Chevron Left
Voltar para Milagres da Linguagem Humana: Introdução à Lingüística

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Milagres da Linguagem Humana: Introdução à Lingüística da instituição Universidade de Leiden

4.7
estrelas
1,472 classificações
393 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

Melhores avaliações

DC

Sep 24, 2017

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

SS

Mar 22, 2019

I've taken a number of online courses on linguistics now, and this one was by and far the best. The material covered is indepth and engaging, and the professor's enthusiam makes the videos a delight.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Milagres da Linguagem Humana: Introdução à Lingüística

por Christopher L

Dec 30, 2016

It is very nice to see an introductory course in linguistics, especially for it being free and available online. I would not have had an opportunity like that anywhere here locally, which makes this course special to me. The instructor and his pupils were paramount to the learning experience, and with the addition of interviews and recommended readings, this course excels in tactically defining and showing what linguists do and what they study. I want to thank Leiden University and Marc van Oostendorp for providing such a professionally delivered MOOC.

por Tyson W

Jun 18, 2016

Miracles of Human Language is a wonderful introduction to the field of linguistics. Prof.dr. M. van Oostendorp is an adept and engaging lecturer and his knowledge of his field is vast. His discussions with Marten and Inge were engaging and his interactions with the language informants was, well... informing! I only wish I could contribute a language to his MOOC as well as participate in his research and work at Universiteit Leiden. Thank you, Dr. van Oostendorp, Marten, Inge, Roberta, Khalid, Han, Varun, Enoch, and Beste. It's been quite a ride!

por Emily H

Oct 03, 2016

I found the course very informative, there was quite a lot of information in there for only six weeks of study but it didn't feel overwhelming either. Professor Marc van Oostendorp was very engaging in his presentation of the material, and I liked the fact that his students were there to ask questions as well. I also liked how the language informants were used - I was able to practice what I had learned in the other videos by analysing their speech patterns. Overall, I was quite impressed by this course.

por Yuchen L

Jan 30, 2020

This is my first Coursera course and I love it. The course is student-friendly with classes elaborately designed and informative with lots of source readings. The forum is one of the best parts of the course. I learn how to think questions like a linguist. And from informants of different background, I know there are so many interesting languages existing in our world. As the course name shows that it is an introduction to Linguistics, my interests towards the linguistics is well developed. Thank you.

por Kévin S

Jan 16, 2020

Excellent course ! Professor van Oostendorp is a good pedagogue and the discussions of Marten and Inje put well in perspective the knowledge acquired ! As a future practitioner (English teaching and coaching), this MOOC was an exceptional source of information for me and will definitely help me in explaining better the way languages work and are shaped.

In addition, I would be happy if there were other courses by the University of Leiden to learn more about specific aspects/subjects of linguistics

por Hugo E G L

Apr 14, 2017

Overall, this course was a great experience. As a student of English as a second language, trust me when I say that it helped me a lot with the subject "linguistics" at college. Nonetheless, I must say that this course was tough! I don’t know, maybe, because English is not my mother tongue but at times I certainly felt that I couldn’t keep up with some of the assignments. Nevertheless, if you give your best, you will make it. Also, if you are looking for a challenge…. well, this is your course.

por Cher R

Nov 13, 2016

I enjoyed this challenging course on linguistics. I appreciated that the course materials were available as one file so I could both read the text and watch the videos. The videos contained a quiz inside that kept me engaged. The interviews and Q&A sessions were a valuable way to present new information. I obtained two books from the suggested reading material to further my learning. In the end, I bought the certificate as a way to say thanks to the team for such a great course. Bravo!

por Andrew C

Mar 09, 2017

A very enjoyable, engaging course which touches on the fundamentals of Linguistics. I found the professor, as well as the assistants delightful, and the language informants were also very exciting to have. It was challenging at a few points despite my background and interest in Linguistics, however, it was well worth the effort.

I sincerely hope I can take more courses from Leiden, or perhaps study there one day. This course reaffirmed my interest in Leiden from 10 years ago.

por jamie b

Sep 10, 2018

This is course for those who love language and also for those who want to explore the miracle of language . Pro. Ostendrop and his team breaks down the syllabus into a bit size and in very friendly manner . Its like we're sitting in a live class room. In the middle of the module there are interviews from experts such as Noam Chomsky, we all know he's a mammoth figure in linguistic realm. Thanks Coursera and thanks all the teams who are involved in creating this course.

por Spyros V

Feb 20, 2019

I learned a lot of things, but most importantly I have a conceptual understanding of the different components that create the structure of language. The student will listen to a lot of different languages, will be introduced to various branches of linguistics and will create a solid base on which they can further study the interesting topic of human language. The educator was great and the students (Martin and Inge) are relatable, polite and smiling. Great course.

por Neddar

Aug 28, 2019

Great course! Enjoyed it no end! Clearly so much love was put into the making of this program! It is both interesting and full of new information. Shows different sides of profession, so that people like me, new to the theme, could see what linguists actually do. Especially loved readings, as the articles given weren't overly tough, but presented a ton of information on different themes. Can't even start describing how sad I am that the course it at an end!

por Evan S

Mar 11, 2019

This was an exciting course that uses real people to demonstrate linguistic concepts. It was a great idea to have speakers of less internationally familiar languages such as Gungbe and Berber to demonstrate how it is possible to understand the basics of a language's structure (despite having no prior knowledge of that particular language).The video discussions and interviews were a nice way to break up lectures and provide real-life context to the course.

por Ame A

Aug 27, 2019

Thank you so much!!!! I loved it >w<

I had been waiting for this because I enjoy learning about linguistics but I don't knew where to start, definitely this course was a miracle.

