Chevron Left
Voltar para Health Across the Gender Spectrum

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Health Across the Gender Spectrum da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.8
946 classificações
327 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers an intimate, story-based introduction to the experiences of six transgender children and their families. Through illustrated stories and short teaching videos, learners will gain a better understanding of gender identity and the gender spectrum. Stanford physicians, K-12 educators, and transgender faculty members offer practical tips for parents, teachers, healthcare providers and anyone who wants to help create a more gender-expansive environment - one in which all people can live authentically. As a global community of unique individuals, we can begin to build a world that is ready to nurture and love each and every child. Due to the sensitive nature of the story-based course content, we have chosen not to offer course certificates for this course. Simply put, we feel that the thoughts, ideas and sentiments of these remarkable children and their families... are priceless. We are confident that, like us, you will end up learning more from them than you could ever imagine. Together, we can lay a stronger foundation for all children. Join us as we explore health, across the gender spectrum. Additional note: When submitting answers to quizzes, you may be asked to enter your "full legal name". This feature is primarily for verification purposes for courses that offer a certificate on Coursera, so it does not really apply to this course. We recognize that, for some individuals the name they use does not match the one on their legal documents. Please feel free to enter the name you normally use in these boxes....

Melhores avaliações

PB

May 11, 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My stepson (born a female) is transgender. This course has helped me understand things more and gave me a lot of pointers on how to do things. Thank you so much!

AL

May 03, 2017

I would love to provide this course to the faculty and staff at the school district where I work. I felt that I had an understanding of transgender but I was wrong. I truly enjoyed this course.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Health Across the Gender Spectrum

por Lasita S

May 09, 2017

I thought I was well-informed before I began the course but I discovered that I was misinformed on some points and needed much more knowledge.

por Evellyn G C F

Apr 26, 2017

A really good course to learn more about transgender child's and how to make world more diverse and welcoming for transgender people.

por Shelley G

May 01, 2017

Great info and delivery, thank you Maya.

por hannah

Apr 16, 2017

Health Across the Gender Spectrum is a very significant course. It lets me understand what transgender is and how we should do to respect and welcome them. Thanks a lot.

por Raquel R C

Aug 29, 2017

It is great guidance though the understanding of Gender, acceptance and empathy.

por Marie S

Oct 04, 2017

The videos were informative and enjoyable to watch. The content was straight forward and easy to comprehend.

por Saadiya Y

Jun 30, 2017

This was really insightful. This course should be thought in every school and more awareness should be done on this subject matter, in order to create a less discriminating society. I will do my best to make this known.

por Teresa B

Apr 07, 2017

excellent content and very timely. Thank you for providing this course and thank you all for sharing your stories.

por Deleted A

Aug 20, 2017

This is a great course, but it feels more like watching a documentary about transgender than an actual learning course. Also it focuses mainly on transgender, so the title was a bit misleading. I thought that other genders would be discussed, but instead they were only mentioned once, briefly, in one video. But it was still a fun course to take.

por Veronique L

Dec 23, 2017

Very informative, based on current research, most recommendable.

por Francka K

May 19, 2017

Interesting

por Linda d B

Jun 02, 2017

A fantastic course to help people understand the gender-spectrum and hopefully create a more including society. Very accessible and clear.

por John R G

May 06, 2017

A well presented, affirming introduction to transgender people.

por truong m d

Sep 16, 2017

It is so helpful. I learned many things from this course

por Anandita K A

May 31, 2017

This is a very useful course!! I love this one <3 I didn't realize the course was over (T____T)

por Arlen N T C

Dec 29, 2017

I was really ignorant about gender topics since a few months ago when I met a lot of new friends and one of them were transgender. I never really understood what that meant, but after meeting her I was concerned by this matter. I myself never identified with female or male cloths and attitudes, but I never thought so much about it because of my traditional family. It really opened a new world to me and since I met my friend I did research on this, and this course actually made me see so many new things and I feel conscious of the matter. I'm so thankful to be able to find this course online, or else there would be so much that I wouldn't know about. It made me think, about society, about families, about relationships and about myself. Thank you so much.

por Yulia G

Apr 03, 2018

Easy to comprehend, very well-planned with fun video materials and short quizzes and most importantly, this course gives a precious understanding that is extremely important to our society, priceless knowledge that I as a parent and a teacher absolutely must possess.

por Hannah C

May 08, 2017

Informative, insightful and thoughtful course that ideally all healthcare providers, educators etc. would take. Maya Adam was a professor of mine as an undergraduate and now, as a clinician, I'm so pleased to see she's continuing to do important and transformative work that's accessible to healthcare providers and others everywhere.

por Ester V

Jun 01, 2017

Great course. Lovely stories, lovely graphics, human and gentle narrative yet informative, thorough and up to date content. Great resource for families at the beginning of their journey with a gender diverse child, for others wanting to sGender them, for teachers, neighbours, media, politician, policy makers... And health professionals!

por Helene J D T

Aug 03, 2017

Excellent course that includes a range of issues and challenges in the health and wellbeing across the gender spectrum field with a special and important focus on children. The course includes many instructive and enlightening narratives that get the points to come forward. I think the course apply to all people no matter how you identify, and you should definitely take the time to enjoy and learn from this visual and auditory resource.

por Ruiming Z

Sep 22, 2017

Wonderful course! It gives me a brand new vision when consider gender.

por Anjuli G

Jul 26, 2017

This course brings to life the gender spectrum with empathy, humanity, and practicality. It spans a wide range of topics to equip all of us to be better friends, family members, colleagues, and community members. I personally took this course to support my 5-year-old godchild. S/he picks different pronouns on different days and is the most creative, spirited child you can imagine, whether in pants or dresses. I'm so grateful to have the tools to be a better godmother! Everyone should take this course.

por Laura K P B

Jun 07, 2017

gracias por permitirnos entender este aspecto tan importante, y más desde la perspectiva de los niños, me pareció un curso muy fácil de entender y respetuoso, siendo una tematica de complejidad alta.

por Harumi N N

Aug 19, 2017

This course opened my eyes. I don't have many transgender people around me, so I didn't understand. I have a friend whose child seems to be a transgender. I saw this boy start wearing a skirt or pink clothes and wondered why she would let her child do that. Now I think I have better understanding because of this class. It would be great if many people have a chance to watch this class.

por lauren d

Mar 29, 2017

I found this course to be eye opening, and wonderful in showing the range and variations the transgender community may contain. It helped add language and clarification of terms that are needed. It was nice to hear the stories of the children as well as the parents. It would have helped me to hear from those who are not handling the needs of their child who identifies cross gender. The levels of support shown by the parents was comforting but also seemed too good to be true. I would not have had that level of support in my own family by far. This was a wonderful course, keep up the great work.