Chevron Left
Voltar para Health Across the Gender Spectrum

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Health Across the Gender Spectrum da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.8
938 classificações
323 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers an intimate, story-based introduction to the experiences of six transgender children and their families. Through illustrated stories and short teaching videos, learners will gain a better understanding of gender identity and the gender spectrum. Stanford physicians, K-12 educators, and transgender faculty members offer practical tips for parents, teachers, healthcare providers and anyone who wants to help create a more gender-expansive environment - one in which all people can live authentically. As a global community of unique individuals, we can begin to build a world that is ready to nurture and love each and every child. Due to the sensitive nature of the story-based course content, we have chosen not to offer course certificates for this course. Simply put, we feel that the thoughts, ideas and sentiments of these remarkable children and their families... are priceless. We are confident that, like us, you will end up learning more from them than you could ever imagine. Together, we can lay a stronger foundation for all children. Join us as we explore health, across the gender spectrum. Additional note: When submitting answers to quizzes, you may be asked to enter your "full legal name". This feature is primarily for verification purposes for courses that offer a certificate on Coursera, so it does not really apply to this course. We recognize that, for some individuals the name they use does not match the one on their legal documents. Please feel free to enter the name you normally use in these boxes....

Melhores avaliações

PB

May 11, 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My stepson (born a female) is transgender. This course has helped me understand things more and gave me a lot of pointers on how to do things. Thank you so much!

FS

Apr 27, 2019

I would like to know more about LGBTs and as I am leaving in an Islamic country , I hope to help these high risk groups to be more accepted by others and be more healthy, sexually and mentally.

Filtrar por:

176 — 200 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Health Across the Gender Spectrum

por Allison C

Apr 24, 2017

I enjoy this training. I looked at it as a refresher course and how to be more mindful of how I interact with others including

por Brandi J

Apr 24, 2017

Wonderful introductory course to gender inclusion!

por Jacie W

Apr 27, 2017

Very engaging and informative!

por Carly J

Apr 29, 2017

amazing vital course for all parents, professionals and anyone who wants to make the world more inclusive , thank

por Margaret

Oct 14, 2017

Fantastic course that touches on a wide range of topics, concerns and questions. It provides so much needed information while also keeping it personal and relatable by having videos and recordings made by transgender people and their families. Very powerful and thoughtfully constructed course. Extremely helpful in helping to progress in understanding and acceptance.

por Elizabeth S

May 31, 2017

An excellent course! I highly recommend this course for anyone working in healthcare, education, and with children and families.

por Laurie B

Sep 18, 2017

I found this very information coming from other families points of views. My youngest came out several years ago and told us they are transgender and this has been a learning experience in humility and love.

por Athanasia

Jul 30, 2017

A course that every person should take.You will learn to accept the diversity and you will get knowledge which is power!!!

por Linda d B

Jun 02, 2017

A fantastic course to help people understand the gender-spectrum and hopefully create a more including society. Very accessible and clear.

por John R G

May 06, 2017

A well presented, affirming introduction to transgender people.

por Natalia H H

Jul 04, 2017

Controversial e interesante. Una buena guía para estar en una sociedad incluyente.

por Marcee G

May 24, 2017

Great themes and material! Thank you

por Jenny C

May 13, 2017

Very insightful and easy to understand with illustrations. Provides fantastic interviews and draws on the expertise of other healthcare professionals to provide a diverse view.

por Mary E R

Jun 07, 2017

Thank you so much Stanford University and to everyone who made this course possible. It's an effective way to educate about how important gender identity is to children. Taking this into consideration, our reactions to people we know who may be going through a similar struggle may affect how they will perceive the world and how they will behave in the future. After taking this course I have made it my goal to help in making a safer world for the transgender people as well as for the rest of the LGBTQ community.

por 胡昕萌

Mar 04, 2018

Great Course!

por Redeemer G

Jul 13, 2017

A very informative short course who tackles several aspects in relation to the gender spectrum , health and social care. It provides a scientific feel and mostly a qualitative approach which gives a human aspect to the topic.

por Lhasa C

Sep 03, 2017

Thank you for providing a forum to learn founded in both scientific and experiential study.

por Rev. D R

Jul 15, 2017

Was content-rich but cursory enough for someone at the surface level to understand the importance of gender diversity and competencies in the professional and personal level. Discourse was not time consuming and I believe was worth my time I will definitely recommend this course to others it was well-constructed they were no technical errors or glitches and I believe the personal stories mixed with the clinical interjections was the perfect mix.

por Alexander W

Aug 17, 2017

This is an important resource in helping our society become more knowledgeable and accepting of all members.

por Neslihan C

Sep 20, 2017

The course is very useful and efficient. Easy to understand for non-English speakers. I have learned a lot about gender spectrum.

por Renata C S

Jul 26, 2017

I recommend this course to everyone. It clarifies a lot many concepts, and may help people understand and respect more one another.

por Amanda F

Oct 02, 2017

Very educational, especially for future healthcare providers!

por Amanda D

Oct 17, 2017

I learned a lot from this class. Although I have always been accepting of Transgender friends and family members, I did not know much about the medical implications. I also learned more about what I can do to support Trans individuals.

por Kalilah M

May 01, 2017

Solid, well-organized information and a great list of resources.

por Timothy C

Sep 17, 2017

An excellent course which provides underpinning knowledge to the social issues that transgendered individuals face through the stories of people who have experienced them.