tail Hypothesis Tests • Guidelines, Formulas and an Application of Hypothesis Test • Hypothesis Test for a Population Proportion • Type I and Type II Errors in a Hypothesis WEEK 4 Module 4: Hypothesis Test - Differences in Mean In this module, you'll apply Hypothesis Tests to test the difference between two different data, such hypothesis tests are called difference in means tests. We will introduce the three kinds of difference in means test and apply them to various business applications. We will also introduce the Excel dialog box to conduct such hypothesis tests. Topics covered include: • Introducing the Difference-In-Means Hypothesis Test • Applications of the Difference-In-Means Hypothesis Test • The Equal & Unequal Variance Assumption and the Paired t-test for difference in means. • Some more applications...

Melhores avaliações

KG

Oct 17, 2017

Professor explains well and makes it easy to not only understand, but to remember what you learned in previous lessons even if you are going back after a long period of time between lessons.

ST

Nov 26, 2018

I am from Applied Statistics background, and I used to do these tests by hands. I really have enjoyed doing them on Excel as well. Thanks for this amazing course! :)

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Business Applications of Hypothesis Testing and Confidence Interval Estimation

por Sabarish V

Jan 01, 2019

The content was concise and easy to understand. However, in the hypothesis testing modules, the presenter conflates "being unable to reject a hypothesis" to "accept a hypothesis". This, I think, is a dangerous habit to learn, and undermines what is otherwise a well-prepared course.

por Karen S Z

Jul 21, 2018

I am completing the specialization so this is my 3rd class with this instructor. I am enjoying the classes and feel that each lesson and class builds on the last one. Everything is clearly explained and demonstrated. He provides most of the files he uses so you can try it yourself in Excel. The forum is helpful for the more challenging questions on the final quiz. Overall, I think the class is a good pace and the final quiz is representative of what the class covers. That is, not too hard and not too easy.

por Amit M

Dec 12, 2018

The course is very helpful to learn and understand some really important and useful concepts of statistics. The course not only teach the concept but also we can practice it side by side ourselves also from the course material given by Coursera. Instructor is very good, this is my third course under a specialization by the same instructor and I must say one must take this course if they are going to use these concepts in future. Good Luck.

por Akshay H

May 03, 2017

Anyone who want to understand the topic of confidence interval & Hypothesis Testing this COURSE IS MUST. Topics are explained in simple manner & with hands on exercise in Excel we can grasp topics thoroughly. Thank you so much for Rice University for such a wonderful course on CI & Hypothesis. Special thanks to Prod. Sharad & his team for coming with wonderful.simple yet effective course.

por Amin G

Jul 26, 2018

Great Course! I really admire the way the professor for this course teaches the fundamentals of Hypothesis testing and its use in practice with various useful examples in business applications!

Sharad Borle is one of the best instructors I've ever seen in my life! Highly recommended!

por Ronald P N

Apr 16, 2017

An excellent course. Useful for researchers in other disciplines as well, such as social scientists, clinicians etc. The concepts were presented very clearly, and the exercises allow one to gauge one's understanding of the concepts and how to use Excel for those statistical studies.

por Nchedolisa S A

Dec 29, 2017

Lots of examples gone over step by step with the professor really helped me to hone in how to do EXCEL calculations to answer questions that require difference in means hypothesis testing! Very straightforward and loved the use of real world examples for practice

por Davinder S

Jul 01, 2017

Hypothesis testing is actually the most complex thing to grasp (of course after regression modeling). This course has been taught wonderfully and it will be a great help for managers out there in the field of analytics!

por Kate G

Oct 17, 2017

Professor explains well and makes it easy to not only understand, but to remember what you learned in previous lessons even if you are going back after a long period of time between lessons.

por Carlos J B A

Jun 09, 2019

A rewarding experience because I have been able to learn very valuable information. It is an excellent course. It has helped me in the personal and professional field. Thank you.

por Shady N S T

Nov 26, 2018

I am from Applied Statistics background, and I used to do these tests by hands. I really have enjoyed doing them on Excel as well. Thanks for this amazing course! :)

por DEEPTI C

Jan 12, 2019

Course is very well organized and the concepts are explained in a very simple and effective way.

The weekly exercises provide a good hands on practice.

por Bhavin C

Nov 19, 2019

Great job in simplifying the explanation of paired t-tests. I had studied it before but did not fully understand it till after taking this course.

por ARVIND K S

Mar 15, 2019

Probably the best course on confidence intervals and hypothesis testing. A must for all engineering and management students and managers.

por Siddharth S

Jan 22, 2018

Great course to master inferential statistics. Learnt a lot in this course and will be applying the learnings in the future.

por Oliver W

Jan 28, 2018

An incredibly good course. Having studied business statistics years ago I needed a refresher and this was just the ticket.

por Lalit G

Aug 03, 2019

Amazing course...Learnt lot of beautiful things in Excel and Statistics which was not there anywhere...Good course..

por Ernesto B P

Mar 20, 2019

Very nice and easy to follow course. I have had a great experience learning the Hypothesis Testing secrets in Excel.

por Alex M

Apr 14, 2018

The quizzes for this course are very well-done, quite challenging and certainly very satisfying to get through.

por SAKSHI C

Jul 27, 2017

very well structured curriculum. a must do for anyone looking to understand the basic of hypothesis testing

por Sean E B

Dec 10, 2017

Good lectures that are easy to follow.

As long as you pay attention you should have no problem.

por Rengarajan S

Apr 08, 2019

Very useful.. learnt a whole lot of new statistical tools and techniques. Highly recommended..

por Wellington G S

Sep 14, 2017

In depth course regarding hypothesis testing. Even better than the course I had in my degree.

por Kelly R

Sep 28, 2019

Course was very informative and the concepts were presented in an easy to understand format.

por Hamilton C d R

Oct 18, 2017

Great course! Very practical application of statistics on excel. The professor is excellent.