Chevron Left
Voltar para Global Systemic Risk

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Global Systemic Risk da instituição Universidade de Princeton

4.8
estrelas
35 classificações
19 avaliações

Sobre o curso

What is globalization and how does it work? How can we understand the process as a whole? How are the parts of the world linked? What are the risks of living in a world where “no one is in charge”? This course introduces students to systems thinking, network theory, and risk analysis and uses these tools to better understand the process of globalization. Focusing on trade, finance, and epidemiology, it analyzes potential challenges to the current global order. The course will be of interest to those studying global affairs, system dynamics, and world governance. It offers a set of heuristics that students can use to analyze contemporary global challenges. Linking the recording of Abbey Road to the COVID-19 pandemic provides new insights into the apparently chaotic world around us. Complex systems form the backbone of our increasingly interconnected and interdependent society. What were once more localized economies, supply chains, and social-ecological systems are now rapidly globalizing, and interacting with one another across countless spatial and temporal scales as technologies expand at ever greater velocities. These tightly coupled systems deliver greater efficiency and prosperity, but at the cost of greater fragility and the threat of catastrophic failure. This “global systemic risk” has implications in all functional domains affecting our daily lives—from the global financial system to healthcare, to critical infrastructure networks. Organized with 7-10 minute classes grouped together into longer modules, the course will have a linear “core” curriculum presented at the introductory level, with the potential for optional offshoots that give learners a more in-depth look into certain areas with more technical content....

Melhores avaliações

NL
3 de Nov de 2021

A gret intro to Global Systemic Risk. I got a lot out of the course and would enjoy more on the matter. It also hasspurred me to do more research into the mathematics of systems for my own work.

JK
14 de Out de 2021

Very insightful course. As I designer a appreciate the reminder that not "everything is designed", sometimes there is no one in charge.

Filtrar por:

1 — 21 de 21 Avaliações para o Global Systemic Risk

por Aedrian A

11 de Out de 2021

This audit-only/no-certificate course could never be more timely than right now, in the middle of the COVID-19 pandemic. The comprehensibility of the material is improved substantially by a living, immersive example: the current global situation hitting all of us, in one way or another, in the face. At a certain point, we could no longer rely on reductionism – addressing a problem piece-by-piece and in a siloed manner – to satisfactorily address our collective woes, and this course allowed me to appreciate why this has been solidly the case perhaps even before I was born. The balance of efficiency and fragility, on one side, and redundancy and resilience/robustness, on the other, in terms of their pros and cons is long due for a reckoning. This offering should serve as a comprehensive introduction to systems thinking, complexity science, risk analysis, and the background-foreground forces and implications of globalization for those who have no advanced degrees or work experience in these disciplines. Furthermore, the end-of-module interviews each gave me at least one eye-opening thought, and I sometimes even wished that some discussions were longer. We must try our best to keep up, in theory and in practice, with the increasing intentional and inadvertent complexity of which modern life is dependent on.

por Michael C

23 de Out de 2021

Thank you Miguel. This is an excellent course. I found it informative and well taught. It was great to listen to so many experts in their fields talk about how globalization and systems affect our lives. It gave me a better understanding of what makes the world go around ( and sometimes not go around).

por Jurijs K

15 de Out de 2021

Very insightful course. As I designer a appreciate the reminder that not "everything is designed", sometimes there is no one in charge.

por Florence T

16 de Out de 2021

C​lear presentation. Comprehensive content. Thank you, Professor Miguel Centeno

por Ricardo A V

4 de Out de 2021

top notch introductory class

por Khalid B A

5 de Out de 2021

Parfait

por Joshua A

20 de Out de 2021

e​xcellent justice to the study of the concept of systemic risk...........

por Małgorzata M

26 de Nov de 2021

This is a really excellent course for everybody who wants to deepen his/her knowledge on global systemic risk. Professor Miguel Centeno is a fantastic teacher, explaining even the most difficult notions and concepts in a straightforward way (I highly value it as English is not my mother tongue). The course also covers an interesting mix of interviews with experts in a wide range of disciplines, what proves that risk prevention, mitigation and management in our globalized societies is the topic truly embedded in interconnectedness.

por İlter D

16 de Nov de 2021

Great informative course that shows the complexity of the global system that we are all in. Explaining and showing things in a very understandable way. The interviews are also very good, you may learn different perspectives from the academics from different disciplines.

por DragonBarView S T

12 de Nov de 2021

Professor Centeno is a born teacher. This timely, engaging, and thought-provoking course is accessible to all and supported by interviews with a variety of specialists - It will certainly lead me to continue to follow the work that Princeton is doing in this field.

por Umakant P

24 de Nov de 2021

Very insightful overview of global risk. The conversations with specialists/experts are fascinating. The course covers a wide range of topics related to global catastrophic and systemic risk. highly recommended for beginners with an interest in risk.

por Nicholas L

4 de Nov de 2021

A​ gret intro to Global Systemic Risk. I got a lot out of the course and would enjoy more on the matter. It also hasspurred me to do more research into the mathematics of systems for my own work.

por Ebenezer M

15 de Nov de 2021

Exposed me to complexities of interconnected systems if overlooked can have devastating impact on our very existence

por Richard G

20 de Nov de 2021

Just plain excellence. Thought provoking ideas and a wealth of knowledge that I will repeatedly return to.

por John

10 de Nov de 2021

E​xcellent lead rofessor with great guest lecturers and discussions delivering thought provoking content!

por Anthony D

29 de Out de 2021

I believe Professor Centeno could teach anyone anything. It was a pleasure.

por Anne-Marie A

11 de Nov de 2021

Excellent

por Amin K

20 de Nov de 2021

A very enjoyable course. I especially liked the interviews with various experts - they were informative and entertaining and really brought the course to life. Thanks very much to Prof Miguell and team!

por Evander D

27 de Out de 2021

for me this course was very interesting and enlightening.

por Dmitry Z

30 de Out de 2021

I really enjoyed Prof Centeno's course "Paradoxes of War", and was looking forward for more. I liked the idea behind this course. It seems very relevant and how it could provide a cross functional framework for reiterating and reinforcing some important ideas. However, I found the content lacking, and I think it needs more work.

On the one hand, much of the time is spent around the introductory concepts, but on the other, most of them are given only superficial treatment, which can sometimes be somewhat misleading. To give some examples of the latter, I found the presentation of chaos theory, the trolley dilemma, and cascading failures hard to stomach, being quite familiar with the topics. The graphics on some of the slides seem curiously irrelevant which did not leave a good impression.

Most of the course content is in the interviews, which are of varying interest - I enjoyed some very much, but some of the others seemed superficial redundant.

Overall, I felt the course helped me reiterate some points, but did not provide much value. Being interested in this topic, I am familiar with the fundamentals, and that part of the course felt redundant and in many parts too sketchy. It definitely does not provide a solid foundation, but maybe it gives enough background to get people interested in further exploration. The second half of the course was interesting, but too short.

por Fred V

20 de Nov de 2021

Some naivities, lots of commonplace, and irritatingly lots of speculative statements, indicated by 'in a sense': all in all, too little learnt.