Chevron Left
Voltar para The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World da instituição Universidade de Tel Aviv

4.8
estrelas
1,234 classificações
300 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The Holocaust was an inconceivable historical event, which forever robbed Western culture of its innocence. As civilized human beings, we fail to understand how events of such horror could have taken place, and how an idea so inhumanly warped could have spread like wildfire through an entire continent, instigating the systematic annihilation of millions of Jews. This free online course was produced jointly by Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem – the World Holocaust Remembrance Center. The course tracks the history of the Holocaust and has two parts. "The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World" is the first of the two courses and covers the following themes in its three weeks: Week 1: From Hatred to Core Ideology We will try to delve into Nazi ideology and the special place of Jews and Judaism in it. We will also discuss how the National Socialist Party converted the German Democracy of the Weimar Republic into a totalitarian regime within a short period of time, and its meaning for Jews and non-Jewish citizens. Week 2: The World and the Jews in World War II We will try to examine the broader contexts of the Holocaust and to place it, as part of World War 2. In this meeting we will also refer to the vital Jewish world to be found under various Nazi occupations and influences. Week 3: The Isolation Abyss - the Perspective of the Individual We will try to reveal different aspects of Jewish life in the face of the badge of shame, ghettos and segregation, as well as the formation of individual, societies’ and leader’s reactions in the face of a consistent policy of dispossession and discrimination. Once you’ve completed this course, you can continue your learning with The Holocaust - An Introduction (II): The Final Solution (https://www.coursera.org/learn/holocaust-introduction-2/home/welcome) This online course is offered in an innovative, multi-level format, comprising: * Comprehensive lectures by leading researchers from Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem. * A wealth of voices and viewpoints presented by guest lecturers. * Numerous documents, photos, testimonies and works of art from the time of the Holocaust. * Novel learning experience: Crowd sourcing – involving the learners themselves in the act of collecting and shaping information, via unique, exciting online assignments. REQUIREMENTS: This course is designed for anyone with an interest in the Holocaust, including students, teachers, academics and policy-makers....

Melhores avaliações

D
27 de Mar de 2016

A fascinating personal account of the atrocity while the world watched! This class is for everyone there is so much more to learn, thank you for everything you went out of you way to help, God Bless

DA
21 de Jul de 2019

It is an eye-opening and humbling course. I appreciate how the content was presented through an engaging narrative. It led me to think more deeply about the Holocaust and humanity, for that matter.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 299 Avaliações para o The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World

por Gerald M

14 de Abr de 2021

The course was very informative and interesting. I am disappointed that I am now locked out of the course and cannot go back and finish reading Nazi Germany and the Jews.

por Krista M

11 de Dez de 2016

Even if you know a lot about this period of history, this course is useful. The thoughtful and thorough context, the quality of the material and teaching, were excellent.

por Christopher D M

11 de Jul de 2020

This course was well taught and extremely informative. I Highly recommend it and insist that it is necessary education considering our current global political arena.

por Shannon O

4 de Jan de 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! Having no previous formal education about WW2 or the Holocaust I found all the topics interesting and a great introduction to the

por Angela T

28 de Jul de 2017

A really interesting course. The presentation and visuals are particularly good and it is very professionally put together. I am now looking forward to part II.

por Tomás F N

7 de Abr de 2021

Excellent! I recommend this course to all those who want more knowledge and insight into the Nazification process and the Final Solution. Absolutely brilliant.

por joe c

14 de Ago de 2016

The information was excellent, as the instructors made me feel like I was part of history. Thank you kindly,

Prof.Joseph Camiolo

TCNJ

Sociology and Anthropology

por Tiahna P

1 de Mai de 2020

Amazing course! The instructor was brilliant and really explained things in a scholarly way. Sometimes it got monotone, but I really encourage you to enroll.

por Vanessa B C

21 de Abr de 2020

The course is very well structured and the course material is historically precise, a wonderful approach and perspective to a serious study of the Holocaust.

por Anastasia X

13 de Jan de 2017

A great introduction of the prevalent conditions in Europe and Jewish life in relation to the rise of Nazism. Looking forward to Part II with trepidation.

por Lucy I D L R T

24 de Mar de 2017

El recordar, el hacer memoria y la necesidad de que los países no vean hacia otro lado. La humanidad en una sola, el dividirnos, siempre nos hará daño.

por Pooja D

21 de Jul de 2020

I really like the course. All the presentations were really informative and interesting. And I really liked the way the Instructors gave their lectors.

por Ananya C

6 de Jun de 2020

This course was very helpful and provided me a wider range of perspectives. It also taught me to look at a certain topic from different points of view.

por Ingrid W

7 de Mar de 2021

Excellent lectures. I enjoy the reading that is assigned, and the book recommendations. I've read many books on Nazi Germany and still learned a lot.

por Khushboo V

28 de Jul de 2020

Its an eye opening source of information and extremely well advanced knowledge gaining course. Every information is explicitly given and explained.

por PROF. D P P

7 de Jun de 2021

For me, it was the best course I've ever attended in my life. I want to learn a lot more and maybe get to know Yad Vashem in person in Israel.

por Brian O

7 de Set de 2020

For a short course is a great introduction to understand what can happen when democracy is overturned. Serious lessons from this for our time.

por MRMC

13 de Fev de 2016

Excellent historical accounts of the excesses of the hitler regime that hopefully will serve as silent witnesses of history may not reitself.

por Elizabeth

30 de Set de 2021

Very good! This course was very interesting for me, incredible how human beings can do similar atrocities to protect their egoism and power.

por Pascal S

20 de Abr de 2019

An excellent introduction to the with lots of new information for those of you who have already studied the history of the Holocaust before.

por Bryan F

3 de Ago de 2020

I think this is the best online course offered by anyone anywhere. ~ on any subject. I would rate this course 10 stars or more if I could.

por Megan H

10 de Jun de 2020

This course was a great introduction to the Holocaust. The workload was not overly demanding and the videos were engaging and informative.

por Elena K

11 de Mar de 2017

One of the best courses! Brief and detailed at the same time, logical and comprehensive, supported with facts, photos, books and videos.

por Roy S I

17 de Jul de 2016

An in-depth survey of the beginnings of the Holocaust, pre-war Jewry, and the sociopolitical atmosphere of the war. Highly recommended.

por Karina C

9 de Jun de 2020

Outstanding analysis and something with such complexity can be understood thanks to the great investigation teachers work on. Thank you