All the resources had a high quality and were a great advantage to understand the subject, it was very funny to analyze different languages ​​(especially in the last section), I learned a lot of things about culture, as well.

Hoping all is well, congratulations for this course. <3

por Maria E R G

Jun 17, 2018

The course is well structured, the tutorials through videos are excellent, sometimes it is necessary to search for more information, as it is the case of the lab video (the cochran implants). It is a pity that additional readings are not available through kindle or ibooks as their cost is better than the traditional books. I am going to pay for the certificate, I do not need it, but really the work put into the course rates more than 10.

por Amen Q

Mar 07, 2020

The course syllabus is very balanced and strategically organized in an informative and useful way, both for those who would like to either acquire or refresh their linguistics background. The quizzes and final exam are challenging and fulfilling as they go beyond the theoretical analysis of testing learning. I will definitely recommend this course to interested friends. Congratulations to Leiden University and Prof. Oostendorp!

por Stefano R

Apr 11, 2020

A course with many interesting aspects: numerous discussions on various topics with the other students; many interviews, also with intellectuals of the caliber of Noam Chomsky; Prof van Oostendorp and his students Inge and Marten are always stimulating and friendly; lots of suggested optional readings. After this course I feel like I'm knowing more on this subject and I'm having the desire to deepen even more my knowledge.

por Brendan T

Oct 01, 2019

Great course with lots of interesting content for anyone interested in linguistics. My only complaint is that some of the questions (especially the ones in the videos) are a bit poorly worded and can be confusing. Overall though, well worth the time spent, and a big thanks to Dr. Oostendorp, Marten, Inge, the language informants and everyone at Universiteit Leiden & Meertens instituut that made this possible.

por Isabel F

Nov 21, 2017

This was my first course on Coursera and I really enjoyed it very much. I had studies linguistics in the past and wanted to revisit the subject. In my opinion this course is a great introduction to the many varied fields linguistics has to offer. The numerous discussion prompts and quizzes made me think a bit, which I enjoyed. I would definitely recommend the course as a refresher or introductory overview.

por Ameer A

Sep 29, 2018

This course is really useful and it helped me increase my information about linguistics!

i would really thank the professor Marc Van Oostendrop for his kindness and for his simple style to facilitate the materials of this course. I wish I get other free courses as this great one!

Best regards to all who participated in this course!

See you in new other courses from Coursera!

Ameer Alziyara

por Dena

Jun 18, 2019

Loved it. The course helped me understand what the science of languages is about a bit deeper. Which helped me a lot to gain more knowledge at my University. Thank you for the most interesting representation of such a difficult material. (I loved the moment when at a seminar one of your students, who was to ask you a question, fell out of reality a bit. It made me laugh and smile!)

por 周少英

Sep 26, 2017

It is an interesting and educative course. Every week we are delving into the different elements of language, such as sounds, words and so on. I really like the way the course organised, including interviews, videoes of different languages, etc. I am so excited to see Chomsky in the interview, which is quite instructive . Overall, it is good course and it is worthy of studying.

por PRAVESH S

Dec 04, 2018

This course is the best course if you are even remotely interested in Linguistics. It starts with very basic concepts and actually reaches quite deep. The resources, interviews, explanations have been well thought out and designed with the beginner in mind. In fact, it is probably the best course I have done on Coursera across any subject. Thanks Prof. Marc, Martin & Inge !

por Elena B

Nov 29, 2018

This course provides a great overview of the different Linguistic's sub-disciplines. I started this class with zero knowledge about Linguistic and I found the classes very engaging. They motivated me to get more information about the topics under discussion. Professor Marc van Oostendorp is an excellent presenter and was able to make the videos interesting. Great Job!!

por Andrés M

Jan 26, 2017

Excelente para refrescar la memoria respecto a aspectos básicos de la lingüística o para introducirse en este mundo según sea el caso.Un aspecto a resaltar es la diversidad de lenguas con las que se trabajan en este curso, ya que en muchas cátedras de lingüística solo se enfocan en la lengua madre o en comparaciones de esta con una segunda lengua o lengua extranjera.

por Li Y

Jun 26, 2017

Good course. Knew tuns of great things about languages and the course really opened my mind, taught me new ways to see the world. I also learnt many ways of learning through that course. To notice the reasons behind issues. To reach the truth through different methods. Etc. Thank you very much for having this course! The professor and guests were so nice!