Chevron Left
Voltar para Aquecimento global I: A ciência da modelagem das mudanças climáticas

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Aquecimento global I: A ciência da modelagem das mudanças climáticas da instituição Universidade de Chicago

4.6
193 classificações
81 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This class describes the science of global warming and the forecast for humans’ impact on Earth’s climate. Intended for an audience without much scientific background but a healthy sense of curiosity, the class brings together insights and perspectives from physics, chemistry, biology, earth and atmospheric sciences, and even some economics—all based on a foundation of simple mathematics (algebra)....

Melhores avaliações

SL

Oct 06, 2016

A great introductory course into Global Warming as well as modelling which gives you a better insight into what is actually happening with our planet. Started another course and it all fits in.

SK

May 27, 2019

It's a very comprehensive and extremely tough course to negotiate. Some of the quiz answers are still a mystery. It has arisen the appetite of Climate Change within me, like never before.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Aquecimento global I: A ciência da modelagem das mudanças climáticas

por Rosanella D C

Oct 10, 2017

The video lectures are great but the level of guidance is nil! The Quizzes are a waste of one's precious time as one needs to rely mostly on the forum. The lecturer is nowhere to be seen on the forums nor course assistant. Looking at posts on the forums, I see students with degrees and Master degrees finding difficult to fathom answers to quizzes.

I was really excited about taking this course and I am now very disappointed. I paid for this course!

por Andreas J S

Feb 24, 2019

Very good course to understand the connections between temperature, greenhouse gases, water vapor, carbon cylce ...

por IRIS L C P

Mar 23, 2019

Excellency!

por Carsten H

Nov 03, 2018

For a longer time I have wanted to know more about the scientific background of climate change and global warming, and I am glad that I finally found the time to do this course. I liked the interactive aspect and the variety of tasks including writing small reports and explanations and reading the ones of other students as well as getting feedback from them. This interaction and combination of learning forms is way more effective than just reading a book, I think.

What I do not understand is the grading system for the final task, the term project. There is a scale ranging from 1 to 10, but you can only give a 1,4,7 or 10. It seems that, if do not get a 10 from someone, you fail the whole course. I don't think that this is fair.

por Frank M

Aug 12, 2016

This is a really excellent course. Prof. Archer's lectures are clear and quite interesting, and the course is well structured. Students are also introduced to the "climatemodels.uchicago.edu" website, which provides both data and analysis tools for studying climate change.

por Bhaskar S

Jul 15, 2016

Its a very good course for students interested in learning all about Global warming and its impacts

por elon l

May 01, 2016

Excellent introduction to climate science!

por Eñaut I E

Nov 27, 2016

Excellent!

por 陆叶子

Jan 05, 2016

very useful and the teacher taught in a easy understanding way.

por George K

Dec 28, 2015

Great class with a very gifted professor. The level of the class is very good! Advanced when this is needed and simple when necessary.

por Jocelyn C

Mar 13, 2018

It was an amazing class. The content was thorough and I really enjoyed all the models that I got to study. One improvement, however, would be making the peer edits more accessible. I finished this course in three months but then spent the next four waiting for other students from various "sessions" to submit their papers so that I could pass the peer-grading portion. I didn't learn the trick of actively switching between course dates until recently. But overall it was really informative :)

por Bastin J

Sep 04, 2017

A really great course!

por Aswan K

Jul 22, 2017

Excellent introduction to the mechanics of global warming. However I think that in some places, students may benefit from animations or video clips rather than just blackboard diagrams.....for example, Coriolis acceleration, Modes of molecular vibrations.

I'm only into week 6, but I'm thoroughly enjoying the material which is a wonderful mix of high school geography, physics, and meteorology.

por HoangTrongNam

Sep 07, 2016

Good course to understand basic causes of Climate Change

por Aditya T

Feb 26, 2017

Very helpful and useful online institution.

por Michael d P

Mar 23, 2017

This is not an easy course. I have taken courses with similar titles and aims on other open leaning platforms (e.g. FutureLearn) and this course is much more difficult. It requires students to use sophisticated models (e.g. MODTRAN for atmospheric transmission) numerically. The course asks questions requiring quantitative answers. I have been involved peripherally around issues related to global warming, but I thought that this course would be informative by bringing together many strands. And it was. David Archer speaks clearly and makes simple physics based arguments to explain the role of the models. Overall, I would say that if you are not phased by the requirement to be numerical, and you like a physicists way of thinking, then this course will appeal to you. Personally. I enjoyed it.

por Ryan H

Mar 19, 2016

I found this course very interesting and informative and it has helped me understand and debate climate change to a much greater capacity

por Murray

Apr 26, 2016

Great course!

por Mohsen M V

Feb 06, 2016

Thanks a lot for a such smooth and effective presentation

por shashank n

Jan 20, 2018

Amazing course. Gives a great overview of our planet. I'd recommend this for everyone. its a must.

por Sarah

Mar 05, 2016

Fabulous overview of the science of global warming! I really appreciated the step-by-step approach and the comprehensive coverage of the subject. Playing with the models was highly useful in most cases, though some of the quiz questions related to the models seemed to be overly finicky in the answers they'd accept as correct. In any case, I thoroughly enjoyed this course and will be using the knowledge I gained from it as I begin pursuing a Master's in environmental science this summer.

por Vivek B S

Jan 19, 2018

Prof. Archer's lectures are interesting and fun. This course is useful for anyone who is interested in understanding in-depth and intricate details of climate change. The various models adds extra flavor and helps one understands the uncertainty and different scenarios which is the crux of the science.

por Maria M

Feb 21, 2017

Excellent course. The way David presents is very clear.

por Agustin J P P

Jun 13, 2016

Eye opening course, interesting content easily explained concepts and fantastic practice materials. Highly recommend this course to start creating conscience on issues affecting us all.

por Sergio D L U

Apr 02, 2018

One of the best courses on climate change.