Chevron Left
Voltar para Health Across the Gender Spectrum

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Health Across the Gender Spectrum da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.8
estrelas
1,131 classificações
390 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers an intimate, story-based introduction to the experiences of six transgender children and their families. Through illustrated stories and short teaching videos, learners will gain a better understanding of gender identity and the gender spectrum. Stanford physicians, K-12 educators, and transgender faculty members offer practical tips for parents, teachers, healthcare providers and anyone who wants to help create a more gender-expansive environment - one in which all people can live authentically. As a global community of unique individuals, we can begin to build a world that is ready to nurture and love each and every child. Due to the sensitive nature of the story-based course content, we have chosen not to offer course certificates for this course. Simply put, we feel that the thoughts, ideas and sentiments of these remarkable children and their families... are priceless. We are confident that, like us, you will end up learning more from them than you could ever imagine. Together, we can lay a stronger foundation for all children. Join us as we explore health, across the gender spectrum. Additional note: When submitting answers to quizzes, you may be asked to enter your "full legal name". This feature is primarily for verification purposes for courses that offer a certificate on Coursera, so it does not really apply to this course. We recognize that, for some individuals the name they use does not match the one on their legal documents. Please feel free to enter the name you normally use in these boxes....

Melhores avaliações

PB

May 11, 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My stepson (born a female) is transgender. This course has helped me understand things more and gave me a lot of pointers on how to do things. Thank you so much!

CM

May 18, 2020

I love how concise and easy to understand the videos were. They all get straight to the point and it was really a mind-blowing experience to learn about the differences and what we can do to support.

Filtrar por:

326 — 350 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Health Across the Gender Spectrum

por Athina M

Apr 30, 2020

Muchas gracias!

por SIVA V

May 18, 2020

Great learning

por Andrej M

Aug 11, 2017

Amazing course

por Valeriia T

Aug 10, 2017

I'm loving it!

por 胡昕萌

Mar 04, 2018

Great Course!

por Noelia

Sep 28, 2017

Great course.

por Ehsanullah I

Jul 06, 2017

It was great!

por Jose M G S

Sep 23, 2018

Excellent!!!

por Carmen G

Sep 25, 2017

great course

por Manvendra S

Apr 12, 2017

very helpful

por Anna K

Nov 16, 2017

very useful

por Francka K

May 19, 2017

Interesting

por Maria d c g

May 05, 2020

Me encantó

por Amanda F

May 08, 2017

Thank you!

por Karla M H F

Oct 07, 2019

Excelente

por Ayelen s

Jan 26, 2019

EXCELENTE

por Jazmín M

Jan 13, 2019

Muy bueno

por Isabel M G M

Apr 25, 2018

Inspiring

por Karla P Q

Oct 25, 2018

Love it!

por Vivian M

Apr 21, 2020

Exce

por Ernesto O M R

Jan 06, 2019

Cool

por Keeley T

Aug 20, 2017

This is a great introduction to understanding gender diversity, how to facilitate gender inclusive environments, and how to support wellness in gender diverse children. The course is short and sweet and the format is easy to navigate, which makes it easily accessible. The use of case examples along with educational information makes it both engaging and useful and allow's the opportunity to understand the perspective of these children, adults, and their families. I'm giving this four stars because as I watched the videos, my impression (which may be incorrect) is that the families and individuals represented a particular socioeconomic subset. While many of the recommendations apply across population and environment, this course did not address the complexities of intersectional issues (race, culture) and the challenges that people and those working with people with fewer resources and/or less liberal worldview may experience. White people working at Stanford and families willing to seek out support through a resource like Gender Spectrum (which is a powerful resource) are just not representative of much of the demographic struggling to feel authentic in their gender and to feel included and supported in their lives.

por Katie S

Mar 29, 2017

I thought this course was mostly very well done. I would love to get in touch with the professor who created the course, and may try to reach out via other means. I am a transgender grad student at Mills College working on gender inclusive early childhood education.

One note specifically for Coursera, though... The honor code validation use of "legal name" on a course about transgender rights/health poses a particular emotional barrier for transgender people taking the course. Many transgender people go by names that are not their legal name and may or may not be able to change their legal names due to complicated laws and requirements. Having folks sign using their legal name is a potentially hostile, if relatively passive, act towards some transgender folks taking this class.

por Venetia P

Apr 14, 2017

Great course, I really liked it. I found it very educating and enjoyed the interviews of the children most of all.

I feel the class would benefit by discussing how gender roles are formed in society, why are pervasive through many aspects of society, how they are historically evolved, comparison in more aspects with the societies mentioned that are more open to gender fluidity etc. That would help us understand whether there is a necessity behind the gender roles or whether it is a natural step to drop them altogether, how they apply to other gender defined groups etc. I see why this would give the class a more society critical and perhaps political dimension however.