Chevron Left
Voltar para The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state da instituição Universidade de Tel Aviv

4.8
estrelas
263 classificações
68 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course deals with the Israeli politics, economy, society and culture, since its creation in 1948 till today. It analyzes the construction of the Israeli historical narrative as an identity-building narrative, intending to inculcate a collective memory to a diverse society. We will focus on key events and essential components that shaped the Israeli society from the fifties till the present. We will also discuss the changes that the Israeli society experiences in its almost seventy years of existence and how it affects its politics and culture. Among the topics we will discuss issues such as immigration, economic transformation, political upheaval, religious Zionism and post-Zionism, privatization and Americanization, Holocaust increasing role in shaping Israel's identity, diversity and multiculturalism, as well as the enduring conflict with the Palestinians and the Arab world. This course is a direct extension of the first part "The History of Modern Israel: From an Idea to a State", so if you have not yet taken it, we highly recommend you start your learning from there (https://www.coursera.org/learn/history-israel/). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool * This course is a joint effort of Tel Aviv University & Israel Institute (www.israelinstitute.org) * This course uses media material from various archives, courtesy to Yad Vashem Archive for their help. * This course is self-paced. Once you register, you can participate in the course anytime, as often as you wish and over any stretch of time...

Melhores avaliações

AJ
29 de Out de 2020

Even though I lived through much of the major events of this course it was well thought out and presented. I learned so much more than I expected. I'm satisfied with this course and it's instructors.

RM
22 de Jul de 2020

I thanks my teacher professor Eyal Naveh for teaching me the history in such a easy way , it was fun and benifitting learning about the state of ISRAEL, lots of love from INDIA !!

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 67 Avaliações para o The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state

por Maria I F

15 de Out de 2020

I was very happy taking the courses about The Fall and Rise of Jerusalem and The History of Modern Israel part I and part II. The professors and their guests were all of them just great.Now I have a better and wieder view of Israel and its sourrandings and problems.

I just hope I can visit your beautiful and interested country, as I have planned, next year.

Best regards and once again thamk you very much

Maria Isabel Fajardo

por Annie J

30 de Out de 2020

Even though I lived through much of the major events of this course it was well thought out and presented. I learned so much more than I expected. I'm satisfied with this course and it's instructors.

por Raffaele P

27 de Nov de 2020

Thanks to this course I know much better what Israel is, their history, their politics, their social and economic problems. An interesting course, with well-developed and complete topics.

por RUTVIK P M

23 de Jul de 2020

I thanks my teacher professor Eyal Naveh for teaching me the history in such a easy way , it was fun and benifitting learning about the state of ISRAEL, lots of love from INDIA !!

por Chris N

22 de Out de 2020

Very informative and the discussions give great insights to different aspects of the challenges of a modern jewish state.

por Rico B

7 de Set de 2020

Super interesting course! Loved taking it and I gained lots of new knowledge and perspectives! Thank you so much!!

por Lanshu T

1 de Set de 2020

It provides detailed and valuable insights to know Israel and the conflicts in the Middle East.

por Tom B

11 de Nov de 2018

Outstanding presentation of the State of Israel's struggle for independence!

por keren K

5 de Dez de 2017

Interesting and summerise differet points of view and not taking any side.

por Romeo T

10 de Jul de 2017

Factual Based. Without the bias usually found in course of this subject

por Sven S

15 de Nov de 2017

Very interesting course, I learned a lot and the teachers are great

por Bartlomiej R

14 de Out de 2016

I wholeheartedly recommend this course. It was very interesting!

por Bryant C E

9 de Mai de 2017

Very important course for those who want to learn about Israel

por Denise G I

13 de Mar de 2019

Excelente curso a respeito da cultura e conflitos israelenses

por Paul M

2 de Jul de 2017

I really enjoyed this course do keep up the good work.

תודה!

por Ekaterina B

25 de Out de 2020

Good course, learned a lot about nowadays Israel

por Miguel A J M

23 de Nov de 2019

Una visión muy objetiva del Israel moderno.

por Marcus B

10 de Jul de 2020

I love this course and the instructors!

por Esmeralda A

9 de Abr de 2020

really enjoyed course, thank you!

por henry h

16 de Ago de 2020

very informative well presented

por Elena K

3 de Abr de 2017

Thank you for the course!

por Mahmoud E

3 de Out de 2018

very good .thank you

por Simon E C

20 de Mai de 2020

Superb course

por Koh, Y H

7 de Mai de 2018

Great course.

por Richard H

8 de Fev de 2017

Thank you.