Chevron Left
Voltar para Health Across the Gender Spectrum

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Health Across the Gender Spectrum da instituição Universidade de Stanford

4.8
937 classificações
323 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course offers an intimate, story-based introduction to the experiences of six transgender children and their families. Through illustrated stories and short teaching videos, learners will gain a better understanding of gender identity and the gender spectrum. Stanford physicians, K-12 educators, and transgender faculty members offer practical tips for parents, teachers, healthcare providers and anyone who wants to help create a more gender-expansive environment - one in which all people can live authentically. As a global community of unique individuals, we can begin to build a world that is ready to nurture and love each and every child. Due to the sensitive nature of the story-based course content, we have chosen not to offer course certificates for this course. Simply put, we feel that the thoughts, ideas and sentiments of these remarkable children and their families... are priceless. We are confident that, like us, you will end up learning more from them than you could ever imagine. Together, we can lay a stronger foundation for all children. Join us as we explore health, across the gender spectrum. Additional note: When submitting answers to quizzes, you may be asked to enter your "full legal name". This feature is primarily for verification purposes for courses that offer a certificate on Coursera, so it does not really apply to this course. We recognize that, for some individuals the name they use does not match the one on their legal documents. Please feel free to enter the name you normally use in these boxes....

Melhores avaliações

PB

May 11, 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My stepson (born a female) is transgender. This course has helped me understand things more and gave me a lot of pointers on how to do things. Thank you so much!

AL

May 03, 2017

I would love to provide this course to the faculty and staff at the school district where I work. I felt that I had an understanding of transgender but I was wrong. I truly enjoyed this course.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Health Across the Gender Spectrum

por Rafael d l C G

May 10, 2017

An incredibly personal and touching way of making us understand the complexities and depth of these experiences that transgender people go through.

I consider this a great way to educate us all, those related to a transgender student or adult, or not, about the humane aspect of this process, the importance of activism and more than anything, about the love, the empathy and the understanding without judging so needed in our societies and in our interpersonal relations.

I don't feel I am a better person after this course, I feel though, that I am a more sensitive person, a less judgmental individual and a more loving and caring member of my community. I feel empowered to stand for what I believe.

por Rubina H

Sep 13, 2017

I want to translate this course in my language, Just to develop understanding in my culture.

por jay w

Aug 24, 2017

This is amazingly accurate and it really lets the kids speak for themselves. It's very gently introduced and is good for all audiences.

por Harumi N N

Aug 19, 2017

This course opened my eyes. I don't have many transgender people around me, so I didn't understand. I have a friend whose child seems to be a transgender. I saw this boy start wearing a skirt or pink clothes and wondered why she would let her child do that. Now I think I have better understanding because of this class. It would be great if many people have a chance to watch this class.

por lauren d

Mar 29, 2017

I found this course to be eye opening, and wonderful in showing the range and variations the transgender community may contain. It helped add language and clarification of terms that are needed. It was nice to hear the stories of the children as well as the parents. It would have helped me to hear from those who are not handling the needs of their child who identifies cross gender. The levels of support shown by the parents was comforting but also seemed too good to be true. I would not have had that level of support in my own family by far. This was a wonderful course, keep up the great work.

por Anna K

Nov 16, 2017

very useful

por Msa J F

Nov 04, 2017

This is the most eye-opening course I have done to better myself as a human. It teaches acceptance and an awareness of one's compassion. It is so vital in toda

por Amalia C

Apr 15, 2017

This is a course all education teachers, parents and social workers should take.

por Marianela V V

Feb 02, 2018

Excellent course. I recommend it to all people regardless of their background. It is basic knowledge in order to have a better world.

por Liubov

Apr 16, 2017

Thank you, Maya, for your inspiring and kind-hearted course

por Thiviya K

Jul 09, 2017

highly recommended to everyone

por Michelle L R G

Nov 10, 2017

An eye and heart opening.

por Perla A

Apr 18, 2017

Muchas gracias! por éste increíble curso que me abrió todo un mundo de conocimiento acerca de las personas transgeneros.

Gracias!

por Onyinye A

Jun 11, 2017

everyone should take this course! really eye-opening and accessible.

por alankrita s

Sep 18, 2017

excellent course which improves all, your knowledge, skills and ATTITUDES

por Veronika B

Feb 07, 2018

Excellent course! It really show multiple perspectives about respecting the human thinking and feelings, starting with kids and evolving in to adults.

por Bárbara K R S

May 15, 2017

Very descriptive and clear vocabulary. You talk about, family, school and medical services.

por Ljubica A

Apr 21, 2017

The course allowed me to thoroughly understand the topic of gender spectrum. I have learned how I, as and individual, could help transgender people and their surroundings to strengthen their understanding, acceptance and relationship. I would recommend this course for anyone who is interested to learn about the diversity which life has to offer to us.

por Geoffrey L L

May 17, 2017

Great caring course. I highly recommend it to all.

por Nolan R

Apr 12, 2017

Everyone should engage in this course

por Raquel M H

Jun 18, 2017

Great information a video material.

por Ruiming Z

Sep 22, 2017

Wonderful course! It gives me a brand new vision when consider gender.

por Anjuli G

Jul 26, 2017

This course brings to life the gender spectrum with empathy, humanity, and practicality. It spans a wide range of topics to equip all of us to be better friends, family members, colleagues, and community members. I personally took this course to support my 5-year-old godchild. S/he picks different pronouns on different days and is the most creative, spirited child you can imagine, whether in pants or dresses. I'm so grateful to have the tools to be a better godmother! Everyone should take this course.

por Laura K P B

Jun 07, 2017

gracias por permitirnos entender este aspecto tan importante, y más desde la perspectiva de los niños, me pareció un curso muy fácil de entender y respetuoso, siendo una tematica de complejidad alta.

por Victoria R S

Apr 11, 2017

This was a very interesting and mind-opening course. I have to admit that I did not give much thought to transgender, and I am very glad that this course was suggested by Maya Adam, MD in another course. I hope this information spreads around the world and we all become more inclusive and caring.