Chevron Left
Voltar para Health Across the Gender Spectrum

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Health Across the Gender Spectrum da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.8
estrelas
1,399 classificações
484 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers an intimate, story-based introduction to the experiences of six transgender children and their families. Through illustrated stories and short teaching videos, learners will gain a better understanding of gender identity and the gender spectrum. Stanford physicians, K-12 educators, and transgender faculty members offer practical tips for parents, teachers, healthcare providers and anyone who wants to help create a more gender-expansive environment - one in which all people can live authentically. As a global community of unique individuals, we can begin to build a world that is ready to nurture and love each and every child. Due to the sensitive nature of the story-based course content, we have chosen not to offer course certificates for this course. Simply put, we feel that the thoughts, ideas and sentiments of these remarkable children and their families... are priceless. We are confident that, like us, you will end up learning more from them than you could ever imagine. Together, we can lay a stronger foundation for all children. Join us as we explore health, across the gender spectrum. Additional note: When submitting answers to quizzes, you may be asked to enter your "full legal name". This feature is primarily for verification purposes for courses that offer a certificate on Coursera, so it does not really apply to this course. We recognize that, for some individuals the name they use does not match the one on their legal documents. Please feel free to enter the name you normally use in these boxes....

Melhores avaliações

PB
10 de Mai de 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My stepson (born a female) is transgender. This course has helped me understand things more and gave me a lot of pointers on how to do things. Thank you so much!

CM
17 de Mai de 2020

I love how concise and easy to understand the videos were. They all get straight to the point and it was really a mind-blowing experience to learn about the differences and what we can do to support.

Filtrar por:

401 — 425 de 478 Avaliações para o Health Across the Gender Spectrum

por Valeriia T

10 de Ago de 2017

I'm loving it!

por 胡昕萌

4 de Mar de 2018

Great Course!

por Noelia

28 de Set de 2017

Great course.

por Ehsanullah I

6 de Jul de 2017

It was great!

por Jose M G S

22 de Set de 2018

Excellent!!!

por Carmen G

25 de Set de 2017

great course

por Manav

12 de Abr de 2017

very helpful

por Anna K

16 de Nov de 2017

very useful

por Francka K

19 de Mai de 2017

Interesting

por Fabi M

2 de Dez de 2020

Wonderful!

por Maria d c g

4 de Mai de 2020

Me encantó

por Amanda F

8 de Mai de 2017

Thank you!

por Abdallah A A

26 de Jan de 2021

very nice

por Karla M H F

7 de Out de 2019

Excelente

por Ayelen s

26 de Jan de 2019

EXCELENTE

por Jazmín M

13 de Jan de 2019

Muy bueno

por Isabel M G M

25 de Abr de 2018

Inspiring

por Deleted A

25 de Out de 2018

Love it!

por Marta M

29 de Jan de 2021

AMAZING

por Vivian M

21 de Abr de 2020

Exce

por Ernesto O M R

6 de Jan de 2019

Cool

por Keeley T

20 de Ago de 2017

This is a great introduction to understanding gender diversity, how to facilitate gender inclusive environments, and how to support wellness in gender diverse children. The course is short and sweet and the format is easy to navigate, which makes it easily accessible. The use of case examples along with educational information makes it both engaging and useful and allow's the opportunity to understand the perspective of these children, adults, and their families. I'm giving this four stars because as I watched the videos, my impression (which may be incorrect) is that the families and individuals represented a particular socioeconomic subset. While many of the recommendations apply across population and environment, this course did not address the complexities of intersectional issues (race, culture) and the challenges that people and those working with people with fewer resources and/or less liberal worldview may experience. White people working at Stanford and families willing to seek out support through a resource like Gender Spectrum (which is a powerful resource) are just not representative of much of the demographic struggling to feel authentic in their gender and to feel included and supported in their lives.

por Katie S

29 de Mar de 2017

I thought this course was mostly very well done. I would love to get in touch with the professor who created the course, and may try to reach out via other means. I am a transgender grad student at Mills College working on gender inclusive early childhood education.

One note specifically for Coursera, though... The honor code validation use of "legal name" on a course about transgender rights/health poses a particular emotional barrier for transgender people taking the course. Many transgender people go by names that are not their legal name and may or may not be able to change their legal names due to complicated laws and requirements. Having folks sign using their legal name is a potentially hostile, if relatively passive, act towards some transgender folks taking this class.

por Venetia P

14 de Abr de 2017

Great course, I really liked it. I found it very educating and enjoyed the interviews of the children most of all.

I feel the class would benefit by discussing how gender roles are formed in society, why are pervasive through many aspects of society, how they are historically evolved, comparison in more aspects with the societies mentioned that are more open to gender fluidity etc. That would help us understand whether there is a necessity behind the gender roles or whether it is a natural step to drop them altogether, how they apply to other gender defined groups etc. I see why this would give the class a more society critical and perhaps political dimension however.

por Terezia B

11 de Jun de 2017

This course was very interesting and it taught me a lot, but sometimes I felt that it is not always women-sensitive or I just simply wasn't assured that it is, for example in the "What is a girl?" video when the little girls tells that girls should clean while boys should eat and sleep. This scared me a little bit, because in that moment I wasn't totally sure how to understand this, is it literally meant like that or is it just making fun of the gender roles. I mean for me it pretty much reproduced those roles that deprive women from their freedoms (having to cook and clean after a sleeping and eating man).