Chevron Left
Voltar para Ideas from the History of Graphic Design

Ideas from the History of Graphic Design, Instituto de Artes da Califórnia

4.6
1,037 classificações
209 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

This condensed survey course focuses on four key periods or themes from the history of design. Together we’ll trace the emergence of design as a recognized practice, why things look the way they do, and how designers approached specific design problems in their work. Each week, a short quiz will test your knowledge of concepts, and a short reflective assignment will give you the opportunity to analyze the questions designers ask themselves today. This is an essential course for emerging designers entering the field, or for students interested in learning more about visual culture and analysis. No previous experience is required....

Melhores avaliações

por PD

Nov 27, 2016

Its been a great course, many info and points that are fantastic in the learning or adding new knowledge always. I will always recommend this course for those who want to know more and learn design.

por AD

Dec 05, 2016

Loved it and all the examples the teachers put into it, as well as the organization and evolution of themes. Big thank you to the teacher ladies. I learned a lot and enjoyed the lessons very much.

Filtrar por:

202 avaliações

por Tudor Cristian Gall

Apr 17, 2019

Useful information and a guide to further reading

por Samantha Ferello

Apr 05, 2019

This course provided a solid foundation in graphic design - though limited to a Western history. Today it seems as though Bauhaus-influenced minimalism is an all-encompassing design approach. As a new designer, it would have been beneficial to understand alternative or reactionary approaches (maximalism is a new design buzzword, for example) and traditions from outside the USA/Western Europe schools of design - especially as these are difficult things to research independently.

por LU FANG

Apr 02, 2019

Great information.

por 瞿睿

Apr 01, 2019

I really think the materials are well organized. For beginners like me, it offers so much inspiration. Good course!

por Fatima Hussien Saad El-Dien Ibrahim Sobeh

Mar 13, 2019

Perfect course and very useful

por Marco Antonio Vazquez Ramirez

Mar 12, 2019

excelente

por Benjamin gonzalez

Mar 09, 2019

Great look into graphic design and how history affects design.

por Alexandra Kalliope Müller

Mar 06, 2019

I't was good

por Inas Ahmed Mohamed Toni

Feb 23, 2019

Amazing

por Taylor Ann Hackley

Feb 22, 2019

This was a good course but I feel like a lot of students interpreted the assignments in multiple ways. Some would submit their work with ideas that I would never have imagined, which could be seen as a creative and good thing, but when it comes to an assignment, I would think a literal interpretation of the assignment is what is needed. This happened to a lot of the courses in this Graphic Design course, and not just this one. I just happened to notice it more with this particular course.