Chevron Left
Voltar para Public Health in Humanitarian Crises 1

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Public Health in Humanitarian Crises 1 da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.8
estrelas
460 classificações
133 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course, Public Health in Humanitarian Crises 1, introduces discussions about the public health approach to problems experienced by people affected by disasters, both natural and related to conflict. The course discusses the many changes which occur in people’s lives when they are uprooted by a disaster, ranging from changes in disease patterns, access to health care, livelihoods, shelter, sanitary conditions, nutritional status, etceteras. We will explore what humanitarian interventions could look like if we want to mitigate the effects of disasters. The course content is a mix of theoretical knowledge and many practical examples from recent disasters. We think this course is unique because it contains so many practical ‘real-life’ examples and is taught by instructors and guest lecturers who together have over 200 years of experience in this field. The course consists of 10 modules totaling approximately 9-10 hours of delivered content with an additional 2-3 hours of self-work (quizzes and writing and evaluating a short peer-review assignment) as well as lively discussions forums. The course has been designed in a way that each module builds on the lessons of previous modules. However, you may do the modules in any order and some can be done separately. You do not have to pay for this course if you choose to enroll without a certificate. Sometimes referred to as auditing, enrolling without a certificate means that you will have access to all of the videos, quizzes, assignments, and discussions. The only difference is that you will not receive a certificate upon completion. Click the Enroll Without a Certificate link to sign up and begin the course. Even if you enroll in a session that has yet to begin, you may access most of the course materials right away by clicking the Preview Course Materials link. However, you will have to wait for the session to begin before posting your comments on the discussion forum or accessing the final peer-reviewed assessment. Visit the Learner Help Center for details about session schedules. If you want to learn more, there is a second course which follows this one entitled, Public Health in Humanitarian Crises 2. We welcome you to take this. The course has a similar set-up and discusses additional topics, such as infectious disease outbreaks, disease epidemiology, maternal and newborn health, mental health, humanitarian project design, humanitarian principles, and many other topics....

Melhores avaliações

AM
5 de Fev de 2020

It was a totally new domain for me to learn, Very informative and very very well articulated. Even a person like me who knew almost nothing about it, is now interested in working in it. Thanks a lot.

AO
27 de Abr de 2020

I have earned very good and valuable knowledge that refresh and improved my career level one step forward,\n\nthank you very much for every single one how worked hard to produce this great course.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 133 Avaliações para o Public Health in Humanitarian Crises 1

por Elvira E G

20 de Set de 2021

El curso es sumamente interesante, los profesores excelentes, en muy poco tiempo nos mostraron los temas principales con ejemplos y esquemas muy claros, remarcaron siempre al final de cada modulo lo relevante, lo cual es de gran ayuda de comprobación de aprendizaje. Las evaluaciones con planteamientos prácticos muy interesantes y útiles. Las recomendaciones de lecturas, videos y documentos adicionales, excelentes también.

Por otra parte considero importante revisar el tema de las calificaciones entre pares, por ejemplo verificar que se califique con apego a los criterios y ética que Coursera ha establecido en los códigos correspondientes.

por MD A K

17 de Mai de 2021

One of the best courses to learn about humanitarian response and its principles and work methods. I recommend everyone working in the humanitarian sector to do this course and expand his or her knowledge and broaden his or her view on the topic

por Promise M

24 de Set de 2020

This is great course that is grounded on several years of practical experiences amongst the course presenters. I have learnt a lot and hopefully will use some of the skills learnt here to better serve humanity.

por Rebecca J

21 de Dez de 2019

great content! I learned so much. This class has helped me to decide that Global Health is something that I am truly passionate about and want to continue my education in this field. Thank you so much for this!

por Mohamed A H

24 de Set de 2020

this course is very useful it gives me a lot of hints and practical experience in public health in a humanitarian crisis, I say many thanks with John Hopkins staff who delivered and prepared the course.

por Amit K M

6 de Fev de 2020

It was a totally new domain for me to learn, Very informative and very very well articulated. Even a person like me who knew almost nothing about it, is now interested in working in it. Thanks a lot.

por Abdulkarem o

28 de Abr de 2020

I have earned very good and valuable knowledge that refresh and improved my career level one step forward,

thank you very much for every single one how worked hard to produce this great course.

por Yim S T C

2 de Mai de 2020

Absolutely brilliant course, very well thought-out lesson plans and a great deal of effort put into the recorded lectures. It has definitely solidified my interest in global health!

por Luziane D S G

14 de Abr de 2020

I learned patience, discipline, willpower, focus on, determination.

I will continue and trying even more grateful will help me a lot for the opportunity of heart.

thanks

por VIVEK K

5 de Abr de 2019

Thank you for wonderful course on public health aspects in times of humanitarian crisis. It helped me to think outside the box and read more to understand the issues.

por Kyle M

10 de Mar de 2018

I think this is the perfect springboard for entry level humanitarian professionals who considering a career in humanitarian aid, and global and public health

por Hanadi S

8 de Mar de 2021

This was my first full online course ever! I was hesitant to take it as such but realized this was really worth it and I'm now into more similar courses!

por Rodrigo M C d S V

13 de Jul de 2020

Excellent course! Extraordinary content! It just needed to be a little more dynamic the classes, but it doesn't take the brilliants out of the course!

por Deleted A

23 de Ago de 2018

I have enjoyed the course bery much. The methodology is clear, interactive. I have learned a lot of new information, usefull for my job! Super!

por Joanna K

10 de Jan de 2018

Good basic overview of Public Health in Humanitarian Crises- giving a comprehensive overview. I found it a useful and interesting course.

por Neeraj B

1 de Abr de 2018

An excellent introduction to the issues and challenges relating to Public Health in Humanitarian Crises. Taught in a systematic manner.

por Maria d L A P

24 de Fev de 2021

For a complex situation such as humanitarian crises, this course helps you analyze the effectiveness of every response and what to do

por annet g

3 de Jun de 2020

Excellent overview of all public health factors in humanitarian crises, great basis for further study. Teachers were very engaging.

por Sarah T

19 de Nov de 2019

it is a great course to prepare you to be in contact with humanitarian crisis!. I'm definetly taking the second module as well.

por Alaa a

3 de Abr de 2020

great course ! i wished if there was a way to ask questions or if there was some more examples of humanitarian interventions .

por Paula H F

16 de Jun de 2020

Excellent thematic content, excellent teachers. I learned a lot from this course. It is a good starting tool in public health

por Sharon B

21 de Jul de 2021

I was very happy to be able to complete this course and will continue in this specialization with Coursera.

Thank you again

por Hunduma K

12 de Ago de 2019

i am very happy to take this course as it helped me to know more about public health problems in humanitarian crises.

por Mohammed M H H

12 de Jul de 2020

it is really amazing , I got a lot of information and skills . and I am welling to go crises 2

thank you very much .

por Mary D

10 de Jun de 2020

This is a difficult class but it's incredibly informative and provides so much room to understand the topic fully.