Chevron Left
Voltar para The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World da instituição Universidade de Tel Aviv

4.8
estrelas
1,257 classificações
305 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The Holocaust was an inconceivable historical event, which forever robbed Western culture of its innocence. As civilized human beings, we fail to understand how events of such horror could have taken place, and how an idea so inhumanly warped could have spread like wildfire through an entire continent, instigating the systematic annihilation of millions of Jews. This free online course was produced jointly by Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem – the World Holocaust Remembrance Center. The course tracks the history of the Holocaust and has two parts. "The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World" is the first of the two courses and covers the following themes in its three weeks: Week 1: From Hatred to Core Ideology We will try to delve into Nazi ideology and the special place of Jews and Judaism in it. We will also discuss how the National Socialist Party converted the German Democracy of the Weimar Republic into a totalitarian regime within a short period of time, and its meaning for Jews and non-Jewish citizens. Week 2: The World and the Jews in World War II We will try to examine the broader contexts of the Holocaust and to place it, as part of World War 2. In this meeting we will also refer to the vital Jewish world to be found under various Nazi occupations and influences. Week 3: The Isolation Abyss - the Perspective of the Individual We will try to reveal different aspects of Jewish life in the face of the badge of shame, ghettos and segregation, as well as the formation of individual, societies’ and leader’s reactions in the face of a consistent policy of dispossession and discrimination. Once you’ve completed this course, you can continue your learning with The Holocaust - An Introduction (II): The Final Solution (https://www.coursera.org/learn/holocaust-introduction-2/home/welcome) This online course is offered in an innovative, multi-level format, comprising: * Comprehensive lectures by leading researchers from Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem. * A wealth of voices and viewpoints presented by guest lecturers. * Numerous documents, photos, testimonies and works of art from the time of the Holocaust. * Novel learning experience: Crowd sourcing – involving the learners themselves in the act of collecting and shaping information, via unique, exciting online assignments. REQUIREMENTS: This course is designed for anyone with an interest in the Holocaust, including students, teachers, academics and policy-makers....

Melhores avaliações

D

27 de mar de 2016

A fascinating personal account of the atrocity while the world watched! This class is for everyone there is so much more to learn, thank you for everything you went out of you way to help, God Bless

DA

21 de jul de 2019

It is an eye-opening and humbling course. I appreciate how the content was presented through an engaging narrative. It led me to think more deeply about the Holocaust and humanity, for that matter.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de 304 Avaliações para o The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World

por Elena K

11 de mar de 2017

One of the best courses! Brief and detailed at the same time, logical and comprehensive, supported with facts, photos, books and videos.

por Roy S I

17 de jul de 2016

An in-depth survey of the beginnings of the Holocaust, pre-war Jewry, and the sociopolitical atmosphere of the war. Highly recommended.

por Karina C

9 de jun de 2020

Outstanding analysis and something with such complexity can be understood thanks to the great investigation teachers work on. Thank you

por V

22 de out de 2017

Truly a brilliant course. I recommend this course to anyone who is looking forward to study some topics related to the Jews and Israel.

por Shirel S

18 de nov de 2017

Wonderful and interesting course, It helped me understand a lot of things about the Holocaust and expended my knowledge significantly.

por Penny M R

22 de fev de 2021

A fantastic series! I highly recommend this course to anyone with an interest in the Holocaust looking to deepen their understanding.

por Myra M

25 de mar de 2016

This is an interesting course that gives so much information about not only the Holocaust itself but what led up to it. Fascinating!

por Fion S

8 de set de 2016

The lecturers are fantastic in explaining the details and information. Really loved it right from the start of the video lectures.

por Agnieszka M

2 de abr de 2020

Excellent course giving huge amount of knowledge and understanding of the Shoah history. I will definitely continue with part II.

por Thomas E

22 de fev de 2016

An excellent course to gain a broad and deep understanding of the first phases of the Holocaust. Great presentation and delivery.

por ANASTASIA K

18 de jan de 2021

Very interesting approach for an introductory course.

It promotes historical knowledge and critical thinking.

Highly recommended!

por Michel V

28 de jun de 2019

Deseo un mayor conocimiento respecto a este tema y este curso me viene súper, lo mejor es que están en ESPAÑOL.

Muchas gracias.

por Francesca W

8 de ago de 2020

This course has been fantastic. Very well explained and the speakers did a great job transmitting knowledge. Congratulations.

por Alessandro R C

12 de mar de 2018

I thank the teacher for her clear explanations and indication of deep material on the subject. This is an excellent course !.

por Ricardo P M A

26 de set de 2017

Excelente curso. Las referencias, los datos, los testimonios, extraordinaria profesora. Un curso totalmente profesional.

por Emily F

3 de set de 2021

​Very interesting course about something sometimes which derserves more attention than it often gets in history lessons.

por Alagammai

31 de ago de 2020

Thanks a lot i did learn a lot from this course and came to know there is so much more about the holocaust than we think

por PERSEFONI K

19 de jan de 2021

very interesting course, very good the instrustor, so many things to learn, i am really thankful for taking this course

por Leo C

11 de mai de 2019

WOW! Content is upsetting but delivered in an engaging and challenging way! Changes the way you think and see things.

por Deleted A

27 de dez de 2016

I'm really enjoying this course. It's teaching so much more information than I already owned about Nazism and WWII.

por Patrick v D

20 de nov de 2020

Excellent course!!!

Thanks for all that helped to make it possible. I have learnt so much that I never knew.

por Sharath R C

21 de jul de 2017

Must for everyone who wishes to understand the destructive capabilities of human mind and the bad old days.

por Sharon D

10 de set de 2016

This course was well presented. The additional information provided is helpful in pursuing further studies.

por Gabi D

29 de ago de 2020

This course not only changed my view of the Holocaust, but also the way in which I will further study it!

por Anthony R

19 de ago de 2020

An excellent overview to the Holocaust that leaves learners looking to the next class for more knowledge.