Chevron Left
Voltar para Health Across the Gender Spectrum

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Health Across the Gender Spectrum da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.8
estrelas
963 classificações
330 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers an intimate, story-based introduction to the experiences of six transgender children and their families. Through illustrated stories and short teaching videos, learners will gain a better understanding of gender identity and the gender spectrum. Stanford physicians, K-12 educators, and transgender faculty members offer practical tips for parents, teachers, healthcare providers and anyone who wants to help create a more gender-expansive environment - one in which all people can live authentically. As a global community of unique individuals, we can begin to build a world that is ready to nurture and love each and every child. Due to the sensitive nature of the story-based course content, we have chosen not to offer course certificates for this course. Simply put, we feel that the thoughts, ideas and sentiments of these remarkable children and their families... are priceless. We are confident that, like us, you will end up learning more from them than you could ever imagine. Together, we can lay a stronger foundation for all children. Join us as we explore health, across the gender spectrum. Additional note: When submitting answers to quizzes, you may be asked to enter your "full legal name". This feature is primarily for verification purposes for courses that offer a certificate on Coursera, so it does not really apply to this course. We recognize that, for some individuals the name they use does not match the one on their legal documents. Please feel free to enter the name you normally use in these boxes....

Melhores avaliações

PB

May 11, 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My stepson (born a female) is transgender. This course has helped me understand things more and gave me a lot of pointers on how to do things. Thank you so much!

FS

Apr 27, 2019

I would like to know more about LGBTs and as I am leaving in an Islamic country , I hope to help these high risk groups to be more accepted by others and be more healthy, sexually and mentally.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Health Across the Gender Spectrum

por Jeyana M

Oct 03, 2017

This course is great! Thank you! The concept of gender spectrum was a revelation to me. I feel so happy and releaved now. And I want to become one of the voices, which are building a better, safer world. Thanks for the list of resources - as soon as I feel confident enough in this topic, I'll start telling about it to everyone who's interested. And now I'll definetely recommmend this course to people I know.

por Frances W

May 14, 2017

I never understood what transgender meant. I was given a very clear definition. But more than that it helped me understand how transgender children feel and how their parents feel. It made transgender real to me. I don't know anyone who is transgender but I know that after taking this course if I do meet someone I will be very aware of their feelings. I will accept who they are and be able to support them.

por Kaye S

Apr 28, 2017

I am going to recommend this course to other teachers and counselors at my school site. I feel it is important that everyone understands this issue is real, it's not a "phase" kids go through, and it is not something that can be swept under a rug and ignored. As public school educators it is our moral obligation to ensure a safe and inclusive learning environment for all our students. Period.

por Harumi N N

Aug 19, 2017

This course opened my eyes. I don't have many transgender people around me, so I didn't understand. I have a friend whose child seems to be a transgender. I saw this boy start wearing a skirt or pink clothes and wondered why she would let her child do that. Now I think I have better understanding because of this class. It would be great if many people have a chance to watch this class.

por Rachel G

May 01, 2018

Excellent course! Provides a great basic background for families, educators, medical professionals, and community members who are interested in supporting the full spectrum of children in our care. Videos and interviews are very well done and easy to understand, even if this might be your first bit of education on the subject. Will continue to recommend this course to others.

por Erick G

Apr 30, 2017

Because of a special circumstance I recently experience at my child school, the schools Head Master and the early childhood principal recommended this course to me. It was the perfect fit and had all the information I need to be part of the conversation regarding the gender spectrum. Also this is the first course I complete in this platform. It left me completely satisfied.

por Margaret

Oct 14, 2017

Fantastic course that touches on a wide range of topics, concerns and questions. It provides so much needed information while also keeping it personal and relatable by having videos and recordings made by transgender people and their families. Very powerful and thoughtfully constructed course. Extremely helpful in helping to progress in understanding and acceptance.

por Ezequiel M

Jun 11, 2017

I was great to participate in this course. The material is excellent. I think everyone needs to have a basic notion of the gender spectrum. I regret this is not available in other languages, as I could help in spreading this message. I am a native Spanish speaker, so, if you want, I could help by translating video subtitles to Spanish. Just let me know. Thanks a lot.

por Ljubica A

Apr 21, 2017

The course allowed me to thoroughly understand the topic of gender spectrum. I have learned how I, as and individual, could help transgender people and their surroundings to strengthen their understanding, acceptance and relationship. I would recommend this course for anyone who is interested to learn about the diversity which life has to offer to us.

