Chevron Left
Voltar para Health Across the Gender Spectrum

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Health Across the Gender Spectrum da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.8
estrelas
1,301 classificações
454 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers an intimate, story-based introduction to the experiences of six transgender children and their families. Through illustrated stories and short teaching videos, learners will gain a better understanding of gender identity and the gender spectrum. Stanford physicians, K-12 educators, and transgender faculty members offer practical tips for parents, teachers, healthcare providers and anyone who wants to help create a more gender-expansive environment - one in which all people can live authentically. As a global community of unique individuals, we can begin to build a world that is ready to nurture and love each and every child. Due to the sensitive nature of the story-based course content, we have chosen not to offer course certificates for this course. Simply put, we feel that the thoughts, ideas and sentiments of these remarkable children and their families... are priceless. We are confident that, like us, you will end up learning more from them than you could ever imagine. Together, we can lay a stronger foundation for all children. Join us as we explore health, across the gender spectrum. Additional note: When submitting answers to quizzes, you may be asked to enter your "full legal name". This feature is primarily for verification purposes for courses that offer a certificate on Coursera, so it does not really apply to this course. We recognize that, for some individuals the name they use does not match the one on their legal documents. Please feel free to enter the name you normally use in these boxes....

Melhores avaliações

PB

May 11, 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My stepson (born a female) is transgender. This course has helped me understand things more and gave me a lot of pointers on how to do things. Thank you so much!

CM

May 18, 2020

I love how concise and easy to understand the videos were. They all get straight to the point and it was really a mind-blowing experience to learn about the differences and what we can do to support.

Filtrar por:

401 — 425 de 449 Avaliações para o Health Across the Gender Spectrum

por Anna S

Aug 15, 2019

It turns out this course didn't really teach me anything I didn't already know, and I was hoping it would be more 'advanced'. However, I would still highly recommend it to anyone who is new to this world and wants to learn more about the technicality as well as hear people's touching stories. Listening to people's experiences is the best way forward :)

por Nelly S

Apr 16, 2017

To be honest I believed that this course would help me understand better transgender individuals, but it didn't. It feels like the instructors assumed I already accept this condition without question, the course is thought provoking of course, but not as informative as I thought it would be. I am more open to learn more about this topic though.

por Ekaterina F

Jul 20, 2017

I do not feel like genderfluid (or transgender) people are making up problems just to annoy me. Not anymore.

Mercifully I have never met them in person before so I have not disgraced myself by making some rude comment or stupid remark. And now I am prepared! Thank you!

por Atakan S

Jun 01, 2017

It was helfull about what feelings transgender people during especcially childhood. Course was basic and I guess it can be more detailed. Good for person who need basic idea and wonder how to approach to their child.

por Deborah L W

May 16, 2017

Health Across the Gender Spectrum is a good introductory course for anyone who is interesting in learning more about transgender individuals and what challenges that they face growing up.

por Gabrielle G

Apr 20, 2020

This course covers only very basic information regarding the gender spectrum, but it is vital information for everyone to learn in order to create a more inclusive and supportive society.

por David S Y C

Oct 05, 2017

So good course for understand and know more about a specific type of ´´community´´who are the transgenders.

Thanks to the Stanford´s University for giving this new opportunity of knowledge

por Grace C

Jul 06, 2017

Great course for learning more about transgender issues and healthcare, but I was disappointed that intersex people were not mentioned considering the title of the course.

por Maria

Jun 07, 2020

There's a really paternalist view over the children and, as I don't have children, I can find some ideas too binary.

Anyway, it's a great course! I've enjoyed it a lot.

por Irema M J

May 06, 2020

I'm very satisfied with this course because I have learned a lot about the Gender Spectrum. I believe that all the teachers should take some course like this.

por Lisa P

Sep 13, 2017

I wish that this course had addressed the medical research findings related to transgender health and illness issues of hormone therapy in childhood.

por Ignacio J T M

Feb 05, 2018

Fácil comprensión, con una introducción básica a los conceptos y excelentes experiencias de personas. Falta la profundización de los temas.

por Jack E

Nov 26, 2019

Not very in depth. It's no complex sociology class, but all in all it's a thought provoking, sensitivity building course that I enjoyed.

por Sheila R

Nov 17, 2019

I felt I was able to learn more from this course since it offered first hand thoughts and feelings from transgender people.

por Denise I

Apr 30, 2017

Well presented and easy to understand. It would be good to see more information relevant to high school aged children.

por ALEXA F G

Apr 18, 2017

this course is very complete in the aspect to learn different things to orientation in our lifes

por Jasmine J

Mar 17, 2018

Really good course to take for individuals that work with youth. This course was very helpful!

por Evelyn J

May 26, 2020

The content is great and very inspiring. However, it only covers very basic information.

por Prashanthi K

Jun 10, 2020

I enjoyed the course. Assignments helped to recollect and reflect on the learning.

por Emil

Jun 16, 2020

The course is very actual. I think, there is some policy behind this course.

por JENY C N C

May 02, 2020

THERE IS AN OPTION ONCE THE COURSE IS OVER, YOU CAN PAY TO GET THE DIPLOMA.

por Vasundhara A

Jul 10, 2017

The course is highly informational and the stories are very touching.

por Aditya G

Apr 17, 2017

Useful primer on applying inclusive principles across spaces

por Akhil T

Aug 12, 2020

Please send my certificate of completion of this course

por Spyros T

May 19, 2017

In my opinion, the course is a good intro to the topic.