Chevron Left
Voltar para A História do Rock, Parte 2

Comentários e feedback de alunos de A História do Rock, Parte 2 da instituição Universidade de Rochester

4.8
estrelas
321 classificações
77 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course, part 2 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the early 1970s to the early 1990s. This course covers the music of Led Zeppelin, the Allman Brothers, Carole King, Bob Marley, the Sex Pistols, Donna Summer, Michael Jackson, Madonna, Prince, Metallica, Run-DMC, and Nirvana, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Emerging out of the experimental and ambitious years of late-60s psychedelia, rock splintered into a variety of styles in the 1970s as the music business continued to expand. By the end of the decade, punk and disco had challenged the excesses of the hippie aesthetic, as rock became more commercially streamlined and radio friendly. The emergence and rise of MTV transformed pop music and propelled the careers of Michael jackson and Madonna, while heavy metal and hip hop dominated the late 1980s. Nirvana leads alt-rock's return to simplicity in the early 1990s....

Melhores avaliações

MM

Sep 24, 2017

Excelent. Actually now is more fun to read about musicans (recently Iggy Pop & Black Sabbath) because context is better understood. (A bit weird that Tom Waits is not even mentioned)

NB

Nov 01, 2015

John Covach's lectures are clear and well-thought out, and he does a good job of fielding the "fan mentality" that so often plagues other rock history and music history courses.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 76 Avaliações para o A História do Rock, Parte 2

por fei y

Nov 27, 2016

对于学习整个摇滚史真的很有帮助

por JUAN E G A

Jun 22, 2017

Wonderful!!

por Juan C V L

Jun 09, 2016

Maravilloso

por Sebastian R B

Jun 09, 2020

Wonderful.

por Rachel C

Dec 30, 2016

Loved it!!

por Christine G

Aug 18, 2015

Excellent!

por Jesus A B S

May 30, 2017

Loved it!

por Kamil T

Nov 13, 2015

Very Good

por George B

Jun 15, 2017

Amazing!

por Daniel B P

Jul 06, 2017

Super!

por 현석 김

Jan 11, 2018

good

por fatih o

Jan 06, 2016

f

por H L C

Nov 27, 2016

I enjoyed Part Two, but not nearly as much as Part One. This change is not due to the professor or the course material; both are excellent. It is the music itself. I simply do not enjoy most of disco and pop artists like Madonna, Janet Jackson, Brittney etc. I hope I do not sound snobbish (or sound like my parents), but mentioning the Beatles and former mousketeers in the same sentence or course is laughable.

por Kristina M

Jun 20, 2020

I thought the course was fascinating and the professor kept the material interesting. Since for copyright reasons he couldn't play the music for the class, I just had spotify open and would pause the video occasionally to play the songs. My one complaint was that a lot of the test questions involve being able to remember which artist did which album; I found that really difficult.

por Ashish G

May 21, 2017

excellent summary of the the period from the late 60s to the 90s. A course like this can never be comprehensive but there has been a lot of thoughtfulness in the sampling process as well as in drawing some threads for the student to mull over and make up his/her own mind.

por Juanjo R C

Jun 30, 2018

El curso está muy bien, lástima sea todo en inglés. Lo que hago es abrir una nueva ventana con los subtitulos y traducidos automáticamente al español, de esta manera el ordenador me queda en 2 ventanas, el video y los subtitulos .

por Brian A

May 31, 2020

Very interesting as i t covered different genres and time periods well. Learned a lot about the types of music and found myself interested in listening to artists outside of my personal interests.

por Angelina W

Feb 22, 2016

Similar to Part One, but continues with the history of rock into more recent times (1990s). Very short course compared to the other one. Pros and cons from Part One apply to Part Two.

por Jeanine D

Sep 08, 2017

Fun topic although having only a person talking can make the course tedious at times. Would be good if there was a Spotify playlist for the course.

por Benjamin

Feb 18, 2020

Good course but too much focus on US and UK and too much on racial and gender issues - focus on the music

por Baczo Z

Oct 09, 2018

Focused too much on non-rock styles, such as disco, rap, etc., but en large, pretty nice course.

por Virginia C

Jul 23, 2017

Interesting survey of rock music. Lectures are well organized and flow smoothly.

por Thomas T

Oct 18, 2016

Very Good

por Luc L

Nov 02, 2016

I

por Marcelo F

Jul 09, 2020

It is a good course. However it is not better than its antecessor Part One. In many ways it is very US centric, without very good analysis of the British counterparts. Some lessons are very superficial, not going in deep.