por J.B

Aug 15, 2018

Exceptionally well formed introduction to how the gender spectrum influences and impacts a persons health and access to healthcare as well as overall public spaces. Refreshingly respectful language and actual interviews with people who are transgender rather than just listening to cisgender persons in the healthcare field without lived experiences.

por Deleted A

Aug 20, 2017

This is a great course, but it feels more like watching a documentary about transgender than an actual learning course. Also it focuses mainly on transgender, so the title was a bit misleading. I thought that other genders would be discussed, but instead they were only mentioned once, briefly, in one video. But it was still a fun course to take.

por Ester V

Jun 01, 2017

Great course. Lovely stories, lovely graphics, human and gentle narrative yet informative, thorough and up to date content. Great resource for families at the beginning of their journey with a gender diverse child, for others wanting to sGender them, for teachers, neighbours, media, politician, policy makers... And health professionals!

por Laurie B

Jun 09, 2017

I was worried at first that this was going to be a little too "cute" about what it means to be transgender. However, I think this course presented a good variety of experiences from the perspective of professionals, parents, and transgender people of all ages. I think it is a wonderful resource and appreciate that it was offered for free.

por Kristina B

Apr 14, 2017

Fantastic course! I think you could expand the title though not just to be about health because it really includes much more. Teachers and others may not have taken the course because ti specifically says health but it is so important for them to become familiar with this content as well to help build a more gender inclusive society.

por Hannah C

May 08, 2017

Informative, insightful and thoughtful course that ideally all healthcare providers, educators etc. would take. Maya Adam was a professor of mine as an undergraduate and now, as a clinician, I'm so pleased to see she's continuing to do important and transformative work that's accessible to healthcare providers and others everywhere.

por Simon M

Aug 26, 2017

I found this short course informative and easy to understand. It contains useful, practical help for people working with transgender individuals, honest and open testimony from transgender individuals and their parents.. and great examples for transgender people to show the respect and acceptance that everybody should receive.

por Rita F A

Dec 14, 2017

This course was very useful. When I saw this course, I knew I had to enroll because it touches pretty close to home on a lot of issues in my own life that are similar. This course gave me tools that I can use so to interact and educate others around me about equality and letting everyone just be who they are.

por Victoria R S

Apr 11, 2017

This was a very interesting and mind-opening course. I have to admit that I did not give much thought to transgender, and I am very glad that this course was suggested by Maya Adam, MD in another course. I hope this information spreads around the world and we all become more inclusive and caring.

por Faye M

Jan 26, 2018

Gave me a great depth of knowledge about what it's like to go through the process of identifying and transitioning to a gender other than the one assigned at birth. It was really nice to hear some real life experiences from the perspective of both parents and children too. Would really recommend

por Paula M D G

Jun 24, 2018

In addition to being very instructive, it was an extremely delicate and beautiful course. With each story I was moved and learned a lot about being able to listen to learning and also about having more empathy. It is a course that will add a lot to my profession and my life as a human being

por Gayle S S M

Aug 18, 2017

This was a thoughtful series of educational lectures with any number of practice changing ideas to enhance the care of my patients. It is well worth the time spent to self-educate on an important topic and contains additional resources for further study and for patient/parent sharing.

por Elisa C

Nov 03, 2017

I found the course very inspiring and helpful: it made me disclose a wide world i was not that acknowledged about. Thank you very much for this opportunity! I really hope people mentality could widen and be receptive and sensible to such delicate themes.

I feel a better person now.

por Carlos F F M

Oct 01, 2017

Excelente curso para aprender sobre el espectro de géneros que existe y comprender la importancia de dar a conocer este conocimiento en nuestra sociedad, con el fin de ayudar y mejorar la salud de aquellos niños transgénero y promover la diversidad que existe en nuestro mundo.

por Christine C G

Apr 17, 2017

A very timely and worthwhile course. I love how it is about learning and teaching important subject matter rather than being onerous and difficult. The videos are incredibly effective. Maya models the attributes of inclusivity and compassion that are necessary for this course.

por RUCHI K

Aug 24, 2018

Really the course will brighten up some knowledge to parents about this crucial topic which any kid can experience in their life.This course is must to every parent as it enlightens the topic properly and also explain how to manage if anything such happens with their child.