Chevron Left
Voltar para Health Across the Gender Spectrum

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Health Across the Gender Spectrum da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.8
estrelas
1,166 classificações
405 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers an intimate, story-based introduction to the experiences of six transgender children and their families. Through illustrated stories and short teaching videos, learners will gain a better understanding of gender identity and the gender spectrum. Stanford physicians, K-12 educators, and transgender faculty members offer practical tips for parents, teachers, healthcare providers and anyone who wants to help create a more gender-expansive environment - one in which all people can live authentically. As a global community of unique individuals, we can begin to build a world that is ready to nurture and love each and every child. Due to the sensitive nature of the story-based course content, we have chosen not to offer course certificates for this course. Simply put, we feel that the thoughts, ideas and sentiments of these remarkable children and their families... are priceless. We are confident that, like us, you will end up learning more from them than you could ever imagine. Together, we can lay a stronger foundation for all children. Join us as we explore health, across the gender spectrum. Additional note: When submitting answers to quizzes, you may be asked to enter your "full legal name". This feature is primarily for verification purposes for courses that offer a certificate on Coursera, so it does not really apply to this course. We recognize that, for some individuals the name they use does not match the one on their legal documents. Please feel free to enter the name you normally use in these boxes....

Melhores avaliações

PB

May 11, 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My stepson (born a female) is transgender. This course has helped me understand things more and gave me a lot of pointers on how to do things. Thank you so much!

CM

May 18, 2020

I love how concise and easy to understand the videos were. They all get straight to the point and it was really a mind-blowing experience to learn about the differences and what we can do to support.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Health Across the Gender Spectrum

por Pamela M L

May 03, 2020

I highly recommend this course to get a profound grasp and understanding of the gender spectrum and its challenges but also to gain awareness of our responsibility as part of the society, community, as a friend and relative when it comes to making this life a better one for everybody. Thank you for this beautiful work.

por Linda J G

May 25, 2020

Exceptionally helpful, having recently learned that my biological grandson is a girl. The course opened my mind to an entirely new understanding of what it means to be human. It expands my horizons and makes me a better person, learning something about which I knew nothing. This is just the beginning. Thank you.

por Rita F A

Dec 14, 2017

This course was very useful. When I saw this course, I knew I had to enroll because it touches pretty close to home on a lot of issues in my own life that are similar. This course gave me tools that I can use so to interact and educate others around me about equality and letting everyone just be who they are.

por Carlos A Z

May 08, 2020

Es interesante toda la información que el curso presenta y la manera de exponerlo y presentarlo es sumamente atractiva y fácil de analizar.

Estoy muy contento con tener esta herramienta para el ambiente de la salud, ya que en la actualidad estos temas son importantes para un correcto trato a los pacientes.

por Victoria R S

Apr 11, 2017

This was a very interesting and mind-opening course. I have to admit that I did not give much thought to transgender, and I am very glad that this course was suggested by Maya Adam, MD in another course. I hope this information spreads around the world and we all become more inclusive and caring.

por Faye M

Jan 26, 2018

Gave me a great depth of knowledge about what it's like to go through the process of identifying and transitioning to a gender other than the one assigned at birth. It was really nice to hear some real life experiences from the perspective of both parents and children too. Would really recommend

por Paula M D G

Jun 24, 2018

In addition to being very instructive, it was an extremely delicate and beautiful course. With each story I was moved and learned a lot about being able to listen to learning and also about having more empathy. It is a course that will add a lot to my profession and my life as a human being

por Adriana V H

May 12, 2020

Me encantó este curso. Después de hacerlo salgo con una mente más abierta, un entendimiento de lo que pasan las personas transgénero y con esto espero crear un ambiente de más inclusión. Muchas gracias por toda la información, gracias por los videos tan lindos que nos hacen vivenciarlo más

por Gayle S S M

Aug 18, 2017

This was a thoughtful series of educational lectures with any number of practice changing ideas to enhance the care of my patients. It is well worth the time spent to self-educate on an important topic and contains additional resources for further study and for patient/parent sharing.

por Elisa C

Nov 03, 2017

I found the course very inspiring and helpful: it made me disclose a wide world i was not that acknowledged about. Thank you very much for this opportunity! I really hope people mentality could widen and be receptive and sensible to such delicate themes.

