Chevron Left
Voltar para A História do Rock, Parte 2

Comentários e feedback de alunos de A História do Rock, Parte 2 da instituição Universidade de Rochester

4.8
269 classificações
58 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course, part 2 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the early 1970s to the early 1990s. This course covers the music of Led Zeppelin, the Allman Brothers, Carole King, Bob Marley, the Sex Pistols, Donna Summer, Michael Jackson, Madonna, Prince, Metallica, Run-DMC, and Nirvana, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Emerging out of the experimental and ambitious years of late-60s psychedelia, rock splintered into a variety of styles in the 1970s as the music business continued to expand. By the end of the decade, punk and disco had challenged the excesses of the hippie aesthetic, as rock became more commercially streamlined and radio friendly. The emergence and rise of MTV transformed pop music and propelled the careers of Michael jackson and Madonna, while heavy metal and hip hop dominated the late 1980s. Nirvana leads alt-rock's return to simplicity in the early 1990s....

Melhores avaliações

MM

Sep 24, 2017

Excelent. Actually now is more fun to read about musicans (recently Iggy Pop & Black Sabbath) because context is better understood. (A bit weird that Tom Waits is not even mentioned)

NB

Nov 01, 2015

John Covach's lectures are clear and well-thought out, and he does a good job of fielding the "fan mentality" that so often plagues other rock history and music history courses.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o A História do Rock, Parte 2

por Christine G

Aug 18, 2015

Excellent!

por Dorota K

Apr 15, 2017

Fantastic course! Too bad there's no part 3...

por Joy S

Mar 10, 2016

Love this instructor. Want more. Wish he could play music clips.

por Kseniia I

May 05, 2017

So much facts, interesting lessons, smart and intelligent professor!

por Holly H

Mar 13, 2017

Great Professor, interesting enhancement to my knowledge!

por Juan C V L

Jun 09, 2016

Maravilloso

por Rachel C

Dec 30, 2016

Loved it!!

por fei y

Nov 27, 2016

对于学习整个摇滚史真的很有帮助

por George B

Jun 15, 2017

Amazing!

por Randall L

Oct 07, 2015

Very interesting information. I lived through a lot of this material so it was doubly interesting. Very thorough, unbiased and informative.

por fatih o

Jan 06, 2016

f

por Gregg H

Jun 24, 2016

A great course especially if you follow along with the book and use the extra videos and music links from the book's website.

por Christos N

Oct 09, 2017

HELLO TO EVERYONE.

AS A ROCKER AND A RADIO PRODUCER, THIS COURSE WAS EXCATLY WHAT I NEEDED.

THANKS A LOT TO THE PROFESOR .

por Jesus A B S

May 30, 2017

Loved it!

por JUAN E G A

Jun 22, 2017

Wonderful!!

por Ammar M H

Dec 20, 2015

Amazing course, very academic and objective and yet extremely enjoyable. I'm very grateful for coursera an Prof Covach who made it available and easily accessible.

por 경 김

Nov 22, 2016

really really nice

por Phyllis S

Aug 16, 2016

Instructor's presentation keeps the participant's attention. Connections are made to history, musicians and the trajectory of music. Just wishing all this could have been seamlessly integrated with soundbites and/or music videos. There's gotta be a way around rights, residuals and academics. Still, both courses taken together were engaging and information packed.

por Ronald M

Apr 25, 2017

This is an awesome course and is a great extension from History of Rock, Part One. Professor Covach covers LOTS of ground in this course, so I took extensive notes. Highly recommended course for anyone who loves music of any genre!

por Eric F

Jul 30, 2017

Hello, I am very enjoy about this course. It is a very good overview of rock history and trigger to study some topics deeper. Just a remark, some sessions have not english subttiltes, it is very helpful ;-)

Thanks again.

Regards.

por Virginia S

Jul 02, 2019

I have taken many courses by this professor and enjoyed them all. I have also purchased (secondhand) the books and textbooks recommended and keep them as treasured items. I would consider retaking these courses to enjoy the information; feeling that I was far more informed a second time than the first time I took them. I was always the sort of person who didn't know who played what music, now when a song comes on, I'm always the one who says, 'this is by --', and I know the history of the songs too. It means a lot to me, especially with the older rock which has always been my favourite. I was never allowed to listen to music when I was younger and having this music culture in my life has been life changing for me. Thank you so much to the professor and to coursera for providing this opportunity. I will always be looking for courses provided by this particular teacher as his personability and understanding of the music is not to be missed! Thank you!

por Kevin S

Oct 03, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed History of Rock, Part Two. I learned more than I did in Part One, but I found both courses to be interesting and valuable as a student of rock history. Professor Covach does a super job of focusing on trends and avoiding rock trivia. While I occasionally found myself gasping out "But what about . . ." Dr Covach did a great job of helping students see the bigger picture. I highly recommend this class to those who have an interest in understanding the various pieces of rock and roll and how they fit together.

por Baczo Z

Oct 09, 2018

Focused too much on non-rock styles, such as disco, rap, etc., but en large, pretty nice course.

por H L C

Nov 27, 2016

I enjoyed Part Two, but not nearly as much as Part One. This change is not due to the professor or the course material; both are excellent. It is the music itself. I simply do not enjoy most of disco and pop artists like Madonna, Janet Jackson, Brittney etc. I hope I do not sound snobbish (or sound like my parents), but mentioning the Beatles and former mousketeers in the same sentence or course is laughable.

por Ashish G

May 21, 2017

excellent summary of the the period from the late 60s to the 90s. A course like this can never be comprehensive but there has been a lot of thoughtfulness in the sampling process as well as in drawing some threads for the student to mull over and make up his/her own mind.