Chevron Left
Voltar para Milagres da Linguagem Humana: Introdução à Lingüística

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Milagres da Linguagem Humana: Introdução à Lingüística da instituição Universidade de Leiden

4.7
1,307 classificações
335 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

Melhores avaliações

DC

Sep 24, 2017

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

SS

Mar 22, 2019

I've taken a number of online courses on linguistics now, and this one was by and far the best. The material covered is indepth and engaging, and the professor's enthusiam makes the videos a delight.

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Milagres da Linguagem Humana: Introdução à Lingüística

por Susie

Jan 18, 2017

Excellent course. Was very thorough, entertaining and interesting.

por Niloufar S

Sep 15, 2017

I recommend this MOOC to all fans of linguistics, learning languages, and people who are interested in deeper understanding of what is indeed "a Language"! Special thanks to prof. dr. Oostendorp for his clear and kind way of transferring his vast knowledge.

por Jacqueline A Á V

Nov 16, 2019

Me gusto mucho el curso, me ayuda a seguir revitalizando el idioma Kunza de mi pueblo indígena Lickanantay, agradezco los conocimientos entregados.

por Huang J

Aug 15, 2018

Before I start, I didn't expect the course to be as well structured and helpful as it turns out. It enables the learner to have a clear big picture of language studies landscape. Chapeau and thanks to its creators!

por Darsving O E M

Nov 08, 2016

This course is really great and very enriching, specially when you want to have a general view about Linguistics, and at the same time, you get the tools to make a simple but precise analysis of languages.

por Guthmann L

Oct 22, 2016

Very interested. A great 101

por yan l

Feb 13, 2019

Interesting and engaging. Like the professor a lot, so engaging.

por Cher R

Nov 13, 2016

I enjoyed this challenging course on linguistics. I appreciated that the course materials were available as one file so I could both read the text and watch the videos. The videos contained a quiz inside that kept me engaged. The interviews and Q&A sessions were a valuable way to present new information. I obtained two books from the suggested reading material to further my learning. In the end, I bought the certificate as a way to say thanks to the team for such a great course. Bravo!

por Naomi

Dec 02, 2016

Loved this course! The professor was informative and engaging, and Inge and Martin made the class interesting and fun. I also enjoyed the interviews with other experts in the field.

por Akhilesh S

Aug 09, 2018

This is a wonderful and fun course. A must for anyone interested to know about the study of linguistics.

por bokyeong k

Aug 17, 2017

Week 3 test was quite complicated, so I spent a lot of time, but it was worthy. Thanks for nice videos.

por Chantao P

May 09, 2016

so instructive, so attractive.

I'm very interested in Language and Society, I expect to acquire more knowledge on human language. Thanks!

por Evgeniya V

Dec 15, 2019

Great Course!

por Xiaoyun Y

Mar 13, 2019

It is a great course including details and all aspects of linguistics. It satisfies my curiosity!

por Antonella C

Nov 23, 2018

Very interesting and passionating course even for people who are new to linguistic.

por Jemima O

Oct 24, 2018

Overall, I enjoyed taking this course. It was challenging, but it helped me to develop my skills in reading journal articles and assessing university level material. It had interesting case studies and gave me a good grounding in the field of linguistics. Thanks University of Leiden and Dr. Marc van Oostendorp!

por Kathleen K

May 15, 2016

Material is excellent and very interesting. Test questions can be confusing and poorly phrased.

por Elisabet S

Nov 11, 2016

Sometimes it was hard to understand the concept the professor was trying to make, because some grammatical forms were wrong and therefore the whole concept misleading. Otherwise very interesting course and thank you!

por Zhibiao Z

Apr 07, 2017

It's fantastic to have a brief look into the intriguing Linguistics. There's so much to learn. But some of the readings and test might be too difficult and improper for a beginner.

por Dorothy H

Sep 26, 2016

The interview with Chomsky a real treat.

por Daniele C R

Oct 09, 2016

Very nice work on the various fields of Linguistics, high level interviews, but rather laborious and time consuming quizzes.

por Josef P

Aug 22, 2016

A great course, it contains very broad discussion of the problems of linguistics.

Quite demanding quizes force students to watch videos carefully and to read the required reading. This leads to better understanding of the matter.

The videos in the course are great too, the explanation of prof. Oostendorp is very lively and entertaining. The interviews with specialists are unique.

por Shivanth M P

Sep 16, 2016

Introductory insight into Linguistics. The professor takes you very briefly about the variety of subdivisions in linguistics , which , each by itself being a big subdivision within linguistics. Enlightened with basics of all these different approaches of investigating languages

por Emil M

Aug 08, 2016

The course is a lightweight introduction to Linguistics. If you are absolutely new to linguistics, it will provide you with enough information for further research and self-development. There are some really interesting facts provided by the required reading of the course.

What I mostly liked about the course is the list of additional literature. What I mostly didn't like are quizzes - I little bit too reliant on the question formulation. The only quiz that I really liked was about syntactic analysis of informants' sentences.

por Wang x

Feb 09, 2017

great course!