I feel a better person now.

por Emilia P

Apr 23, 2020

Este curso es una puerta abierta al genero y el transgenero. A pesar de estar dirigido al personal de salud lo puede tomar cualquier persona interesada en el tema y en un futuro inclusivo para todos los generos. Es educativo, emotivo y claro en todo su desarrollo. Un gran curso.

por Ana M V S

May 15, 2020

Si bien estoy familiarizada con el tema, hay varias cosas que no sabía y me educó más, como también siempre es bueno recordar cosas que uno ya sabe, darles más importancia. Además, presenciar experiencias personales enriquece mucho más la visión que uno tiene sobre estos temas.

por Carlos F F M

Oct 01, 2017

Excelente curso para aprender sobre el espectro de géneros que existe y comprender la importancia de dar a conocer este conocimiento en nuestra sociedad, con el fin de ayudar y mejorar la salud de aquellos niños transgénero y promover la diversidad que existe en nuestro mundo.

por Christine C G

Apr 17, 2017

A very timely and worthwhile course. I love how it is about learning and teaching important subject matter rather than being onerous and difficult. The videos are incredibly effective. Maya models the attributes of inclusivity and compassion that are necessary for this course.

por RUCHI K

Aug 24, 2018

Really the course will brighten up some knowledge to parents about this crucial topic which any kid can experience in their life.This course is must to every parent as it enlightens the topic properly and also explain how to manage if anything such happens with their child.

por Sooraj S B

Oct 30, 2017

This class is beyond words to describe. I have never had a class shift my way of thinking so much. I am left constantly speechless at the beauty described by these stories. So strong are the children who are spoken of and speak in these lessons. A must take class for anyone.

por Blanca I M R

May 24, 2017

Very unique course, and a very important topic to talk about. I really loved it. I think every person should know the things that we learned here if we expect to have a better society. I love the way she explain everything in all her courses Ive taken but specialy in th

por Yulia G

Apr 03, 2018

Easy to comprehend, very well-planned with fun video materials and short quizzes and most importantly, this course gives a precious understanding that is extremely important to our society, priceless knowledge that I as a parent and a teacher absolutely must possess.

por Adela R

Oct 19, 2017

Great course, would highly recommend it to become better educated about the gender spectrum and have an overall better understanding as to what "transgender" really means, what transgender people go through, and how you can support them to the best of your ability.

por Mariana A M O

Apr 28, 2020

Me gusta mucho, es muy educativo e interesante. Esto puede ser muy necesario para personas y especialmente niñxs trans, también para estudiantes y profesionales de carreras sociales y medicas que tengan que trabajar con menos que necesiten ayude y orientación

por August C

Jun 14, 2018

Very well written and the videos are great. Very in adequation with the reality. You won't learn a lot if you know already about transgender people but the interviews and stories are great and i love the fact that this course focuses on children and youth

por Monica M M

Jun 01, 2020

Agradezco el curso, fue para mi una experiencia maravillosa, bien fundamentado, con suficientes experiencias de personas que viven este cambio. Excelente didáctica. Me ha dado múltiples habilidades pero fundamentalmente abrió mi horizonte y mi mente.

por Susana M

May 03, 2020

Thank you so much for this course. I learned a lot of important things I can start applying in my personal and professional life. I'm happy knowing there's people like you working for the recognition of transgender and gender nonconforming people.

por Phoenix K

Jul 18, 2017

This was a remarkably kind and compassionate course, and as a genderqueer parent of trans kids, with a trans spouse, I felt that this course is vital for our medical professionals to have as a basis for their understanding in how to best treat us.